Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Zahir - A Novel of Obsession - cover

The Zahir - A Novel of Obsession

Paulo Coelho

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 2
  • 15
  • 0

Summary

The narrator of The Zahir is a bestselling novelist who lives in Paris and enjoys all the privileges money and celebrity bring. His wife of ten years, Esther, is a war correspondent who has disappeared along with a friend, Mikhail, who may or may not be her lover. 
Was Esther kidnapped, murdered, or did she simply escape a marriage that left her unfulfilled? The narrator doesn't have any answers, but he has plenty of questions of his own. Then one day Mikhail finds the narrator and promises to reunite him with his wife. In his attempt to recapture a lost love, the narrator discovers something unexpected about himself.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sword in Sheath - cover

    Sword in Sheath

    Andre Norton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Few authors have achieved such renown as World Fantasy Life Achievement honoree and by the Science Fiction Writers of America Grand Master Andre Norton. With the love of readers and the praise of critics, Norton’s books have sold millions of copies worldwide.V-E Day and V-J Day are in the past, but the war is not over. Not for Lorens van Norreys, the new master of the House of Norreys, not as long as Nazi criminals are still at large. And not for Lawrence Kane and Sam Marusaki, two former OSS men, not as long as there are Americans still missing in action. The three of them quickly become entangled in a mystery—Norreys as he searches for a lost treasure, and Lawrence and Marusaki as they search for a lost American flyer. Together they face cutthroat pirates in the thousand islands of Indonesia, then they battle an unknown foe on an island known as the Forbidden Place, an uncharted landfill mentioned only in legends and from which, it’s said, not one has ever returned alive.
    Show book
  • The Absent Gods Trilogy - cover

    The Absent Gods Trilogy

    David Debord

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Centuries ago, the land of Gameryah was saved from the forces of the Ice King by the Silver Serpent. Now the frost marches again and three young villagers set off on a perilous quest to recover the legendary weapon. Join Shanis Malan, a rebellious young woman, Oskar Klehn a bookish misfit, and Hierm Van Derin, an outcast second son, in a classic fantasy in the tradition of David Eddings and Robert Jordan, filled with magic, intrigue, and adventure! 
    This boxed set includes the complete Absent Gods trilogy plus a bonus short story, The Glyphs of Riza. 
    The Silver Serpent 
    The frost creeps again... 
    Taught the sword from childhood, Shanis Malan's only dream I s to be a soldier,  but  a  woman  cannot join the Galdoran army. She thinks her dream has come true when Prince Lerryn hosts a tournament in her town, but tragedy drives her and her friends from their home and sends them on a quest for a legendary artifact  that can save the world from the minions of the Ice King. Join Shanis and her friends on a perilous search for the Silver Serpent. 
    Keeper of the Mists 
    Evil rises. 
    Destiny, or perhaps mere chance, has chosen Shanis Malan to be the bearer of the Silver Serpent, the one prophesied to bring and end to years of clan war. 
    But as Shanis seeks to fulfill her destiny, a pretender rises in the east and enemies invade her homeland. Will she choose the path that leads her back to the place she loves, or will she accept her fate and face the Keeper of the Mists? 
    David Debord’s memorable series continues in book two of  The Absent Gods! 
    The Gates of Iron 
    The Frostmarch has come! 
    Shanis Malan must unite her broken nation and unlock the secret of the Silver Serpent. With Galdora at war, Larris must unravel a conspiracy that threatens his nation from the inside. Oskar enters the order of saikurs, but does the secret to victory over the Ice King lie hidden behind the Gates of Iron? 
    Powerful forces collide and secrets are revealed in the thrilling conclusion to The Absent Gods! 
    “An enjoyable blend of adventure, intrigue, and humor. Fans of Terry Brooks and David Eddings could easily enjoy The Silver Serpent.” Fantasy Book Critic 
     “A superb story told believably and unpretentiously by a superb new author.”  Hugo Award Winner Ron Miller
    Show book
  • Hawk of the Mind - Collected Poems - cover

    Hawk of the Mind - Collected Poems

    Yang Mu

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Yang Mu is a towering figure in modern Chinese poetry. His poetic voice is subtle and lyrical, and his work is rich with precise images and crystalline thoughts invoking temporality and remembrance. A bold innovator and superb craftsman, he elegantly combines cosmopolitan experimentation with poetic forms and an allusive reverence for classical Chinese poetry while remaining rooted in his native Taiwan and its colonial history.Hawk of the Mind is a comprehensive collection of Yang Mu’s poetry that presents crucial works from the many stages of his long creative career, rendered into English by a team of distinguished translators. It conveys the complexity and beauty of Yang Mu’s work in a stately and lucid English poetic register that displays his ability to range from meditative to playful and colloquial to archaic. The volume includes an editor’s introduction and definitive commentary that offer insights into the poet’s major themes and motifs, explaining how he draws on deep engagement with Chinese and Western literary traditions, history, and art as well as mythology, philosophy, and music and a profound love for the natural world to create a nuanced and multifaceted artistic universe. It also contains translations of prefaces and afterwords written by Yang Mu for collections of his poetry. Hawk of the Mind demonstrates the breadth and depth of Yang Mu’s oeuvre, illustrating the distinctive style and affective power of a great poet.
    Show book
  • The Lawrence Watt-Evans Fantasy MEGAPACK® - cover

    The Lawrence Watt-Evans Fantasy...

    Lawrence Watt-Evans

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Lawrence Watt-Evans may be best known for his fantasy and science fiction novels, particularly the Ethshar series, but he has published a significant body of short fiction, too, including the Hugo Award-winning "Why I Left Harry's All-Night Hamburgers." This MEGAPACK® collects his fantasy stories -- more than 400 pages of terrific reading! Included are:
    THE TEMPLE OF LIFE
    MEHITABEL GOODWIN
    HEART OF STONE
    THE FINAL CHALLENGE
    BETH'S UNICORN
    THE BRIDE OF BIGFOOT
    KEEPING UP APPEARANCES
    DROPPING HINTS
    THE BOGLE IN THE BASEMENT2
    THE MAN FOR THE JOB
    CHAPERONE
    OUT OF THE WOODS
    GHOST STORIES
    THE FROG WIZARD
    HORSING AROUND
    SPIRIT DUMP
    ARMS AND THE WOMAN
    MITTENS AND HOTFOOT
    JUST PERFECT
    TRIXIE
    IN RE: NEPHELEGERETES
    IN FOR A POUND
    SOMETHING TO GRIN ABOUT
    BEST PRESENT EVER!
    If you enjoy this ebook, don't forget to search your favorite ebook store for "Wildside Press Megapack" to see more of the 300+ volumes in this series, covering adventure, historical fiction, mysteries, westerns, ghost stories, science fiction -- and much, much more!
    Show book
  • Coven Master - Paranormal Huntress Series #2 - cover

    Coven Master - Paranormal...

    W.J. May

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    USA Today Bestselling author, W.J. May, brings you to a new level of fantasy. Fans of Underworld and paranormal worlds will love this story! 
    "The wise learn many things from their enemies."​ 
    The city of Calen has fallen. 
    The forces that once held the city as one are scattered and drained of power. Adelaide, one of the witches who’s haunted and threatened the peace once made by the elders in the territory, has regained her power by releasing the hybrids she’s created. She’s determined to destroy Calen and all those who stand in her way. 
    Atlanta, the Druid huntress, responsible for unlocking the hybrids and the murder of her uncle, tries to come to terms with what’s happened. Determined to try and set the wrong right, she enlists the help of her kind, willing to risk everything, including her life, to stop Adelaide. 
    Suddenly she finds herself in a different town, fighting the witch and facing secrets about her past that leave her overwhelmed and vulnerable. 
    Meanwhile, Ryan and Marcus are in Calen, uncertain of what’s happened to Atlanta and desperate to find her. They must face the hybrids over and over again, as the waves of power press down on them. 
    The fate of Calen rests in too few hands. Divided sanctions, Vamps, Wolf and Druid, must unify or each race stands no chance of survival. 
    Paranormal Huntress Series: 
    Never Look Back 
    Coven Master 
    Alpha's Permission
    Show book
  • Haunted: Ten Tales of Ghosts - Ten Tales Fantasy & Horror Stories - cover

    Haunted: Ten Tales of Ghosts -...

    Carole Ann Moleti, William...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Exciting, spooky and scary stories for everyone, edited by Rayne Hall.
     
    
    	Ten authors spin creepy yarns, each with a different writing style and a different way of telling a story. Allow these fantasy and horror stories to haunt you, and see which story resonates most with you.
     
    
    	1. GHOSTS CAN BLEED by Tracie McBride 
    
    	Ghosts can bleed. Maurice knows, because he is one. 
    
    	2. DANCERS by William Meikle 
    
    	A country graveyard in winter can be made warm. 
    
    	3. BREAKWATER BEACH by Carole Ann Moleti 
    
    	Ever felt that you've been somewhere before? Perhaps you have. 
    
    	4. THE PIANO MAN by Kiersten Hartrim 
    
    	No one has played the old upright piano in the bar since the Lady Pianist died. 
    
    	5. TAKE ME TO ST ROCH'S by Rayne Hall 
    
    	Never pick up hitchhikers. 
    
    	6. THE EXPLANATION FOR GHOSTS by Douglas Kolacki 
    
    	Forget everything you've ever heard about what they are. 
    
    	7. MOTHER MINE by April Grey 
    
    	A mother's love never dies. 
    
    	8. THE MINE SHAFT by Sera Hayes 
    
    	Curiosity leading superstition digs an early grave. 
    
    	9. DARK REUNION by Jonathan Broughton 
    
    	Love sours when you commit murder. 
    
    	10. A PUDDLE OF DEAD by Grayson Bray Morris 
    
    	Her long-lost love is back... or is he?
     
    
    	To preserve the authors' individual voices, the stories preserve the British, American and Australian spellings, grammar and punctuation. Some stories have been previously published in magazines, e-zines, story collections and anthologies.
    Show book