Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Intrusion of Jimmy - cover

The Intrusion of Jimmy

P. G. Wodehouse

Publisher: Aeterna Classics

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The action begins with playboy bachelor Jimmy Pitt in New York; having fallen in love on a transatlantic liner, he befriends a small-time burglar and breaks into a police captain's house as a result of a bet. The cast of characters head to England, and from there on it's a typically Wodehousian romantic farce, set at the stately Dreever Castle, overflowing with imposters, detectives, crooks, scheming lovers and conniving aunts.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Herald Diary - Somebunny Loves You - cover

    The Herald Diary - Somebunny...

    Ken Smith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    So what did Scots have to smile about this year? When they watched Britain voting for Brexit, when they heard the constant arguments about independence, and when they saw a strangely coiffed son of a Scotswoman become President of the United States, they turned to their usual survival technique – they laughed. 
    When they saw Rangers stumble on their road back to the top, a Scot, Andy Murray, becoming a top world sportsman, and a Scottish horse winning the Grand National, they naturally made a joke or two. And in their quieter moments they recalled the patter of street traders, how they still cannot fathom the opposite sex, and why we all go mad at the first sign of sunshine. 
    All these and more made up The Herald’s funniest stories of the year, published every day in the newspaper’s ‘Diary’ column. And now the very best have been gathered here for you to enjoy all over again.
    Show book
  • 3000 Jokes 2997 Laughs - cover

    3000 Jokes 2997 Laughs

    Mike Haskins

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An enormous collection of over 3,000 side-splitting jokes for every occasion.
    
    Jokes range from quick-fire one-liners and observations to rambling yarns, and from the classic to the modern. This book contains quips for every occasion, from the best man’s speech to the sales conference to the children’s party, or just for swapping around the pub table, and it’s arranged by subject matter so it’s easy to find just the right joke.
    
    This hilarious book will appeal both to people who want to find a specific joke for a specific event, and to anyone who wants to settle down in an armchair and have a good old laugh.
    
    Jokes include:
    
    • What do you call a magic dog? A Labracadabrador.
    
    • What’s the best thing about Switzerland? I don’t know, but their flag is a huge plus.
    
    • What did the slug say to the snail? ‘Big Issue?’
    Show book
  • Little Bitty Lies - A Novel - cover

    Little Bitty Lies - A Novel

    Mary Kay Andrews

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    “A delightful and hilarious tale.”—Chattanooga Times Free Press 
    “Little white lies have never been so risky—or so much fun.”—Orlando Sentinel 
    New York Times bestselling author Mary Kay Andrews delivers another treasure of a comic novel. Little Bitty Lies is a tantalizing tale about an abandoned Atlanta housewife and mother who tells one tiny white lie that sets her world spiraling outrageously out of control. This winning and wonderful romp focuses on about all the important things in life: marriage and divorce, mothers and daughters, friendship and betrayal. Throw in small town secrets, one woman’s lifelong quest for home, and the perfect chicken salad recipe, and you have an ideal escape for fans of Fannie Flagg, Jennifer Crusie, Adriana Trigiani, Emily Giffin, and the Sweet Potato Queens. No lie!
    Show book
  • Russell Howard: The Good News Bad News - The Biography - cover

    Russell Howard: The Good News...

    Abi Smith

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Good news, Russell Howard fans! 
    It's time to take a butcher's into the mad, rib-tickling, insane yet lovable world of the one of the UK's favourite comedians. 
    Abi Smith heads deep into the West Country to discover how people from as far as Midsomer Norton, Somerset to Minneapolis, USA fell in love with this energetic, mesmerising, boyishly blond Bristolian. 
    How exactly has Russell, the kid who used to sleep with his underpants on his head in an effort to cure his acne, become the geezer who is now headlining shows at the O2 Arena, Wembley and the Royal Albert Hall? 
    How has the timid boy who wouldn't speak at family gatherings because he was too shy become a TV panel-show heavyweight? 
    How has the teen who wore his jeans back-to-front because he thought he looked like a cool rapper become an award-winning stand-up with a string of worldwide sell-out tours to his name? 
    He might describe himself as the 'munter' of all his friends with his wonky teeth and lazy eye, but there is something rather special about this good-natured, good-fun dude whose favourite topics of stand-up quite often include his mother's hilarious antics. 
    One things for sure, he might have been bullied at school, had haircuts from hell and missed out on a career as a footballer but he is certainly having the last laugh now - and we are in the front row laughing out-loud with him.
    Show book
  • Monsters You Should Know - cover

    Monsters You Should Know

    Emma SanCartier

    • 2
    • 40
    • 0
    Meet the world's most unusual monsters in this darkly funny collection of creatures and cryptids from folkloric history. Illustrator Emma SanCartier captures the bizarre and hilarious elements of 17 monsters from around the world in a light, tongue-in-cheek tone, from the Japanese dream-eater Baku and the Persian carnivorous unicorn Shadhavar to the Eastern-European Shurale, a literal tickle monster. Illustrated in lush watercolor, Monsters You Should Know is a perfect primer for the many strange, frightening, and compelling things that go bump in the night.
    Show book
  • Please Don't Eat the Daisies - cover

    Please Don't Eat the Daisies

    Jean Kerr

    • 0
    • 16
    • 1
    The “refreshing . . . laugh-out-loud” #1 New York Times bestseller about life in the suburbs that was adapted into a classic film comedy (Kirkus Reviews).   One day, Tony Award–winning playwright Jean Kerr packed up her four kids (and husband, Walter, one of Broadway’s sharpest critics), and left New York City. They moved to a faraway part of the world that promised a grassy utopia where daisies grew wild and homes were described as neo-gingerbread. In this collection of “wryly observant” essays, Kerr chronicles her new life in this strange land called Larchmont (TheWashington Post).   It sounds like bliss—no more cramped apartments and nightmarish after-theater cocktail parties where the martinis were never dry enough. Now she has her very own washer/dryer, a garden, choice seats at the hottest new third-grade school plays (low overhead but they’ll never recoup their losses), and a fresh new kind of lunacy.   In Please Don’t Eat the Daisies “Jean Kerr cooks with laughing gas” as she explores the everyday absurdities, anxieties, and joys of marriage, family, friends, home decorating, and maintaining a career—but this time with a garage! (Time).
    Show book