What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Vow of Darkness - cover

Vow of Darkness

Parra Sandoval Rodrigo

Publisher: eLibros Editorial

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Originally published in Spanish as Voto de tinieblas, this is a translation by Kieran Tapsell. Among the stories and characters of Vow of Darkness it unfolds a reflection around the prohibitions and dangers that a nun living the confused and violent period of independence from Spain must face when she decides to be a writer in a world where writing is an exclusively male activity. Alongside these adventures is woven a reflection about personal and collective memory. It outlines how the indigenous population extinguishes destroyed by war, smallpox and shame. And yet, there are characters trying to give sense to their own lives through generosity, compassion, understanding the other, identifying with their memory, diluting cultural distances, changing the roles and transforming the victorious on defeated or trying to solve the antagonisms that the nun draws in the written geographies of her body throughout philanthropy.

Other books that might interest you

  • All the Ever Afters - The Untold Story of Cinderella's Stepmother - cover

    All the Ever Afters - The Untold...

    Danielle Teller

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    In the vein of Wicked, The Woodcutter, and Boy, Snow, Bird, a luminous reimagining of a classic tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, Cinderella’s "evil" stepmother. 
    We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we? 
    As rumors about the cruel upbringing of beautiful newlywed Princess Cinderella roil the kingdom, her stepmother, Agnes, who knows all too well about hardship, privately records the true story. . . . 
    A peasant born into serfdom, Agnes is separated from her family and forced into servitude as a laundress’s apprentice when she is only ten years old. Using her wits and ingenuity, she escapes her tyrannical matron and makes her way toward a hopeful future. When teenaged Agnes is seduced by an older man and becomes pregnant, she is transformed by love for her child. Once again left penniless, Agnes has no choice but to return to servitude at the manor she thought she had left behind. Her new position is nursemaid to Ella, an otherworldly infant. She struggles to love the child who in time becomes her stepdaughter and, eventually, the celebrated princess who embodies everyone’s unattainable fantasies. The story of their relationship reveals that nothing is what it seems, that beauty is not always desirable, and that love can take on many guises. 
    Lyrically told, emotionally evocative, and brilliantly perceptive, All the Ever Afters explores the hidden complexities that lie beneath classic tales of good and evil, all the while showing us that how we confront adversity reveals a more profound, and ultimately more important, truth than the ideal of "happily ever after."
    Show book
  • Savage Liberty - A Mystery of Revolutionary America - cover

    Savage Liberty - A Mystery of...

    Eliot Pattison

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    "Pattison has few peers when it comes to integrating historical events into a complex but plausible whodunit plot." —Publishers Weekly (starred and boxed review) When a ship arriving from London explodes in Boston Harbor, both the peace of the colonial city and Duncan McCallum's life are shattered. Summoned by his new friend John Hancock to a beach awash with the bodies of the victims, Duncan discovers that the ship was deliberately sabotaged, apparently to cover the theft by French agents provocateurs of a secret document being carried to the Sons of Liberty. Hancock refuses to let him take his evidence to the authorities, for this is 1768 and relations with the government are so sour that officials are being hanged in effigy. Fearing that the intrigues of Hancock and the Sons might set the colonies ablaze, Duncan relentlessly pursues the truth, only to be falsely charged with treason and murder. To escape the hangman's noose and restore his honor, Duncan has no choice but to follow a northbound trail of violence and deception while being relentlessly hounded by bountymen and vengeful soldiers. With the help of unexpected new friends, including Ethan Allen, aged natives, and outlawed Jesuits, he survives scalp hunters, imprisonment, and his own spiritual crisis, only to realize he cannot resolve the terrible crimes until he first understands the emerging truths about freedom in the American colonies.
    Show book
  • Her Last Hello - cover

    Her Last Hello

    Tara Sue Me

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Athena Hamilton arrived in Vegas with empty pockets and a heart full of hope. Fifteen years later, her pockets are still empty and hope is a four letter word no longer in her vocabulary.
     
    Seduced by a gentleman she thought was her dream come true, she lives in an inescapable nightmare. Now after fifteen years, she’s living on borrowed time. All it takes is one mistake too many and she’ll disappear like so many others she’s known before.
     
    A chance meeting with a childhood friend seems to provide the way out she’s been desperate to find. However, she soon discovers that all is not what it seems. Freedom is only an illusion, but hope might be found in the most unlikely place.
     
    NOTE: This book  was originally published under the title OBSCURED. The content has not changed.
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 2
    • 44
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • Humane Disposal - cover

    Humane Disposal

    Sean Platt, David W. Wright

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A victim with no memory.Maria woke with no memory, rescued from the sex dungeon of a man who had held her captive. With her captor dead, now she may be the only hope for police to find another missing woman. 
     
    A cop ordered to lie.Detective Cody McGraw is tasked to help Maria recover her memories. Just one problem — Maria isn’t who she thinks she is. She’s not even human. She’s a robot that shouldn’t exist, a model so close to human that it had to be shut down years ago — all of them humanely disposed of. She’s the first of her kind that anyone has seen in years and now she is marked for destruction. But first, Cody is given a chance to find out what she knows.
     
    The clock is ticking.Government agents want to dismantle and destroy Maria to find out how she has survived after her kind were disposed of. Cody is given a vary narrow window to get close to her and find out what she knows about the missing woman.But getting close brings back his painful past, and he soon finds himself torn between his duty and doing the right thing.
     
    Humane Disposal is a twisty, gut punch of a sci-fi thriller from the bestselling authors Sean Platt and David Wright.
    Show book
  • Real Life & Liars - cover

    Real Life & Liars

    Kristina Riggle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sometimes you find happiness where, and when, you least expect it.  
    For Mirabelle Zielinski's children, happiness always seems to be just out of reach. Her polished oldest daughter, Katya, clings to a stale marriage with a workaholic husband and three spoiled children. Her son, Ivan, so creative, is a down-in-the-dumps songwriter with the worst taste in women. And the "baby," impulsive Irina, who lives life on a whim, is now reluctantly pregnant and hitched to a man who is twice her age. On the weekend of their parents' anniversary party, lies will be revealed, hearts will be broken...but love will also be found. And the biggest shock may come from Mirabelle herself, because she has a secret that will change everything.
    Show book