Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Stranger from the Sea - A Novel - cover

The Stranger from the Sea - A Novel

Paul Binding

Publisher: The Overlook Press

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

A shipwrecked sailor disturbs the life of a journalist in a late nineteenth-century English seaside town in this reimagining of Ibsen’s The Lady from the Sea. 
 
  
 
After a ferocious storm shipwrecks young Norwegian sailor Hans Lyngstrand in the English Channel near Dengate, aspiring journalist Martin Bridges takes a job at the local newspaper. When Hans moves into Martin’s boardinghouse to convalesce and Martin interviews the young sailor for the paper, it upends Martin’s otherwise uneventful world. Hans tells him of the shipwreck—and of his encounter with a vicious sailor vowing to seek revenge, who Hans believes may still be alive. So begins a complex friendship between the two young men that will cause Martin to reexamine his relationships with everyone around him. In The Stranger from the Sea, the backstories Paul Binding creates for the characters of Ibsen’s classic The Lady from the Sea unfold in tandem with the secret romances, rivalries, and heartaches of a seemingly unremarkable town. The result is a lyrical and quietly captivating novel that will mesmerize readers from its opening pages. 
 
“A sensitive depiction of youthful sexuality, the anguish of failed relationships, and the rights of women in a male-dominated world,” —TLS
Available since: 02/19/2019.
Print length: 356 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Healer's Awakening - An Absorbing and Romantic Family Saga - cover

    The Healer's Awakening - An...

    Helen Pryke

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    As this series continues, a nineteenth-century Italian woman takes on the mantle of her family’s legacy to help others, but potentially at great cost to her. 
     
    Since Ginevra Innocenti’s death, the cottage has lain empty and abandoned in the woods—until the day Ginevra’s granddaughter, Sara, sees a dragonfly in the depths of winter. Intrigued, she follows it and discovers the forgotten cottage.  
     
    When Sara learns that her grandmother was once a healer, a series of events is set in motion that could lead to the end of the family legacy. 
     
    As long-hidden secrets are revealed, Sara starts to doubt everything she once believed in. Her mind in turmoil, she no longer knows whether she can follow in the footsteps of her ancestors. Disowned by her parents, it’s time to make a difficult decision. But rumors leave Sara fearing for her future. Will the curse of the Innocenti strike her family once more? 
     
    Helen Pryke is also the author of the Maggie Turner mysteries. The Healer’s Awakening is a compelling saga with a touch of romance. It’s the perfect read for fans of authors like Philippa Gregory, Lindsey Jayne Ashford, and Dinah Jefferies.
    Show book
  • On Wings of Death - cover

    On Wings of Death

    David J. Oldman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    They found the flying officer hanging in his hut  another man who couldnt take the relentless pressure of flying operations, it seemed, although his fellow officers hadnt liked him much anyway. Besides, what was one more death among the thousands dying on the Western Front?Except that this mans family had connections to Field Marshal Kitchener and no one wanted him distracted on the eve of the big push on the Somme. So Investigator Miller is sent to the squadron to tie up the loose ends, to tidy the incident away. For some reason they think he is well-equipped for that sort of thing.Only it is all Miller can do to keep himself alive, flying daily over the enemy lines. And then he finds the suicide isnt quite as straightforward as it is supposed to be. Particularly when a second man turns up dead, purportedly shot with his own pistol...Set against the backdrop of the Great War and infused with a sense of intrigue and high drama, this is a novel of unsettling force. With a keen eye for detail, Oldman evokes the brutality of mud splattered battlefields and aerial combat, bringing the reader right up close to the action. As events spiral and the war continues to impact upon the investigation, peril and suspense combine to create a real sense of unease and urgency, leading towards an unexpected and fascinating conclusion.As seen on www.historicalnovels.info
    Show book
  • Herzl The King - A Novel About the Founder of Modern Israel - cover

    Herzl The King - A Novel About...

    Norman Kotker

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    On a hill overlooking Jerusalem, the once-mocked Theodor Herzl lies buried in honor as the man who envisioned the modern Jewish state. Neither warrior nor financier, neither theologian nor trained statesman, he was simply a foresighted Viennese journalist who at the beginning of the 20th century brought together from all parts of Europe those Jews able to assess the coming anti-Semitism and join him in the Zionist movement. Like Moses, Herzl led his people to the promised land but did not get to enter it—dying in his forties, alone, and broken by the still-unrealized task. Here is his story.
    Show book
  • Viking Jarl - Dragonheart Book 3 - cover

    Viking Jarl - Dragonheart Book 3

    Griff Hosker

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Dragon Heart has come of age and sets off with his Ulfheonar to fight the Saxons. A chance visit to a cave brings him face to face with his past and changes his life forever. Fighting both Saxons and Hibernians on land and on sea he and his warriors conquer the land of Anglesey. Before they can enjoy the fruits of victory they face an enemy from the past who returns to haunt them. This is a fast moving audiobook filled with action and battles evoking the time of the Vikings.
    Show book
  • Comes a Time for Burning - cover

    Comes a Time for Burning

    Steven F. Havill

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Busy putting in stitches and bandaging lumberjacks' injuries, young Dr. Thomas Parks has no idea that his worst enemy is lurking in the sleepy village of Port McKinney in the spring of 1892. When one of the working girls at the Clarissa Hotel is brought to the Clinic desperately ill, Thomas's newly arrived associate wastes no time in making the diagnosis--Asian Cholera has somehow found this back water near Puget Sound. The cholera strikes viciously and kills in days, sometimes even hours. It soon becomes apparent that Thomas and his clinic have neither the supplies nor the means to provide effective treatment for the outbreak, and in hours, they are swamped. Afraid for the safety of his wife and daughter and all those close to him, Thomas still is driven by professional curiosity about the contagion's origins, especially when it appears that one of his own nurses is in some way responsible. Before he can mount a truly effective defense, the battle spreads, threatening the very life of the village.Always a man driven by his own curiosities and ambitions, Thomas discovers that his greatest allies are those closest to him. Comes a Time for Burning is the second in the Dr. Thomas Parks adventure series of historical novels, following the recent release of Race for the Dying.
    Show book
  • Count Belisarius - cover

    Count Belisarius

    Robert Graves

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This “vigorous tale” by the acclaimed author of I, Claudius captures the sixth century fall of the Byzantine Empire as seen through the eyes of a servant (Kirkus Reviews).   Threatened by invaders on all sides, the Eastern Roman Empire of the sixth century fought to maintain its borders. Leading its defense was the Byzantine general Belisarius, a man who earned the grudging respect of his enemies, and who rose to become Emperor Justinian’s greatest military leader.   Loosely based on Procopius’s History of the Justinian Wars and Secret History, this novel tells the Belisarius’s story through the eyes of Eugenius, a eunuch and servant to the general’s wife. It presents a compelling portrait of a man bound by a strict code of honor and unrelenting loyalty to an emperor who is intelligent but flawed, and whose decisions bring him to a tragic end.   Eminent historical novelist and classicist Robert Graves presents a vivid account of a time in history both dissolute and violent, and demonstrates one again his mastery of this historical period.  “A brilliant piece of scholarship.” —Kirkus Reviews  “The scope of the book is massive—encompassing religious controversy and cultural developments as well as military history—yet, throughout, Graves succeeds in blending historical details with the development of his main characters.” —Historical Novel Society
    Show book