Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Alien Child - cover

Alien Child

Pamela Sargent

Publisher: Open Road Media Teen & Tween

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Alone on Earth, a young girl searches for a new beginning Nita is a child of the Institute. Ever since she can remember, she has roamed its sterile halls, living out her youth in the care of a fur-covered guardian from another world. The Institute’s computers give her everything she could want—except another human to share her life with. Long ago there were people at the Institute, but something happened that wiped them out. As she matures, Nita slowly realizes that she may be the only human being left on Earth—and that the fate of humanity could well lie with her.   Beyond a door marked Authorized Personnel Only is the “cold room,” a laboratory that may hold the key to Nita’s past—and her future. This is where her guardian found her, and it is to this place that Nita must return if she is to learn the secret of the Institute and what has happened to the rest of her kind.
Available since: 05/19/2015.
Print length: 246 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Good Nutrition Habits - cover

    Good Nutrition Habits

    Agnes De Bezenac, Salem De Bezenac

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A children’s poster book with tips on good nutrition. In English and Spanish.
    Show book
  • The Golden Acorn - cover

    The Golden Acorn

    Catherine Cooper

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When Jack Brenin finds a golden acorn lying in the grass little does he know that it is the beginning of a thrilling and magical adventure. Just an ordinary boy, Jack has been chosen for a hugely important task, and enters a world he believed only existed in legend. Full of twists and turns, talking ravens and mischievous Spriggans, The Golden Acorn is a hugely entertaining and exciting tale from a very talented new author. This wonderful story, the first of a five book series, deservedly won the Brit Writers’ Awards 2010 for unpublished writers. Written for children aged 8–11, the Jack Brenin series has garnered a cult following among its young readers. The adventure continues in Glasruhen Gate.
    Show book
  • 乐于助人的 小蜻蜓婷婷 中文 - 英文 The story of Diana the little dragonfly who wants to help everyone Chinese-English le yu zhu re de xiao qing ting teng teng Zhongwen-Yingwen - Number 2 from the books and radio plays series "Ladybird Marie" : 小瓢虫 玛丽 册 2 - cover

    乐于助人的 小蜻蜓婷婷 中文 - 英文 The story of...

    Wolfgang Wilhelm

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The story of Diana, the little dragonfly who wants to help everyone. Chinese-English.
    New release of the classic in Chinese-English! 
    Ladybird Marie is sick. She can no longer paint. Her hands and wings are in splints. Diana, the dragonfly always helps other animals and helps Marie. 
    Will Marie ever paint again? As the summer comes to an end, Diana feels 
    unwell. Now who can help Diana?
    乐于助人的 小蜻蜓婷婷.  中文 - 英文.
    le yu zhu re de xiao qing ting teng teng. Zhongwen - Yingwen.
    小 瓢 虫 玛 丽 很 惆 怅 。 因 为 她 不 能 画 画 。 她 的 手 和 翅 膀 受 了 伤 。
    乐 于 助 人 的 小 蜻 蜓 婷 婷 医 治 好 了 玛 丽 。
    玛 丽 最 终 能 如 愿 以 偿 得 画 好 画 吗 ?
    在 夏 天 即 将 结 束 的 时 候 , 婷 婷 状 况 变 得 很 不 好 。
    Show book
  • The Big Book of Girl Stuff - cover

    The Big Book of Girl Stuff

    Bart King

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    As a middle school teacher, author Bart King listened carefully to the wisdom of his girl students. Along with his five sisters (!), their knowledge made The Big Book of Girl Stuff a classic that Parenting magazine has called “a must-have for girls.”This updated and redesigned edition of The Big Book of Girl Stuff is still loaded with fascinating facts, activities, quotes, games, and insightful information and advice on important topics. This humorous and informative resource is filled with everything a girl needs to know and celebrates all the things that make being a girl so wonderful. And not only is it a perfect handbook for preteens, ’tweens, and teens, but it will delight moms, aunts, and big sisters as well!
    Show book
  • The Stitchers - cover

    The Stitchers

    Lorien Lawrence

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A teenager picks up where her late father left off investigating her peculiar elderly neighbors in this spooky series opener. 
     
    Something strange is happening on Goodie Lane . . . 
     
      
     
    Thirteen-year-old Quinn Parker knows that there’s something off about her neighbors. She calls them “the Oldies” because they’ve lived on Goodie Lane for as long as anyone can remember, but they never seem to age. Are they vampires? Or aliens? Or getting secret experimental surgeries? Or is Quinn’s imagination just running wild again? 
     
    If her dad were still around, he’d believe her. When he was alive, they’d come up with all sorts of theories about the Oldies. Now, Quinn’s determined to keep the investigation going with the help of Mike, her neighbor and maybe-crush. They’ll have to search for clues and follow the mystery wherever it leads—even if it’s to the eerie pond at the end of the street that’s said to have its own sinister secrets. But the Oldies are on to them. And the closer Quinn and Mike get to uncovering the answers, the more they realize just how terrifying the truth may be. 
     
    “What a cool—and wild—ride . . . This is the perfect book for kids to cool off with on a hot day, because the chills come guaranteed,” —Stephen King 
     
    “A truly creepy read, perfect for fans of “Goosebumps” and Stranger Things.” ?School Library Journal 
     
    “Reminiscent of R. L. Stine’s Fear Street series, this first book in the Fright Watch series is spooky and mysterious, and it can be counted on to deliver chills to those braving its pages.” ?Booklist 
     
    “The antagonists are satisfyingly menacing, and Quinn’s struggles—grieving her father’s death, juggling friendships—ground this series opener, giving it a healthy dose of heart.” ?Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Ken Griffey Jr: The Home Run Kid - cover

    Ken Griffey Jr: The Home Run Kid

    Larry Stone

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An easy to read children's book chronicling the exciting career of Ken Griffey, JR.
    Show book