Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
My Tender Matador - cover

My Tender Matador

Pedro Lemebel

Translator Katherine Silver

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

As Chile descends into chaos, two disparate souls begin “an odd-couple romance, in the tradition of Kiss of the Spider Woman or The Crying Game” (Kirkus Reviews).   It is the spring of 1986, and Chilean dictator Augusto Pinochet is losing his grip on power. In one of Santiago’s many poor neighborhoods, a man known as the Queen of the Corner embroiders linens for the wealthy. A hopeless and lonely romantic, he listens to boleros to drown out the gunshots.   Then he meets Carlos, a young, handsome man who befriends the aging homosexual and uses his house to store mysterious boxes and hold clandestine meetings. And as the relationship between these two very different men blossoms, they find themselves caught in a revolution that could doom them both.   By turns funny and profoundly moving, Pedro Lemebel’s lyrical prose offers an intimate window into the mind of Pinochet himself as the world of Carlos and the Queen prepares to collide with the dictator’s own in “a wonderful snapshot of this period of Chile’s history . . . A touching tale of love and danger” (Booklist).
Available since: 12/01/2007.
Print length: 180 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Family Affair - cover

    A Family Affair

    Harper Bliss

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Best-selling lesbian romance author Harper Bliss brings you a deliciously impossible love story about falling for the one person you can’t have.Kate has been married to Kevin for ten years, but their failed journey to parenthood has left their relationship on the brink. As Kevin tries to heal by remodeling their home, Kate finds herself living in her mother-in-law’s pool house. And having to spend a lot of time with Kevin’s spoiled sister.Stella is preparing for a career-defining audition, but is happy to welcome her brother and his wife to the house—even though she thinks Kate doesn't like her all that much.With Kevin away, Kate and Stella bond over secret crushes, hot movie stars, and glitzy celebrity parties.Until one night, after too many shots of tequila, their bonding goes a step too far…Get your copy now and join Kate and Stella on their thrillingly unexpected journey to love! 
    Show book
  • Literal Madness - 3 Novels: Kathy Goes to Haiti My Death My Life by Pier Paolo Pasolini and Florida - cover

    Literal Madness - 3 Novels:...

    Kathy Acker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A collection of three novels from the experimental feminist writer: “Literal Madness is Acker at her most powerful, disturbing, and provocative.” —Catherine Texier, author of Victorine 
     
    Kathy Goes to Haiti, the first of three novels in Literal Madness, “speaks to us out of a delightful mock-naivete that reminds one at times of the Dick and Jane readers rewritten as manuals for politics and sex . . . At once hilarious and terrifying, [it] has all the logic of a Caribbean tour and a nightmare combined” (Los Angeles Times). 
     
    My Death My Life by Pier Paolo Pasolini—wherein, among other things, the late Italian filmmaker solves his own murder, with the help of, among others, Romeo, Juliet, and the Bronté sisters—is a “scathing commentary on false values in art” (The Hartford Courant). 
     
    In the haunting Florida, Acker achieves “a nearly telegraphic reduction of the Bogart-Bacall movie Key Largo to fatalistic, tough-guy essentials” (Booklist). 
     
    “There’s a haunting method to Acker’s ‘madness’: a rough, raw, erudite wail against the postmodern loss of meaning and emotion.” —Kirkus Reviews
    Show book