Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Census - cover

Census

Panos Ioannides

Translator Despina Pirketti

Publisher: Armida Publications

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A bold allegory of a contemporary nativity. The mountainous Cypriot village of Spilia, the Greek word for “cave”, provides the setting for the conception and “birth” of a bodiless, unseen Christ spreading as miraculous energy to liberate, heal and transform anyone it touches.
 
Census is both a heretic allegory of the nativity and a cathartic retort to the satanic messages of Roman Polanski’s renowned horror film Rosemary’s Baby. Boasting repeated editions in Greece and Cyprus, this award-winning novel by Panos Ioannides, replete with magical realism, is riveting in terms of conception and execution: a sacred metaphysical thriller that redeems and purifies the reader. A masterpiece in the art of fiction and the recipient of the Cyprus National Prize for Literature, 1973.

Other books that might interest you

  • Pioneer Christmas Collection - 9 Stories of Finding Shelter and Love in a Wintry Frontier - cover

    Pioneer Christmas Collection - 9...

    Kathleen Fuller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Journey along with American settlers who learn that despite where the trail takes them or how primitive their lodgings may be Christmas is all about the heart. Determined to honor Christs birth, these pioneers find a way to make Christmas happen in places like a cave, a tipi, and a dugout. Modern readers will enjoy a peek into life before commercialism took over the sacred day, distracting us from the true blessings of faith, hope, and love. Enjoy nine original novellas of Christmas romance as penned from many of todays leading Christian authors, including Lauraine Snelling, Kathleen Fuller, and Vickie McDonough.
    Show book
  • Negative Ecstasies - Georges Bataille and the Study of Religion - cover

    Negative Ecstasies - Georges...

    Jeremy Biles, Kent L. Brintnall

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Despite Georges Bataille’s acknowledged influence on major poststructuralist thinkers—including Foucault, Derrida, Kristeva, Lacan, Baudrillard, and Barthes—and his prominence in literary, cultural, and social theory, rarely has he been taken up by scholars of religion, even as issues of the sacred were central to his thinking. Bringing together established scholars and emerging voices, Negative Ecstasies engages Bataille from the perspective of religious studies and theology, forging links with feminist and queer theory, economics, secularism, psychoanalysis, fat studies, and ethics. As these essays demonstrate, Bataille’s work bears significance to contemporary questions in the academy and vital issues in the world. We continue to ignore him at our peril.
    Show book
  • Just a Kiss - cover

    Just a Kiss

    Denise Hunter

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    Riley Callahan’s plans to reveal his secret feelings for his best friend are ruined when his life is drastically altered in Afghanistan. 
    Watching the love of his life falling for his brother was enough to send Riley straight to boot camp. But over a year later, he’s officially a marine, and Beau and Paige are no longer an item. When Riley’s tour in Afghanistan is up, he intends to confess his feelings to Paige and win his best friend’s heart once and for all. 
    But all that changes when an IED takes the life of a comrade and leaves Riley an amputee. Now he’s heading home, injured and troubled. His plans to win Paige are a distant dream. She deserves so much more than the man that’s left. All he can do now is put some healthy distance between them. But upon his return he discovers his family has arranged for him to stay with Paige. 
    Paige is a nurturer at heart and happy to take care of her best buddy. By all appearances he’s adjusting miraculously well to his disability. But as the days pass, Paige begins to see that the smiles and laughter are just a mask for the pain he’s hiding. He has nightmares and mood swings, and his unwavering independence keeps him from accepting help from anyone, including her. To make matters worse, her job is in serious jeopardy. The animal shelter that she’s poured her heart into has lost its funding, and she has three months to come up the money needed to save it. 
    As the weeks wear on with the two in such close proximity, Paige’s feelings for Riley begin to shift into unchartered territory. Why is she suddenly noticing his corded arm muscles and the way his lips curl at the corners? Will she be able to deny her feelings for another Callahan brother? And will Riley let his heart heal so he can let Paige in?
    Show book
  • Blue Ridge Sunrise - cover

    Blue Ridge Sunrise

    Denise Hunter

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “Hunter’s snappy dialogue and heartwarming prose will appeal to fans of Jan Karon and Mark Simses.” —Booklist review of Sweetbriar Cottage 
    Former free spirit Zoe Collins swore she’d never again set foot in Copper Creek or speak to the man who broke her heart. But return she must when her beloved Granny dies, leaving the family legacy to Zoe—a peach orchard nestled at the base of the Blue Ridge Mountains. 
    When Zoe returns home with her daughter and boyfriend Kyle, she finds that she’s the only person in town who doesn’t expect her to give up the life she’s established far away from Copper Creek. Everyone believes she was born to run the orchard, but how can she make it her home after so many years? 
    Cruz Huntley never quite got over his first love, Zoe Collins, the little sister of his best friend Brady. Not when she cheated on him during their “break,” not when she took off to parts unknown with good-for-nothing Kyle Jenkins, and not even now—five years later. 
    As life-changing decisions and a history with Cruz hang over Zoe’s head, tensions rise between her and Kyle. Even as she comes to terms with the shifting relationships in her life, Zoe still isn’t sure if she can remain in Copper Creek with her new responsibilities . . . and her first love.
    Show book
  • The End of All Things (The Kinsman Chronicles) - Part 3 - cover

    The End of All Things (The...

    Jill Williamson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Part 3 of Jill Williamson's Epic Fantasy Series  The Kinsman ChroniclesWith the Five Realms on the brink of total destruction, everyone faces a final mad scramble to find a safe haven. The realm is divided on what should be done. Wilek and Trevn join those who are preparing the realm for a seaward evacuation, but the king stands in their way. Wilek must battle against his own father to try and save the people of Armania.The End of All Things is collected together with parts 1 and 2 in King's Folly.
    Show book
  • A Year with C S Lewis - Daily Readings from His Classic Works - cover

    A Year with C S Lewis - Daily...

    C. S. Lewis

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    The classic A Year with C.S. Lewis is an intimate day-to-day companion by C.S. Lewis, the most important Christian writer of the 20th century. The daily meditations have been culled from Lewis’ celebrated signature classics: Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, The Great Divorce, The Problem of Pain, Miracles, and A Grief Observed, as well as from the distinguished works The Weight of Glory and The Abolition of Man. Ruminating on such themes as the nature of love, the existence of miracles, overcoming a devastating loss, and discovering a profound Christian faith, A Year with C.S. Lewis offers unflinchingly honest insight for each day of the year.
    Show book