Don't miss out on our offer of unlimited reading for a whole year!
Only until 29 April!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Seedfolks - cover

Seedfolks

Paul Fleischman

Publisher: HarperTeen

  • 2
  • 109
  • 0

Summary

Newbery Medal-winning Seedfolks from Paul Fleischman tells thirteen stories from diverse perspectives—young and old, immigrant and native, haunted and hopeful. A fractured neighborhood unites with just a few seeds, turning a drab empty lot in Cleveland into beautiful green garden.  
Seedfolks has been chosen as a state- and city-wide read in communities across the country for its inspiring message of unity. 
Kim begins the garden, planting a few lima beans to connect with her father who died when she was a baby in Vietnam. Then Tío Juan, a farmer from Guatemala, gains purpose when he teaches the neighborhood children how to plant. Soon curious neighbors join in and together they grow a beautiful garden. With each bean sprout and cucumber blossom the residents of Gibs Street find hope and meaning in their little green paradise. 
As the Christian Science Monitor noted, "The size of this slim volume belies the profound message of hope it contains."

Other books that might interest you

  • The Prince - A Novella - cover

    The Prince - A Novella

    Kiera Cass

    • 4
    • 18
    • 0
    Don’t miss this captivating novella set in the world of the #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series! 
    Go behind the scenes of the competition with this story from the point of view of Prince Maxon. 
    Before America Singer was chosen to compete in the Selection, there was another girl in Prince Maxon’s life . . . . In The Prince, follow Prince Maxon through the week leading up to the beginning of the Selection—and the day he first meets America. 
    The Prince also includes a teaser to The Elite, the enchanting second book in the Selection series. 
    Epic Reads Impulse is a digital imprint with new releases each month. 
     
    Show book
  • The Season of You & Me - cover

    The Season of You & Me

    Robin Constantine

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    From Robin Constantine, author of The Promise of Amazing and The Secrets of Attraction, comes a funny and heartfelt summer romance set in New Jersey. Perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Jenny Han, and Morgan Matson. 
    Cassidy Emmerich is reeling from a sudden, humiliating breakup. The last thing she wants to do is stick around and be reminded of her ex everywhere she goes. On impulse, she decides to spend the summer with her father and his family at their Jersey Shore bed-and-breakfast. A different scene and a new job working as a camp counselor seem like the perfect recipe for forgetting Gavin as quickly as possible—not to mention for avoiding him until he leaves for college.  
    Bryan Lakewood is sick of nevers. You’ll never walk. You’ll never surf. You’ll never slow dance with a girl and have her put her head on your shoulder. Last year he made one false move—now he’s paralyzed and needs to use a wheelchair. But this summer, he’s back at his camp job and is determined to reclaim his independence—and his confidence. 
    Cass is expecting two months of healing her broken heart. 
    Bryan is expecting a summer of tough adjustments. 
    Neither is expecting to fall in love.
    Show book
  • The Queen B* Strikes Back - The Queen B* #2 - cover

    The Queen B* Strikes Back - The...

    Crista McHugh

    • 1
    • 48
    • 0
    Alexis Wyndham isn’t quite sure what to think about her “friendship” with star quarterback, Brett Pederson. Sure, he has more intelligence than the entire football team combined. Not to mention that fact he’s a great kisser. When he asks her to help him with his college admission essays, she isn’t sure if he’s doing it to spend more time with her or if he’s just using her for her brains. But after her nemesis, Summer Hoyt, makes it clear she’s not finished chasing after Brett, Alexis begins realize how hard she’s fallen for Brett. Now the war is on, and the head cheerleader will find out why she should never take on a Queen B*.
    Show book
  • I Am Number Four - cover

    I Am Number Four

    Pittacus Lore

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    The first book of the #1 New York Times bestselling series and the inspiration for the hit movie from Dreamworks! 
    John Smith seems like an ordinary teenager, living a normal life with his guardian Henri in Paradise, Ohio. But for John, keeping a low profile is essential, because he is not an ordinary teenager. He’s an alien from the planet Lorien, and he’s on the run. A group of evil aliens from the planet Mogadore, who destroyed his world, are hunting anyone who escaped.  
    Nine Loric children were sent to Earth to live in hiding until they grew up and developed their Legacies, powers that would help them fight back—and help them save us. Three of them are now dead. John is Number Four, and he knows he’s next…. 
    Michael Bay, director of Transformers, raved: “Number Four is a hero for this generation.” This epic story is perfect for fans of action-packed science fiction like The 5th Wave series by Rick Yancey, The Maze Runner series by James Dashner, and Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game.  
    The battle for Earth’s survival wages on. Read all of the books: #2: The Power of Six, #3: The Rise of Nine, #4: The Fall of Five, #5: The Revenge of Seven, #6: The Fate of Ten, and #7: United as One. 
    Don’t miss the first book in the brand-new I Am Number Four spin-off series: Generation One.
    Show book
  • The Fill-In Boyfriend - cover

    The Fill-In Boyfriend

    Kasie West

    • 8
    • 49
    • 2
    When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she decides to do the unthinkable…convince the cute guy waiting to pick up his sister to pretend to be her boyfriend for the night. The task is simple: two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. 
    The problem is that days after prom, she can't stop thinking about her fill-in boyfriend. But can Gia turn her fake boyfriend into a real one without exposing her lie and possibly destroying her friendships and her newfound relationship? 
    Smartly observed and wonderfully romantic, Kasie West's talent shines in this tale of one girl's unexpected quest to find love…and possibly herself.
    Show book
  • The Guard - A Novella - cover

    The Guard - A Novella

    Kiera Cass

    • 6
    • 8
    • 0
    Don’t miss this captivating novella from the world of the #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series! Set just after the Selection is narrowed down to the Elite, this story gives readers a glimpse into the heart and mind of America’s first love. 
    Before America Singer met Prince Maxon, she was in love with a boy named Aspen Leger—who never imagined that he would follow America to the palace as a member of the royal guard . . . 
    The Guard also includes a teaser to The One, the thrilling third novel in the Selection series. 
    Epic Reads Impulse is a digital imprint with new releases each month.
    Show book