Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Star Commandos - The Star Commandos #1 - cover

Star Commandos - The Star Commandos #1

P.M. Griffin

Publisher: MuseItUp Publishing

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Commando-Colonel Islaen Connor is working undercover to investigate an illegal colony on the planet Vishnu.  Warned by her foremost opponent in the recent galactic War, War Prince and former Arcturian admiral Varn Tarl Sogan, the pair escape ambush and flee into the unexplored wild country beyond the young settlement.  There, as they struggle to survive in a harsh, perilous land, they discover the living terror against which all Vishnu’s other life forms have been forced to adapt.  Their presence unknown by interstellar authorities and, therefore, unsupported, the innocent colonists face certain and gruesome annihilation unless Connor and Sogan can raise the alarm in time and then conquer in the desperate battle they must wage to hold back and defeat a foe that they know to be of nearly elemental power in its hunger-driven determination and inconceivable numbers.

Who read this book also read:

  • Artemis Rising - cover

    Artemis Rising

    Cheri Lasota

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    "Left me breathless and spellbound. I wanted to live inside its pages."  
    --Karen Hooper, Author of Tangled Tides  
     
    What if your name was your destiny? And what if that name foretold a tragic end?  
     
    Eva must accept the tragic fate her mother has chosen for her. But Tristan, the one she loves, has willingly chosen another destiny, a journey fraught with danger and sorrow. Diogo, driven by a mysterious power, will force them further apart if they cannot break the curse of their fates.  
     
    Set against the lush backdrop of 1890s Azores Islands, this YA Historical Fantasy is a seamless blend of two ancient mythologies: Tristan and Isolde & Alpheus and Arethusa.  
     
    A First Place Winner in the Chanticleer Cygnus Awards and E-book Category Finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards, this Historical Fantasy novel is for readers who loved Chelsea Fine's Archers of Avalon series, Megg Jensen's Anathema, and Addison Moore's Celestra series.  
     
    "Compelling, original and lyrically written... unlike anything I've ever read before."  
    --Jessie Harrell, Author of Destined  
     
    "A love story unlike any other."  
    --N. Gemini Sasson, Author of Isabeau
    Show book
  • The People in the Castle - Selected Strange Stories - cover

    The People in the Castle -...

    Joan Aiken

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Praise for Joan Aiken's stories: 
    "Wildly inventive, darkly lyrical, and always surprising . . . should be cherished."—Publishers Weekly 
    "Darkly whimsical stories. . . . Aiken writes with surpassing spirit and alertness, her elegant restraint and dry wit never fail to leave their mark."—Kirkus Reviews 
    "Will appeal to readers of short stories and literary fiction. Highly recommended."—Library Journal 
    "Aiken's pastoral meadows and circus chaos, gothic grotesques and quirky romances . . . have a dream-like quality executed with a brevity and wit that is a testament to her skill as a story-teller."—California Literary Review 
    "Fantasy is combined with magic, myth and adventure to form weird, wonderful and immersive tales."—For Book's Sake 
    Here is the whisper in the night, the dog whose loyalty outlasted death, the creak upstairs, that half-remembered ghost story that won't let you sleep, the sound that raises gooseflesh, the wish you'd checked the lock on the door before dark fell. Here are tales of suspense and the supernatural that will chill, amuse, and exhilarate. Features a new introduction by the late author's daughter, Lizza Aiken. 
    Best known for The Wolves of Willoughby Chase, Joan Aiken (1924–2004) wrote over a hundred books and won the Guardian and Edgar Allan Poe awards. After her first husband's death, she supported her family by copyediting at Argosy magazine and an advertising agency before turning to fiction. She went on to write for Vogue, Good Housekeeping, Vanity Fair, Argosy, Women's Own, and many others. Visit her online at joanaiken.com.
    Show book
  • Dance With The Devil - The Death of a Dream The Birth of a Nightmare - cover

    Dance With The Devil - The Death...

    Kris Lillyman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Dance With The Devil is an epic Hollywood thriller in the crime genre which dispenses blood and justice in equal measure and is yet another of Kris Lillyman's stunning, action packed books.
    The story centres around Maria Liuzzi, a young woman born into a life of privilege; the only daughter of Carlo Liuzzi - hugely successful boss of Gold Star Pictures and former mob enforcer.
    But Maria commits the ultimate of Hollywood crimes when she becomes pregnant by a young man whom her father believes unworthy of her.
    Insane with anger, Carlo murders Maria's lover and forcibly separates her from her baby, banishing them both abroad where they are destined to live forever apart.
    Yet neither Maria or her young child make it to their respective destinations and what follows is their lifelong struggle to find not only each other but also the man who caused them to lose so much.
    This epic mob romance, soaked in the violence of action, spans thirty years; encompassing the golden age of Hollywood, the desperate poverty of Hell's Kitchen and the glamorous high life of Fifth Avenue. A non-stop ride that is guaranteed to keep you gripped right up until its explosive finale.
    Show book
  • TekLab - cover

    TekLab

    William Shatner

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Jake Cardigan tracks a deranged veteran with a taste for killing civil servants A French diplomat is walking alone down a darkened Paris side street, when a killer emerges from the shadows. He stuns the Frenchman, cuts his body into quarters, and leaves a note that reads: “This is for Brazil!” It is the ninth murder in this fashion in the last two months—a string of round-the-world killings that strikes fear into the hearts of all those connected with the bloody Brazilian wars of the past decade. But as private eye Jake Cardigan is about to discover, the culprit is far more treacherous than the average serial killer. As he makes his way through Europe’s seamy corners, Cardigan begins to suspect that the trail of death may lead back to his old nemeses, the drug kingpins known as Teklords. As international peace teeters in the balance, Cardigan must stop the murders or risk being drawn and quartered himself. This ebook features an illustrated biography of William Shatner including rare images and never-before-seen documents from the author’s personal collection.  
    Show book
  • An Oath of Brothers (Book #14 in the Sorcerer's Ring) - cover

    An Oath of Brothers (Book #14 in...

    Morgan Rice

    • 4
    • 16
    • 0
    “THE SORCERER’S RING has all the ingredients for an instant success: plots, counterplots, mystery, valiant knights, and blossoming relationships replete with broken hearts, deception and betrayal. It will keep you entertained for hours, and will satisfy all ages. Recommended for the permanent library of all fantasy readers.”--Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto MattosAN OATH OF BROTHERS is Book #14 in the Bestselling series THE SORCERER'S RING, which begins with A QUEST OF HEROES (book #1)!  In AN OATH OF BROTHERS, Thorgrin and his brothers emerge from the land of the dead, more driven than ever to find Guwayne, and set sail across a hostile sea, leading them to places beyond their wildest dreams. As they come ever-closer to finding Guwayne, they also encounter obstacles unlike ever before, obstacles which will test them to their very limits, which will call on all their training and force them to stand together as one, as brothers. Darius stands up to the Empire, boldly amassing an army as he frees one slave village after the next. Facing off against fortified cities, against an army a thousand times his size, he summons all of his instincts and courage, determined to survive, determined to win, to strive for freedom at any cost, even at the cost of his life.
    Gwendolyn, with no other choice, leads her people into the Great Waste, deeper into the Empire than anyone has ever journeyed, on a quest to find the legendary Second Ring—the last hope for the survival of her people, and the last hope for Darius. Yet along the way she will encounter horrific monsters, worse landscapes, and an insurrection from amidst her own people that even she may not be able to stop. Erec and Alistair sail for the Empire to save their people, and along the way stop at hidden islands, determined to raise an army—even if it means dealing with mercenaries of questionable repute. Godfrey finds himself deep inside the city of Volusia and deep in trouble as his plan goes from bad to worse. Imprisoned, set to be executed, finally, even he can see no way out. Volusia forges a pact with the darkest of sorcerers, and driven to even greater heights, she continues her ascent, conquering all who stand in her way. More powerful than ever, she will take her war all the way to the steps of the Empire Capital—until she is up against the entire Empire army, an army that dwarfs even her own, setting the stage for an epic battle. Will Thorgrin find Guwayne? Will Gwendolyn and her people survive? Will Godfrey escape? Will Erec and Alistair reach the Empire? Will Volusia become the next Empress? Will Darius lead his people to victory? With its sophisticated world-building and characterization, AN OATH OF BROTHERS is an epic tale of friends and lovers, of rivals and suitors, of knights and dragons, of intrigues and political machinations, of coming of age, of broken hearts, of deception, ambition and betrayal. It is a tale of honor and courage, of fate and destiny, of sorcery. It is a fantasy that brings us into a world we will never forget, and which will appeal to all ages and genders. “A spirited fantasy that weaves elements of mystery and intrigue into its story line…. For those seeking meaty fantasy adventures, the protagonists, devices, and action provide a vigorous set of encounters that focus well on Thor's evolution from a dreamy child to a young adult facing impossible odds for survival….Only the beginning of what promises to be an epic young adult series.” Midwest Book Review (D. Donovan, eBook Reviewer)
    Show book
  • Peter Pan - cover

    Peter Pan

    J.m. Barrie, J.M. Barrie

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Peter Pan, or The Boy Who Wouldn't Grow Up and Peter and Wendy are the stage play and novel (respectively) which tell the story of Peter Pan, a mischievous little boy who can fly, and his adventures on the island of Neverland with Wendy Darling and her brothers, the fairy Tinker Bell, the Lost Boys, the Indian princess Tiger Lily, and the pirate Captain Hook. The story was written by Scottish playwright and novelist J. M. Barrie, inspired by his friendship with the Llewelyn-Davies family.
    Show book