Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Eat Your Words - The Definitive Dictionary for the Discerning Diner - cover

Eat Your Words - The Definitive Dictionary for the Discerning Diner

Paul Convery

Publisher: Mango Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“An outstanding contribution to the field of food language and lore and an accessible reference book for professional and amateur foodies alike.” —Susannah Seton, author of Simple Pleasures of the Kitchen 
 
Eat Your Words is a gloriously gluttonous glossary of all things grub and gastronomy: It’s a true treat for anyone who loves language as much as they love food. With witty and fun definitions of everything from aeroponics to zoosaprophagy, this compilation offers definitions of six thousand unusual and unfamiliar terms across twenty-one fact-packed courses. 
 
For bon viveurs and verbivores alike: Are you a gourmet who knows the difference between Maldon and Morton salt? Maybe you’re an expert on the properties of heat in cooking. Or you’re a cocktail connoisseur with a taste for tequila. Eat Your Words is a surprising treat for anyone who loves learning about food and cooking. 
 
A delight for word nerds: For Scrabble stars and anyone who excels at Words with Friends, Eat Your Words is a clever guide to little-known culinary terms that will give you that special edge. 
 
In Eat Your Words, you’ll find terms about:A cornucopia of culinary treats from around the worldThe cultivation, selling, and serving of every food you can imagineThe appetites of diners and their dinners across all species 
 
This new dictionary is the fun reference book you didn’t know you wanted. Fans of Tequila Mockingbird and On Food and Cooking will enjoy this fascinating journey into the language of food and eating. 
 
“Now I can impress my food-snob friends with more than my ratatouille and learn some great food-related Scrabble words as well.” —Nina Lesowitz, author of The Party Girl Cookbook

Other books that might interest you

  • The Contented Vegan - Recipes and Philosophy from a Family Kitchen - cover

    The Contented Vegan - Recipes...

    Peggy Brusseau

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'The Contented Vegan is more than a cookbook. This is a practical guide to positive change to benefit future generations – and you'll truly enjoy the tasty dishes' Jane Goodall PhD, DBE
     
    How to lead a happy, healthy vegan lifestyle
     
    The Contented Vegan is your essential guide to transitioning to a vegan lifestyle, combining delicious recipes with practical, inspirational and reassuring advice on making the switch.
     
    Food writer Peggy Brusseau has been a vegan for over thirty years, and is often asked for guidance by people considering changing their diet. How do I get enough protein? How can I eat a plant-based diet when my partner doesn't want to? Is it safe for kids?
     
    In this book she answers all these questions and more, as well as providing over 100 simple, tasty recipes to inspire you in the kitchen, from breakfasts and snacks, through to easy midweek suppers and celebration feasts.
     
    Beautifully photographed throughout, The Contented Vegan provides all the information you need to become a happy, healthy, contented vegan.
    Show book
  • Japan: The World Vegetarian - cover

    Japan: The World Vegetarian

    Reiko Hashimoto

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    One of the first books in a brand-new series, Reiko Hashimoto introduces the incredibly varied world of vegetarian Japanese food. 
      
    Vegetarianism has long been a feature of the Japanese diet, and in this book Reiko walks us through the history of vegetarianism in the country, as well as providing tips on the key ingredients – such as miso, tofu and seaweed – that are most used in Japanese vegetarian cooking to help you create a mouth-watering Japanese vegetarian feast at home. 
     
     
    Alongside this, Reiko offers 70 delectable recipes including traditional sushi and noodle dishes, such as gyoza dumplings, fried tofu yakitori, nigiri zushi, tempura, tofu katsu curry and aubergine and padron pepper with somen noodles. All recipes are accompanied by stunning photography. 
      
    Also in the series: India, Mexico and Italy
    Show book