Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Intellectuals - From Marx and Tolstoy to Sartre and Chomsky - cover

Intellectuals - From Marx and Tolstoy to Sartre and Chomsky

Paul Johnson

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

A fascinating portrait of the minds that have shaped the modern world. In an intriguing series of case studies, Rousseau, Shelley, Marx, Ibsen, Tolstoy, Hemingway, Bertrand Russell, Brecht, Sartre, Edmund Wilson, Victor Gollancz, Lillian Hellman, Cyril Connolly, Norman Mailer, James Baldwin, Kenneth Tynan, and Noam Chomsky, among others, are revealed as intellectuals both brilliant and contradictory, magnetic and dangerous.

Who read this book also read:

  • The White Rajah - cover

    The White Rajah

    Tom Williams

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    When charismatic adventurer James Brooke travels to Borneo on the schooner Royalist, he plans to make a great fortune establishing trade between the natives and the British Empire. But even in his flights of fancy, he’d never imagined that he would end up rajah of his own country. 
    
     
    The story is told by John Williamson, a young sailor who has travelled with Brooke since he set out from England. They find themselves mixed up in Borneo’s civil war, political divisions, and intrigue, being forced further and further away from their dreams and ideals and struggling to establish the British presence on the island – as, meanwhile, love grows between them …
    
     
    Based on the true story of James Brooke, the first White Rajah of Sarawak, this tale of adventure and love is set against the background of a jungle world of extraordinary beauty and savagery.
    Show book
  • The Complete Beck Diet for Life - The 5-Stage Program for Permanent Weight Loss - cover

    The Complete Beck Diet for Life...

    Judith S. Beck

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sorry, we have no synopsis for this book right now. Sign in to read it on 24symbols.com
    Show book
  • Sleep My Child Forever - The Riveting True Story of a Mother Who Murdered Her Own Children - cover

    Sleep My Child Forever - The...

    John Coston

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    The dark double life of Ellen Boehm, the St. Louis, Missouri, mother who murdered her two sons—and nearly killed her daughter. Ellen Boehm, a single mom from St. Louis, Missouri, appeared devoted to her children. But in reality, she was unequipped for motherhood, financially strapped, and desperate. Within a year of each other, her sons, ages two and four, died mysteriously, and Boehm’s eight-year-old daughter suffered a near-fatal mishap when a hair dryer fell into the girl’s bath. While neighbors wondered how Boehm remained so calm through it all, Det. Sgt. Joseph Burgoon of St. Louis Homicide had darker suspicions.   Burgoon soon unraveled a labyrinth of deception, greed, and obsession that revealed a cold-blooded killer whose get-rich-quick scheme came at the cost of her children’s lives. Boehm had taken out insurance policies on her children with six different companies totaling nearly $100,000. Using police reports, case documents, and photos, veteran journalist John Coston recreates the events that led to one mother’s unspeakable acts of filicide—and a cop’s relentless pursuit of the truth.  
    Show book
  • In Manchuria - A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China - cover

    In Manchuria - A Village Called...

    Michael Meyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the tradition of In Patagonia and Great Plains, Michael Meyer's In Manchuria is a scintillating combination of memoir, contemporary reporting, and historical research, presenting a unique profile of China's legendary northeast territory. For three years, Meyer rented a home in the rice-farming community of Wasteland, hometown to his wife's family. Their personal saga mirrors the tremendous change most of rural China is undergoing, in the form of a privately held rice company that has built new roads, introduced organic farming, and constructed high-rise apartments into which farmers can move in exchange for their land rights. Once a commune, Wasteland is now a company town, a phenomenon happening across China that Meyer documents for the first time; indeed, not since Pearl Buck wrote The Good Earth has anyone brought rural China to life as Meyer has here. 
        
      Amplifying the story of family and Wasteland, Meyer takes us on a journey across Manchuria's past, a history that explains much about contemporary China--from the fall of the last emperor to Japanese occupation and Communist victory. Through vivid local characters, Meyer illuminates the remnants of the imperial Willow Palisade, Russian and Japanese colonial cities and railways, and the POW camp into which a young American sergeant parachuted to free survivors of the Bataan Death March. In Manchuria is a rich and original chronicle of contemporary China and its people.
    Show book
  • Barometer of Fear - An Insider’s Account of Rogue Trading and the Greatest Banking Scandal in History - cover

    Barometer of Fear - An Insider’s...

    Alexis Stenfors

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The LIBOR affair has been described as the ‘biggest
    banking scandal in history’, a deception affecting not only banks but also
    corporations, pension funds and ordinary people. 
    
    
     
    But was this just the tip of the iceberg?
    Was the scandal the work of a few ‘bad apples’ or an inevitable result of a
    financial system rotten to its core? Labelled ‘one of the world's most infamous
    rogue traders’ in the wake of a mis-marking scandal, Alexis Stenfors went on to
    rebuild his life and now guides us through the shadowy world of modern banking,
    providing an insider’s account of the secret practices – including the manipulation
    of foreign exchange rates – which have allowed banks to profit from systematic
    deception. Containing remarkable and often shocking insights derived from his
    own experiences in the dealing room, as well as his spectacular fall from grace
    at Merrill Lynch, Barometer of Fear draws back the curtain to
    a realm that for too long has remained hidden from public view.
    Show book
  • HUNA - Secrets of the Ancient Hawaiians Revelaed - cover

    HUNA - Secrets of the Ancient...

    David A. Frederick

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    It is our intention to offer you vital information on the Ancient Hawaiian Lore. Their History, Psychology, Philosophy, Customs and Healing Powers.
    The word HUNA means secret but it has several meanings as well depending on the context it is being used in. It can mean to hide or conceal, covert, secrete or a minute particle, crumb, grain or speck.
    Hawaiian HUNA during these talks means secret. Why secret? As with all ancient writings certain information was withheld from the general public not to deceive but because the general public would not understand nor could they comprehend the teachings. Think of it, thousands of years ago people did not have the cognitive ability that we have today. The knowledge we as a society have been exposed to in just the past twenty years is mind boggling!
    The Hawaiians originated from the Middle East and shared some their knowledge with the priests of many cultures. They also learned about their secrets such as Egyptian magic, Hindu knowledge of the Vedas (writings), Buddhism and the secrets of the Ancient Samarians.
    Much of the knowledge shared has been corrupted over the years due to the influence of other cultures through wars, trials and tribulations.
    The beloved Ancient Hawaiian lore was almost lost forever due to the suppression from the missionaries from Boston who came to the Islands and over a short amount of time got control of the kingdom and outlawed the last Queen, their priests, (Kahuna), their language and their complete way of life. They even made them dress like the missionaries but never their equal.
    Step into the ancient knowledge of the Hawaiians, step into HUNA!
    Show book