Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Phoenix Noir - cover

Phoenix Noir

Patrick Millikin

Publisher: Akashic Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Sixteen stories reveal the dark side of Arizona’s capital, including tales from #1 New York Times–bestselling authors Lee Child and Diana Gabaldon.   Even a desert metropolis has its share of cold-blooded criminals. Along with suburban sprawl, Phoenix is home to shady developers, police corruption, and organized crime. Being close to the country’s southern border makes it a hot spot for trafficking humans, guns, and drugs. Though known as the Valley of the Sun, Phoenix exists under a long shadow.   In Phoenix Noir, you’ll find stories from powerhouse authors Diana Gabaldon, Lee Child, James Sallis, Luis Alberto Urrea, Jon Talton, Megan Abbott, Charles Kelly, Robert Anglen, Patrick Millikin, Laura Tohe, Kurt Reichenbaugh, Gary Phillips, David Corbett, Don Winslow, Dogo Barry Graham, and Stella Pope Duarte.   “Patrick Millikin . . . as if to prove his witty claim that ‘sunshine is the new noir,’ offers one superb specimen, ‘Whiteout on Van Buren,’ in which [author] Don Winslow makes skillful use of a city street at high noon to provide the perfect metaphor for life and death.” —The New York Times Book Review
Available since: 11/01/2009.
Print length: 272 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lost Girls - A Gripping Mystery Thriller - cover

    The Lost Girls - A Gripping...

    Helen Pryke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this dark thriller series debut, an English reporter investigates a missing persons case gone cold while getting dangerously closer to a madman. Four years ago, two teenage girls were abducted. Also four years ago, a ten-year-old boy was murdered. Both cases remain unsolved. Desperate to find their missing sisters, Michael and Chloe ask investigative journalist Maggie Turner to help them. And what starts as a simple investigation, soon turns into a frantic race against time. The kidnapper took the girls to replace his sisters; sisters who died seventeen years earlier. Forced to face traumatic events from the past, Maggie finds herself in the middle of a nightmare that can only get worse . . .Tense, fast-paced, and gritty, The Lost Girls is the perfect read for fans of authors like Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, and Helen Fields.
    Show book
  • Highwayman - cover

    Highwayman

    MJ Preston

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    First in the serial killer series from the author of Four. “A stunning achievement! . . . Prose of this quality is rare in horror stories.” —San Francisco Review of Books Meet Lance Belanger, he has only one ambition, to be the most infamous killer of all time. After murdering a single mom and her toddler child, Lance indoctrinates himself into the world of serial murder. Before long, the bodies start turning up all over the country. Each victim is incapacitated by a puncture wound to the spine, then, while still alive, they are dismembered, their arms, legs, and head are severed from the torso.   FBI investigators call their killer “Highwayman.” But beyond the multi-state dumping of staged victims, the killer has left them little else to go on. With no DNA or forensic evidence, veteran FBI agent Lewis Ash is in a race against retirement as he tracks the elusive murderer.   Meanwhile, Lance has other plans that will up his game and increase his body count. In a web of murder that reaches from the United States to Bucharest, Romania, a diabolical plan is set into motion to attract the most dangerous predators the world has to offer . . .   “Brilliant, haunting . . . M.J. Preston has created a gripping thriller that few readers will be able to put down. Not for the faint of heart, the story plays out like a cinematic tale that is waiting to be told and creates a modern-day killer that is sure to haunt the dreams of many a reader.” —Anthony Avina, author of Identity
    Show book
  • Right Beside You - A Must Read Mystery Thriller - cover

    Right Beside You - A Must Read...

    Helen Pryke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this tense thriller, an English reporter doesn’t know whom to trust as threatening letters continue to arrive and a killer gets dangerously closer. 
     
    My brother and I had our future all mapped out until that fateful night destroyed it. Now those responsible must pay. 
     
    When Maggie receives an anonymous letter, she realises she’s being stalked. The only connection is a Hampshire gang she helped put in prison thirteen years earlier. As the stalking intensifies, Maggie suspects everyone around her. Even those she loves. But as Maggie becomes more and more paranoid, one by one the gang members suffer horrifying attacks. Someone from her past is out for revenge, and it’s clear that Maggie is next . . .  
     
    Tense, fast-paced, and gritty, Right Beside You is the second Maggie Turner mystery, though can easily be read as a stand-alone. It’s the perfect read for fans of authors like Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer and Helen Fields.
    Show book
  • The Return of Sherlock Holmes - Further Extraordinary Tales of the Famous Sleuth - cover

    The Return of Sherlock Holmes -...

    Maxim Jakubowski

    • 1
    • 12
    • 1
    Fifteen brand-new stories about the British super sleuth by an assortment of talented tale-tellers!   Sherlock Holmes and Watson have been household names for generations. In this new anthology from Maxim Jakubowski, you can read all about the dynamic duo in a new light and revisit the legacy of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. From brand new stories to deeper looks into famous Sherlock Holmes cases, fans have a new chance to delve into the world of Holmes, Watson, and their crime-solving capers.   “One highlight is Paul A. Freeman’s imaginative ‘Sherlock Holmes and a Case of Humbug,’ in which the detective doubts Ebenezer Scrooge’s change of heart resulted from ghostly visitations and uncovers a violent crime. Another is Eric Brown’s eerie ‘The Curse of Carmody Grange,’ in which Holmes investigates a disappearance from a sealed room attributed to a centuries-old curse.” —Publishers Weekly   “I have been a fan of Maxim Jakubowski for years. There just is no finer mystery writer and editor anywhere.” ―Alexander Algren, author of Out in a Flash: Murder Mystery Flash Fiction
    Show book
  • Blame - A Completely Gripping Psychological Suspense - cover

    Blame - A Completely Gripping...

    Patricia Dixon

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “A compelling exploration of the human psyche . . . stands out as an excellent piece of psychological fiction” from the bestselling author of #MeToo (Book Rant Reviews).What if the past came knocking? Frankie is running away from her past and the repercussions of a night that changed her life forever. Hoping for a fresh start she unexpectedly falls in love. Unbeknown to Frankie, the wheels of fate are set in motion when Herbert Dunne, a convicted murderer, is released from prison. When he moves in with Margaret, a woman he has formed an unlikely relationship with, their dark sides gradually emerge allowing their inner demons to blossom. News of Herbert’s release once again rocks the small village of Elkdale, as the locals remember the young woman he murdered. But what is Herbert hoping to achieve by stirring up the past? And who is behind the new spate of murders? One thing is clear—someone is out for revenge. Someone who thinks Frankie and her friends are to blame . . .“With settings I could get lost in, characters that inspired even my dark little heart and the thrill of bad meeting bad, I thoroughly recommend this.” —Melanie’s Reads
    Show book
  • Here Lies Alice - cover

    Here Lies Alice

    J.A. Baker

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Wow . . . one of the best books I have read!” —Goodreads reviewer, five starsA widower lets a new woman into his heart and his home—but she has her own agenda, in this thriller from the bestselling author of The Girl I Used to Be. Ever since Sophia Saunders was murdered, her husband, Peter, and daughter, Lauren, have been trying to rebuild their lives. Desperate to fill the emotional void, Peter becomes involved with a woman from his grief support group. But as his relationship with Alice progresses, Lauren becomes unsettled. Why can’t she find any trace of Alice online? Who is she, really, and what does she want? Lauren is right to be suspicious. But the deeper her investigation of Alice goes, the greater the danger grows . . .
    Show book