"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Something New - cover

Something New

P. G. Wodehouse

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In this classic satire of English gentry and their servants, romantic intrigue collides with the hunt for a stolen artifact at a lord’s country house.   When struggling author Ashe Marson and former chorus girl Joan Valentine decide to make a fresh start of their lives, they don’t expect to meet again at Blandings Castle—each under an assumed identity, hoping to find a priceless stolen scarab. Posing as servants to various guests, they decide to team up rather than compete. But their covert search is child’s play compared to the complicated etiquette of a lord’s domestic staff, let alone the intricate intrigues of the families they serve.   With the earl’s son Freddie engaged to the daughter of an American millionaire, a fixer has been hired to recover compromising love letters Freddie once sent to a chorus girl named Joan. But Freddie’s soon-to-be father-in-law has an embarrassing secret of his own: he accidentally pocketed one of the earl’s prized scarabs while on a tour of the house. The ensuing ruckus will shuffle the fates and fortunes of all involved before two lovers may unite in this uproarious comedy of manners by the beloved master of British farce.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lucky Dress - The perfect feel-good romance for 2020 - cover

    The Lucky Dress - The perfect...

    Aimee Brown

    • 4
    • 41
    • 0
    We all have our lucky dress... an irresistibly hilarious rom-com! 
     
    Emi Harrison hasn't been feeling particularly lucky lately. Ever since her ex-fiancée, Jack Cabot, successfully shattered her heart into a million pieces. She's managed to avoid him for a whole year, but all that's about to change at her brother Evan's wedding... 
     
    She will have to face Jack, Jack's sister, Jack's parents, and Jack's new girlfriend: a mean girl that just won't quit. What could possibly go wrong? 
     
    With her lucky dress on, all bets are off, and maybe Emi will find her happily-ever-after at last? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Jo Watson and Sophie Kinsella. 
     
    Praise for The Lucky Dress: 
     
    'One of my favorite books this year, maybe even ever' Michelle Harris. 
     
    'I was sucked in from the start and pretty much devoured the book' Nikki Newcomb. 
     
    'Perfect beach reading book' Danielle Dobson. 
     
    'Funny, relatable story' Erin Butler. 
     
    'I enjoyed this frothy, funny rom-com and read it in one sitting. Perfect beach read!' Amanda Driver.
    Show book
  • I Am A Cat - cover

    I Am A Cat

    Aiko Ito, Natsume Soseki

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    "A nonchalant string of anecdotes and wisecracks, told by a fellow who doesn't have a name, and has never caught a mouse, and isn't much good for anything except watching human beings in action…" —The New Yorker Written over the course of 1904-1906, Soseki Natsume's comic masterpiece, I Am a Cat, satirizes the foolishness of upper-middle-class Japanese society during the Meiji era. With acerbic wit and sardonic perspective, it follows the whimsical adventures of a world-weary stray kitten who comments on the follies and foibles of the people around him. A classic of Japanese literature, I Am a Cat is one of Soseki's best-known novels. Considered by many as the greatest writer in modern Japanese history, Soseki's I Am a Cat is a classic novel sure to be enjoyed for years to come.
    Show book