Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Venus of Dreams - cover

Venus of Dreams

Pamela Sargent

Publisher: Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy

  • 2
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

The first adventure in the Nebula Award–winning author’s “masterful SF trilogy” about the attempted colonization and terraforming of the planet Venus (Publishers Weekly). Iris Angharads, a determined, independent woman, sets herself one massive goal: to make the poison‑filled atmosphere of Venus hospitable to humans. She works day and night to realize her dream, with only one person sharing her passion, Liang Chen. It seems impossible to make Venus, with its intolerable air and waterless environment, into a paradise, but Iris succeeds. And in doing so, she also creates a powerful dynasty, beginning with her first born, Benzi Liangharad.
Available since: 04/01/2014.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Sky People - cover

    The Sky People

    S. M. Stirling

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Marc Vitrac was born in Louisiana in the early 1960's, about the time the first interplanetary probes delivered the news that Mars and Venus were teeming with life—even human life. At that point, the "Space Race" became the central preoccupation of the great powers of the world. 
    Now, in 1988, Marc has been assigned to Jamestown, the US-Commonwealth base on Venus, near the great Venusian city of Kartahown. Set in a countryside swarming with sabertooths and dinosaurs, Jamestown is home to a small band of American and allied scientist-adventurers. 
    But there are flies in this ointment—and not only the Venusian dragonflies, with their yard-wide wings. The biologists studying Venus's life are puzzled by the way it not only resembles that on Earth, but is virtually identical to it. The EastBloc has its own base at Cosmograd, in the highlands to the south, and relations are frosty. And attractive young geologist Cynthia Whitlock seems impervious to Marc's Cajun charm. 
    Meanwhile, at the western end of the continent, Teesa of the Cloud Mountain People leads her tribe in a conflict with the Neanderthal-like beastmen who have seized her folk's sacred caves. Then an EastBloc shuttle crashes nearby, and the beastmen acquire new knowledge... and AK47's. 
    Jamestown sends its long-range blimp to rescue the downed EastBloc cosmonauts, little suspecting that the answer to the jungle planet's mysteries may lie there, among tribal conflicts and traces of a power that made Earth's vaunted science seem as primitive as the tribesfolk's blowguns. As if that weren't enough, there's an enemy agent on board the airship...  
    Extravagant and effervescent, The Sky People is alternate-history SF adventure at its best.
    Show book
  • Galactic Pot-Healer - cover

    Galactic Pot-Healer

    Philip K. Dick

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Sometimes even gods need help. In Galactic Pot-Healer that god is an alien creature known as the Glimmung, which looks alternately like a flaming wheel, a teenage girl, and a swirling mass of ocean life. In order to raise a sunken city, he summons beings from across the galaxy to Plowman's Planet. Joe Fernwright is one of those summoned, needed for his skills at pot-healing - repairing broken ceramics. But from the moment Joe arrives on Plowman's Planet, things start to go awry. Is the Glimmung good or evil? Are Joe and his friends helping to save Plowman's Planet or destroy it? Told as only Philip K. Dick can, Galactic Pot-Healer is a wildly funny tale of aliens, gods, and ceramics.
    Show book
  • Frankenstein - cover

    Frankenstein

    Mary Shelley

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Eager science student Victor Frankenstein uses body parts of the dead to bring a creature to life. Although initially excited that his experiment is a success, Frankenstein becomes horrified at the grotesque being that stands before him and flees. Angered by the rejection, The Monster retaliates by taking the lives of those dearest to Frankenstein. The decision to play God torments both Frankenstein and The Monster he created until the end of their days.
    Show book
  • Replay - cover

    Replay

    Ken Grimwood

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A time-travel classic in the tradition of Jack Finney's Time and Again, Ken Grimwood's acclaimed novel Replay asks the provocative question: "What if you could live your life over again, knowing the mistakes you'd made before?" Forty-three-year-old Jeff Winston gets several chances to do just that. Trapped in a tepid marriage and a dead-end job, he dies in 1988 and wakes up to find himself in 1963, at the age of eighteen, staring at his dorm room walls at Emory University. It's all the same...but different: Jeff knows what the future holds. He knows who will win every World Series...every Kentucky Derby...even how to win on Wall Street. The one thing he doesn't know is: Why has he been chosen to replay his life? And how many times must he win-and lose-everything he loves? Winner of the 1988 World Fantasy Award for best novel and published in eleven languages, Replay unravels the answers in a masterful skein that captivates our imagination.
    Show book
  • Mummy's Mask: Empty Graves - Pathfinder Legends Season 2 Chapter 2 - cover

    Mummy's Mask: Empty Graves -...

    Cavan Scott, Crystal Frasier

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The dead are walking. The dead are screaming. The dead are killing.Opening the Necropolis of Wati was a mistake. Undead hordes are streaming from the tombs, causing terror in the streets. Zombies. Ghouls. Mummies. Soon the dead will outnumber the living.Valeros, Ezren, Harsk and Merisiel must find the Mask of the Forgotten Pharaoh. But can they trust anyone – including themselves?©2015 Big Finish Productions (P)2015 Big Finish Productions
    Show book
  • The Suicide Motor Club - cover

    The Suicide Motor Club

    Christopher Buehlman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Remember that car that passed you near midnight on Route 66, doing 105 with its lights off? You wondered where it was going so quickly on that dark, dusty stretch of road, motor roaring, the driver glancing out the window as he blew by. You just saw the founder of the Suicide Motor Club. Be grateful his brake lights never flashed. Be grateful his car was already full. They roam America, littering the highways with smashed cars and bled-out bodies, a gruesome reflection of the unsettled sixties. But to anyone unlucky enough to meet them in the lonely hours of the night, they're just a blurry memory. That is, to all but one . . . Two years ago, they left a witness in the mangled wreck of her family car, her husband dead, her son taken. She remembers their awful faces, despite their tricks and glamours. And she's coming for them-her thirst for vengeance even more powerful than their hunger for blood. On the deserted highways of America, the hunters are about to become the hunted . . .
    Show book