Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Seedfolks - cover

Seedfolks

Paul Fleischman

Publisher: HarperTeen

  • 5
  • 351
  • 0

Summary

ALA Best Book for Young Adults ∙ School Library Journal Best Book ∙ Publishers Weekly Best Book ∙ IRA/CBC Children's Choice ∙ NCTE Notable Children's Book in the Language Arts 
A Vietnamese girl plants six lima beans in a Cleveland vacant lot. Looking down on the immigrant-filled neighborhood, a Romanian woman watches suspiciously. A school janitor gets involved, then a Guatemalan family. Then muscle-bound Curtis, trying to win back Lateesha. Pregnant Maricela. Amir from India. A sense of community sprouts and spreads.   
Newbery-winning author Paul Fleischman uses thirteen speakers to bring to life a community garden's founding and first year. The book's short length, diverse cast, and suitability for adults as well as children have led it to be used in countless one-book reads in schools and in cities across the country. 
Seedfolks has been drawn upon to teach tolerance, read in ESL classes, promoted by urban gardeners, and performed in schools and on stages from South Africa to Broadway. 
The book's many tributaries—from the author's immigrant grandfather to his adoption of two brothers from Mexico—are detailed in his forthcoming memoir, No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One. 
"The size of this slim volume belies the profound message of hope it contains."  —Christian Science Monitor 
And don’t miss Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices, the Newbery Medal-winning poetry collection!

Other books that might interest you

  • The Farwalker's Quest - cover

    The Farwalker's Quest

    Joni Sensel

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Ariel has always been curious, but when she and her best friend Zeke stumble upon a mysterious old telling dart she feels an unexplained pull toward the dart, and to figuring out what it means. Magically flying great distances and only revealing their messages to the intended recipient, telling darts haven't been used for years, and no one knows how they work. So when two strangers show up looking for the dart, Ariel and Zeke realize that their discovery is not only interesting, but very dangerous. The telling dart, and the strangers, leads them to a journey more perilous and encompassing than either can imagine, and in the process both Zeke and Ariel find their true calling.
    Show book
  • Warriors: The New Prophecy #1: Midnight - cover

    Warriors: The New Prophecy #1:...

    Erin Hunter

    • 2
    • 15
    • 0
    Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series continues in Warriors: The New Prophecy! 
    The first book in this second series, Warriors: The New Prophecy #1: Midnight, brings more adventure, intrigue, and thrilling battles to the epic world of the warrior Clans. 
    The wild cats of the forest have lived in peace and harmony for many  moons—but now, strange messages from their warrior ancestors speak of terrifying new prophecies and a mysterious danger.  
    Brambleclaw, a warrior of ThunderClan, may be the cat with the fate of the forest in his paws. Now he will need all the courage and strength of the greatest warriors to save the Clans.
    Show book
  • Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour - cover

    Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour

    Erin Hunter

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    The sixth book in Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series 
    Join the legion of fans who have made Erin Hunter’s Warriors series a bestselling phenomenon. More thrilling adventures, epic action, and fierce warrior cats await in Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour. 
    The time has come for Fireheart—now Firestar, leader of ThunderClan—to face his destiny. Tigerstar’s sinister ambitions have brought the whole forest to the brink of a terrible and deadly battle. Now prophecies will unfold, and heroes will rise….
    Show book
  • One Past Midnight - cover

    One Past Midnight

    Jessica Shirvington

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Sabine isn't like anyone else. For as long as she can remember, she's had two lives. Every twenty-four hours she 'Shifts', living each day twice. In one life, Sabine has everything: popular friends, expensive clothes, perfect grades, and the guy everyone wants. In the other, Sabine's family struggles with finances, and she and her friends are considered rebels. But then she meets Ethan. He's gorgeous, challenging, and he makes her feel like no one ever has before. 
     
    All Sabine really wants is the chance to live one life. When it seems like this might finally be possible, Sabine begins a series of dangerous experiments to achieve her goal. But is she willing to risk everything-including the one person who might actually believe her?
    Show book
  • The Sadie Sketchbook Collection - cover

    The Sadie Sketchbook Collection

    Naomi Kinsman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this four-eBook bind-up of the Faithgirlz Sadie’s Sketchbook series by Naomi Kinsman, readers meet twelve-year-old Sadie Douglas. Sadie is a regular girl struggling with everyday things like friendships, moving, family, and faith … and relying on that faith to survive. 
      
    This eBook collection includes: 
      
    Shades of Truth: It’s Going to Be a Bear of a Year Sadie thought she’d have a perfect fresh start when she moved to Owl Creek, Michigan, but finding her place in her new school proves harder than she expected. In this divided town, Sadie’s father’s job mediating between bear hunters and researchers doesn’t help her social life. Sadie’s art instructor encourages her to explore her beliefs and express herself through her sketchbook, and things improve after Sadie befriends a kind girl from school and a researcher’s son---but she can’t stop worrying about the bears. As everything swirls around her, Sadie must learn what it means to have faith when you don’t have all the answers. 
      
    Flickering Hope: Can You Ever Trust the Enemy? Things finally seem to be falling into place for Sadie. Bear season is over, and her relationship with her art teacher is on the mend. Her home life is going better than ever, and even her enemy, Frankie, wants to be friends. But can Frankie be trusted? Ruth and Andrew think she’s spying for her father, helping him find a way to capture Sadie’s favorite bear. But Sadie suspects something else is going on with Frankie. She must decide who to trust and find out if---and how---her growing faith can get her through. 
      
    Waves of Light: Where is God when you need him? After struggling to fit into a new town and school, Sadie faces questions about her faith, family, and friendships, questioning all she has come to believe. Sadie’s life is spinning out of control. Her friend moved away, her mom remains ill, and her dad wants to leave town. At least the play Sadie is helping produce appears to be going well. After all, she gets to create the sets with her art teacher’s help. But even that falls apart when a flash flood destroys her teacher’s home and art. How can she trust or even believe in a God who would allow all this? God isn’t fair. With everything crumbling and her faith on the edge, Sadie must find strength in the God she’s questioning in order to hold on in the midst of her struggles. 
      
    Brilliant Hues: Sketching A Whole New Life Won’t Be Easy Life comes full circle for Sadie as she heads back to Menlo Park, California. But Sadie finds she no longer fits in, especially when one of her dad’s cases thrusts her into the spotlight and puts her in danger. She turns to her faith, but the youth group just isn’t the same, and Sadie has a lot to think about when she hears what some kids believe. She returns to Owl Creek for a reprieve, but everything feels different. She just wants things to go back the way they used to be. Will her faith be strong enough to get her through?
    Show book
  • TBH #3: TBH Too Much Drama - cover

    TBH #3: TBH Too Much Drama

    Lisa Greenwald

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Told entirely in text messages, the third book in this addictive series from the acclaimed author of 11 Before 12 is perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rachel Renee Russell. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. 
      
    Cece, Gabby, and Prianka can’t wait for Spirit Week, aka the last week of school before summer break! And they’re already making plans for the best summer ever—including a friends-only camping trip, plenty of pool time, and a top-secret shared notebook. 
    But between Pajama Day and pizza parties, Gabby accidentally leaks Cece’s most embarrassing secret to the whole school in a meme that goes viral. Half the squad thinks it’s no big deal, but Cece needs a time-out from all the drama—even if that means taking a break from her best friends.
    Show book