Slay dragons. Discover the killer. Make Love. Read without limits. #WorldBookDay offer until April 28!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Occupation Trilogy - La Place de l'Étoile – The Night Watch – Ring Roads - cover

The Occupation Trilogy - La Place de l'Étoile – The Night Watch – Ring Roads

Patrick Modiano

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

When Patrick Modiano was awarded the 2014 Nobel Prize for Literature, he was praised for using the "art of memory" to bring to life the Occupation of Paris during the Second World War. Born just after the war, Modiano was an angry young man in his twenties when he wrote these three brilliant, angry novels, bursting onto the Parisian literary scene and causing a storm. 
 
The epigraph to his ambitious first novel, among the first to seriously question both wartime collaboration in France and the myths of the Gaullist era, reads: "In June 1942 a German officer goes up to a young man and says: 'Excuse me, monsieur, where is La Place de l'Étoile?' The young man points to the star on his chest." The Night Watch tells the story of a young man caught between his work for the French Gestapo, his work for a Resistance cell informing on the police, and the black market dealers whose seedy milieu he shares. Ring Roads recounts Serge's search for his father, who disappeared from his life ten years earlier. He finds him trying to survive the war years in the unlikely company of petty criminals, anti-Semites, and prostitutes, putting his meager business skills to the service of those who have no interest in him or his survival.  
 
Together, these three brilliant, almost hallucinatory evocations of the Occupation, attempt to exorcise the past by exploring the morally ambiguous worlds of collaboration and resistance. Award-winning translator Frank Wynne has revised the translations of The Night Watch and Ring Roads -- long out of print -- for our current day, and brings La Place de l'Etoile into English for the first time. The Occupation Trilogy provides the perfect introduction to one of the world's greatest writers.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Diary of Samuel Pepys - cover

    The Diary of Samuel Pepys

    Samuel Pepys

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Samuel Pepys PRS, MP, JP was an English naval administrator and Member of Parliament who is most famous for the diary that he kept for a decade while still a relatively young man. Pepys had no maritime experience, but he rose to be the Chief Secretary to the Admiralty under both King Charles II and King James II through patronage, hard work, and his talent for administration. His influence and reforms at the Admiralty were important in the early professionalisation of the Royal Navy. The detailed private diary that Pepys kept from 1660 until 1669 was first published in the 19th century and is one of the most important primary sources for the English Restoration period. It provides a combination of personal revelation and eyewitness accounts of great events, such as the Great Plague of London, the Second Dutch War, and the Great Fire of London.
    Show book
  • Ragged Lake - A Frank Yakabuski Mystery - cover

    Ragged Lake - A Frank Yakabuski...

    Ron Corbett

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Gruesome murders, a northern secret, and a buried past
     
    While working one afternoon on the Northern Divide, a young tree-marker makes a grisly discovery: in a squatter’s cabin near an old mill town, a family has been murdered.
     
    An army vet coming off a successful turn leading a task force that took down infamous biker criminals, Detective Frank Yakabuski arrives in Ragged Lake, a nearly abandoned village, to solve the family’s murder. But no one is willing to talk. With a winter storm coming, Yakabuski sequesters the locals in a fishing lodge as he investigates the area with his two junior officers. Before long, he is fighting not only to solve the crime but also to stay alive and protect the few innocents left living in the desolate woods.
     
    A richly atmospheric mystery with sweeping backdrops, explosive action, and memorable villains, Ragged Lake will keep you guessing — about the violent crime, the nature of family, and secret deeds done long ago on abandoned frontiers.
    Show book
  • Injustice for All - cover

    Injustice for All

    J. A. Jance

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    “In the elite company of Sue Grafton and Patricia Cornwell.”—Flint Journal  Injustice For All—riveting crime fiction from J.A. Jance featuring Seattle Homicide Detective J.P. Beaumont—offers fans of Jance’s Sheriff Joanna Brady books a golden opportunity to enjoy a different side to the perennial New York Times bestselling author. Here a dead body on the beach and a screaming woman ensnare Beau in a case that gets darker and darker the deeper he investigates. Injustice for All, now in a Premium Plus edition, is classic Beau—proving the assertion by the Washington Times that “J.A. Jance does not disappoint.”
    Show book
  • Safe Haven - cover

    Safe Haven

    Patricia MacDonald

    • 1
    • 18
    • 1
    A heavily pregnant young woman returns to her small hometown to discover it’s not the safe haven she had first supposed…
    
    Following a whirlwind romance with an old acquaintance she bumped into at a high school reunion, heavily pregnant Dena Russell has moved back to her small hometown to start a new life with horse breeder Brian Riley.  But something isn’t right. As Brian’s behaviour grows increasingly disturbing, Dena flees her new home, finding refuge with an old schoolfriend.
    
    Then the bloodstained, battered body is found, and Dena is forced to think the unthinkable: could the father of her unborn child be a coldblooded killer? And, if so, how can she and her baby escape his clutches…?
    Show book
  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book
  • The National Park Case - A Tucker Crime Novel - cover

    The National Park Case - A...

    Larry F. Hunter

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    A retired cop already traveling the US by motorhome, Tucker is recruited by the FBI to help investigate a series of missing persons’ cases from National Parks Service campsites. He befriends a beautiful suspect, then finds himself torn between his growing feelings for her and his fear that she is an accomplice or possibly a vicious serial killer. As his investigation takes him from park to park to New Orleans and Tunica, the violence surges and Tucker faces losing it all. All he wanted was to retire quietly and travel, but then came his toughest case yet—The National Park Case.
    Show book