Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Mutilator - cover

The Mutilator

Paul B. Kidd

Publisher: The Five Mile Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Australia's chamber of horrors, featuring Sydney's notorious fiend, 'The Mutilator" and four other bizarre, signature serial killers.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Falcon and the Snowman - A True Story of Friendship and Espionage - cover

    The Falcon and the Snowman - A...

    Robert Lindsey

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This fascinating account of how two young Americans turned traitor during the Cold War is an “absolutely smashing real-life spy story” (The New York Times Book Review).  At the height of the Cold War, some of the nation’s most precious secrets passed through a CIA contractor in Southern California. Only a handful of employees were cleared to handle the intelligence that came through the Black Vault. One of them was Christopher John Boyce, a hard-partying genius with a sky-high IQ, a passion for falconry, and little love for his country. Security at the Vault was so lax, Boyce couldn’t help but be tempted. And when he gave in, the fate of the free world would hang in the balance.   With the help of his best friend, Andrew Daulton Lee, a drug dealer with connections south of the border, Boyce began stealing classified documents and selling them to the Soviet embassy in Mexico City. It was an audacious act of treason, committed by two spoiled young men who were nearly always drunk, stoned, or both—and were about to find themselves caught in the middle of a fight between the CIA and the KGB.   This Edgar Award–winning book was the inspiration for the critically acclaimed film starring Timothy Hutton and Sean Penn—a true story as thrilling as any dreamed up by Ian Fleming or John le Carré. Before Edward Snowden, there were Boyce and Lee, two of the most unlikely spies in the history of the Cold War.    
    Show book
  • The Snake and the Spider - Abduction and Murder in Daytona Beach - cover

    The Snake and the Spider -...

    Karen Kingsbury

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A New York Times–bestselling author and former Los Angeles Times reporter chronicles the murder and abduction of two teens during a dream spring break vacation.   Best friends Daryl Barber and James Boucher were responsible, and their parents trusted them to spend Spring Break at Daytona Beach unchaperoned. When the boys missed their agreed-upon daily check-ins, their parents were disappointed. When they failed to come home on their planned return date, their parents were terrified. They could not have known that their innocent sons would encounter two violent men on the Florida coast. They could not have imagined the torture their children would endure before their bodies turned up four months later in a Florida swamp. What starts as a dream vacation, ended as every parent’s worst nightmare . . .  New York Times–bestselling author Karen Kingsbury narrates the tragic tale of a road trip gone horribly wrong in this not-to-be missed true crime novel.
    Show book
  • Gang Mom - The Evil Mother Whose Gang Secretly Preyed on a City - cover

    Gang Mom - The Evil Mother Whose...

    Fred Rosen

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The shocking true story of Mary Thompson, a Eugene, Oregon, anti-gang activist who secretly ran her own murderous mob of teenagers—including her own son. Aaron Iturra was just eighteen years old when he was found dead in the bedroom of the Eugene, Oregon, home he shared with his mother and sister. Investigating the crime, Detective Jim Michaud found evidence pointing to an unlikely suspect: Mary Louise Thompson, also known as Gang Mom. Once a biker chick and police informer, she had become a locally famous anti-gang activist.   Michaud soon learned Thompson was a modern-day Fagin who was running her own gang of juveniles—including her own son, Beau—which preyed on the unsuspecting city, dealing dope and burglarizing homes. When Thompson had found out Iturra planned to testify against Beau in a felony case, she put out a hit on him.
    Show book
  • Al Capone's Beer Wars - A Complete History of Organized Crime in Chicago During Prohibition - cover

    Al Capone's Beer Wars - A...

    John J. Binder

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Although much has been written about Al Capone, there has not been—until now—a complete history of organized crime in Chicago during Prohibition. This exhaustively researched book covers the entire period from 1920 to 1933. Author John J. Binder, a recognized authority on the history of organized crime in Chicago, discusses all the important bootlegging gangs in the city and the suburbs and also examines the other major rackets, such as prostitution, gambling, labor and business racketeering, and narcotics. 
    A major focus is how the Capone gang—one of twelve major bootlegging mobs in Chicago at the start of Prohibition—gained a virtual monopoly over organized crime in northern Illinois and beyond. Binder also describes the fight by federal and local authorities, as well as citizens' groups, against organized crime. In the process, he refutes numerous myths and misconceptions related to the Capone gang, other criminal groups, the St. Valentine's Day Massacre, and gangland killings. 
    What emerges is a big picture of how Chicago's underworld evolved during this period. This broad perspective goes well beyond Capone and specific acts of violence and brings to light what was happening elsewhere in Chicagoland and after Capone went to jail.
    Show book
  • Kingdom of Lies - Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime - cover

    Kingdom of Lies - Unnerving...

    Kate Fazzini

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the tradition of Michael Lewis and Tom Wolfe, a fascinating and frightening behind-the-scenes look at the interconnected cultures of hackers, security specialists, and law enforcement.A 19-year-old Romanian student stumbles into a criminal ransomware ring in her village. Soon, she is extorting Silicon Valley billionaires for millions — without knowing the first thing about computers.A veteran cybersecurity specialist has built a deep network of top-notch hackers in one of the world’s largest banks. But then the bank brings in a cadre of ex-military personnel to “help”.A cynical Russian only leaves his tiny New Jersey apartment to hack sports cars at a high-performance shop in Newark. But he opens his door to a consultant who needs his help.A hotel doorman in China once served in the People’s Army, stealing intellectual property from American companies. Now, he uses his skills to build up a private side business selling the data he takes from travelers to Shanghai’s commercial center.Kingdom of Lies follows the intertwined stories of cybercriminals and ethical hackers as they jump from criminal trend to criminal trend, crisis to crisis.A cybersecurity professional turned journalist, Kate Fazzini illuminates the many lies companies and governments tell us about our security, the lies criminals tell to get ahead, and the lies security leaders tell to make us think they are better at their jobs than they are.Like Traffic set in the cybercrime world, Kingdom of Lies is as entertaining as it is eye-opening.
    Show book
  • White Mischief - The Murder of Lord Erroll - cover

    White Mischief - The Murder of...

    James Fox

    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    The riveting true story of decadence, deception, and murder among British aristocrats in colonial KenyaIn 1941, with London burning in the Blitz, a group of hedonistic English nobles partied shamelessly in Kenya. Far removed from falling bombs, the wealthy elites of “Happy Valley” indulged in morphine, alcohol, and unrestricted sex, often with their friends’ spouses. But the party turned sinister in the early hours of a January morning for Josslyn Hay, Lord Erroll, who had been enjoying the favors of the beautiful young wife of a middle-aged neighbor. Hay was found dead, a bullet in his brain. The murder shocked the close-knit community of wealthy expatriates in Nairobi and shined a harsh light on their louche lifestyle.Three decades later, author James Fox researched the slaying of Lord Erroll, an unsolved crime still sheathed in a thick cloud of rumor and innuendo. What he discovered was both unsettling and luridly compelling. White Mischief is a spellbinding true-crime classic, a tale of privileged excess and the wages of sin, and an account of one writer’s determined effort to crack a cold and craven killing.
    Show book