Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
You & Me - A Novel - cover

You & Me - A Novel

Padgett Powell

Publisher: Ecco

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Padgett Powell, author of the acclaimed The Interrogative Mood and “one of the few truly important American writers of our time” (Sam Lipsyte), returns with a hilarious Southern send-up of Samuel Beckett’s classic Waiting for Godot. 
Truly a master of envelope-pushing, post-postmodern American fiction, in a class with Nicholas Baker and Lydia Davis, Powell brilliantly blends the sublime, the trivial, and the oddball in You & Me, as two loquacious gents on a porch discuss all manner of subjects, from the mundane to the spiritual to the downright ridiculous. 
At once outrageously funny and profound, You & Me is yet another brilliant, boundary-bursting masterwork, proving once again that, “there are few writers who understand both the beauty and the absurdity of language as well as Padgett Powell” (Kevin Wilson, author of The Family Fang) and that, “Padgett Powell is one of the best writers in America, and one of the funniest, too” (Ian Frazier). 
You & Me: A Novel won the James Tait Black Prize for Fiction.

Other books that might interest you

  • Fantastic Five - cover

    Fantastic Five

    Rita Schulz

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    These five fantastic tales will take you to planets at the edge of the galaxy, the 18th century with pirates, curses, and adventure, lands where magic thrives, and on a holiday with magical fey faced with a life and death decision about the future of their race. 
    An author of fantastic fiction invite you to share these incredible tales of adventure and magic which you will not want to put down. 
    The five tales are: 
    The Scarlet Curse 
    Spoken Words 
    A Little Old Fashioned 
    The Brownies Holiday 
    In the Land of Dragons
    Show book
  • Unidentified Funny Objects 6 - Unidentified Funny Objects #6 - cover

    Unidentified Funny Objects 6 -...

    Jack Campbell, Alan Dean Foster,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    SCIENCE FICTION, FANTASY, HUMOR 
     
    * Cranky Goblin Cooks 
    * Unscrupulous Chemists 
    * Lecherous Space Pirates 
    * Disagreeable Alien Symbiotes 
    * Soul-Searching Snot Elementals 
     
    The Unidentified Funny Objects series serves an annual dose of funny. zany, and unusual science fiction and fantasy stories. All-new fiction from the genre's top voices! Our sixth volume features a Mad Amos story by Alan Dean Foster, a Harry the Book tale by Mike Resnick, and an Alexander Outland short by Gini Koch. Jim Hines reimagines a Game of Thrones with goblins in it, Ken Liu begs a sentient AI to spare him, and Esther Friesner takes us on a tour of Chelm, complete with dragons and gratuitous footnotes. There are also tales of an interdimensional secret agent, a warrior-writer on a quest from an evil god, a necromancer intent on rehabilitating the image of his profession, and many more. 
     
     
    Show book
  • The Rainbow Abyss - cover

    The Rainbow Abyss

    Barbara Hambly

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An aging wizard and his apprentice venture into a world where magic has died, hoping to save it before the same fate befalls their ownJaldis does not believe it at first. When the old wizard—blind, tongueless, able to see and speak through magic alone—peers into the Void between dimensions, he sees something terrible: a world where magic is dead, and whose inhabitants scream for someone to rescue them. Such a place must be studied, for if it is possible to kill magic, then that terrible fate could threaten his own world, too. With the help of his apprentice, Rhion, the wizard prepares for the treacherous crossing. To make the journey, they must withstand the hatred that their own world has for magic—a powerful force that the ignorant would wipe out if they could. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Barbara Hambly, including rare photos and never-before-seen documents from the author’s personal collection.
    Show book
  • Bared By The Bear Shifter - cover

    Bared By The Bear Shifter

    Angelina White

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Her heart skipped a beat as she saw the lust-filled look in his eyes, barely human...
    
     
    Keith is cocky, arrogant, and always presses his luck. With his looks he's able to get away with it, but when Jenna Green moves out to the remote logging community for work, she does her best to resist his charm.
    
     
    Her best isn't good enough.
    
     
    Beyond his carefree smile, there lies a hidden secret. It's only when Jenna goes out late into the silent, moonlit forest that his secret is revealed - he's a bear shifter, and when he discovers her watching she realizes the reason he needs to keep it a secret - when he changes he becomes a different person. Muscles bulging, hair standing on end, and filled with animalistic lust, Keith wants only one thing.
    
     
    Jenna.
    Show book
  • The Neon Graveyard - The Final Sign of the Zodiac - cover

    The Neon Graveyard - The Final...

    Vicki Pettersson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “Pettersson’s paranormal world is as original as it is compelling.”—Kelley Armstrong 
    “With a kick-ass heroine and characters who blur the line between good and evil, [Pettersson] will have readers panting for more.”—Charlaine Harris, bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse novels 
    Explore the dark supernatural underside of Sin City in The Neon Graveyard—the dramatic conclusion to the dark and terrific New York Times bestselling urban fantasy series by Vicki Pettersson. The sixth and final Sign of the Zodiac, The Neon Graveyard plunges heroine Joanna Archer—heiress, prophesied savior, and former soldier for the Light—into the ultimate battle for the soul of Las Vegas, a secret war for our world that is being waged in the shadows. Fans of Kim Harrison (who calls Pettersson, “a voice that needs to be heard”), Charlaine Harris, Laurell K. Hamilton, Patricia Briggs, and Jeaniene Frost will definitely not want to miss this explosive last confrontation between the forces of Light and Shadow.
    Show book
  • Ratha's Creature - cover

    Ratha's Creature

    Clare Bell

    • 1
    • 26
    • 0
    One brave feline, exiled from her clan, must fight to survive in this PEN Award–winning author’s epic fantasy adventure about a tribe of prehistoric cats. Twenty-five million years in the past, a clan of sentient, prehistoric big cats called “the Named” have their own language, traditions, and law. Led by Meoran, the Named herd horses and deer for food. They keep order and peace, fending off predatory raiders—the UnNamed—from all sides. But, the battle has taken its toll, and the Named are skirting the edge of survival. Much to the displeasure of Meoran, a young female named Ratha discovers a powerful defense against the UnNamed. She calls it “the Red Tongue,” and it is a creature of incredible power. Red Tongue is fire, a force of both life and destruction that must be at once nurtured and tamed. Sensing that Ratha’s mastery of fire threatens his power, Meoran banishes her from the clan. As she travels out amongst the savage UnNamed, Ratha learns about both them and herself. But, her tribe needs her. Can she return? Will the Named survive constant attacks without the Red Tongue? Will the power of the Red Tongue change the clan forever? Acclaimed author Clare Bell crafts a serious coming-of-age story filled with adventure, triumph, and heartbreak. Perfect for readers of Jean M. Auel’s The Clan of the Cave Bear, Ratha’s Creature will have readers hooked and clamoring for more stories of these big, noble cats.  
    Show book