Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Vile Desire to Scream - A Novella - cover

The Vile Desire to Scream - A Novella

Oisín McGann

Publisher: Open Road Media Teen & Tween

  • 1
  • 9
  • 0

Summary

The young wife of the most powerful man in Ireland has been kidnapped, and Nate and Gerald must save her—from their own family, if necessary While her husband is away on business, Daisy Wildenstern buys a shape-shifting engimal from the charming adventurer Peter Barnum. The origins of the part-animal, part-machine being are a mystery. Life is cruel in Daisy’s family. Trained from childhood to be merciless predators, the Wildensterns are taught to trust no one—especially not their treacherous relatives. As long as their reputation stays intact, nothing is considered unacceptable on their quest for wealth and power. But Daisy belongs to a new generation of Wildensterns who are determined to defy their elders and live a more honorable life. When Daisy and the engimal go missing, it is of little surprise that most of her family doesn’t seem to care. It’s up to her brother-in-law, Nate, and his cousin Gerald to find Daisy and face her kidnapper, a ruthlessly cunning hunter. With relatives like these, who needs enemies?

Who read this book also read:

  • What A Wonderful World - cover

    What A Wonderful World

    RAJIV TAMBE

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Why is it that only flowers bloom?  What if a duck became an egret? Why do parrots look alike but butterflies are all different? What if sea water turned sweet and rivers became salty?  These wonderful questions which bubble in the curious minds of children, may not have ready or obvious answers and can at times try the patience of a teacher of parent. They spring from developing powers of observation and supple imagination, and an effort to provide inherent logic to the scheme of things that dominate the world of adults. As parents and teachers, we need to understand and match the answers to the questions which emerge from free minds and unadulterated observation. Then adults too, can share these wonderful constructs, which are in fact, the ïtruths of wonderland'. What a Wonderful World  provides a generous helping of such truths- to nurture and delight the child in us all.
    Show book
  • Airplanes - A LOOK BOOK Easy Reader - cover

    Airplanes - A LOOK BOOK Easy Reader

    P.J. Harding

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Written and published by P.J. Harding. Another in the 'LOOK BOOK' series - Your child will love this easy reader and brilliant color picture book of airplanes. Each page has a photographic image of all kinds of airplanes from all over the world. The simple text is easily understood by young pre-readers and easy to learn for emerging readers.
    Show book
  • Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard Vol 3 - cover

    Mouse Guard: Legends of the...

    David Petersen, Mark Buckingham,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The third volume in the New York Times bestselling and Eisner Award-winning series, Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard Volume Three features tales written and illustrated by a collection of award-winning and critically acclaimed storytellers personally selected by series creator David Petersen. Once again, patrons at the June Alley Inn are challenged to tell the best Mouse Guard tale, with the winner getting their tab cleared!"...a fun ride." - Comic Book Resources
    Show book
  • The Thief - cover

    The Thief

    Megan Whalen Turner

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    Discover the world of the Queen’s Thief 
    New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin. 
    Eugenides, the queen’s thief, can steal anything—or so he says. When his boasting lands him in prison and the king’s magus invites him on a quest to steal a legendary object, he’s in no position to refuse. The magus thinks he has the right tool for the job, but Gen has plans of his own. The Queen’s Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, “best of” citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen’s Thief. 
    This edition of The Thief includes an exclusive piece by Megan Whalen Turner about her inspiration for the setting of the story, an introduction to the characters from the world of the Queen's Thief, and a map of the world of the Queen's Thief.   
    A Newbery Honor Book 
    An ALA Notable Book 
    A YALSA Best Book for Young Adults 
    A Horn Book Fanfare Book 
    A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age 
    A Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books Blue Ribbon Book 
    A Junior Library Guild Selection 
    “The Queen’s Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner’s books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come.”—Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer 
    "Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail—you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again.”—Leigh Bardugo, New York Times-bestselling author of the The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows 
    “Trust me. Just read it. Then read it again, because it will not be the same river twice.”—Lois McMaster Bujold, acclaimed and Hugo Award-winning author of the Vorkosigan Saga, the Chalion Series, and the Sharing Knife series 
    "In addition to its charismatic hero, this story possesses one of the most valuable treasures of all—a twinkling jewel of a surprise ending." —Publishers Weekly (starred review) 
    “To miss this thief’s story would be a crime.”—Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review) 
    “A literary journey that enriches both its characters and readers before it is over.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) 
    “A tantalizing, suspenseful, exceptionally clever novel.”—The Horn Book (starred review)
    Show book
  • A PACK OF RAGAMUFFINS - An English Children’s Tale - Baba Indaba Children's Stories - Issue 149 - cover

    A PACK OF RAGAMUFFINS - An...

    Anon E. Mouse

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    ISSN: 2397-9607 Issue 149
    In this 149th story in the Baba Indaba’s Children's Stories series, Baba Indaba narrates a tale about a hen, a cock, a duck, a needle, a pin and an inn-keeper who counted his chickens before they’d hatched.……. Download and read this story to find out exactly what happened to the characters in this frivolous tale.
    
    Baba Indaba is a fictitious Zulu storyteller who narrates children's stories from around the world. Baba Indaba translates as "Father of Stories".
    
    Each issue also has a "WHERE IN THE WORLD - LOOK IT UP" section, where young readers are challenged to look up a place on a map somewhere in the world. The place, town or city is relevant to the story, on map. HINT - use Google maps.
    
    33% of the profit from the sale of this book will be donated to charities.
    INCLUDES LINKS TO DOWNLOAD 8 FREE STORIES
     
    Show book
  • The Best Mistake Mystery - The Great Mistake Mysteries - cover

    The Best Mistake Mystery - The...

    Sylvia McNicoll

    • 3
    • 26
    • 0
    Some people count their blessings, but dogwalker Stephen Nobel counts mistakes. 
     
    
    
    Dogwalker extraordinaire Stephen Nobel can get a little anxious, but his habit of counting the mistakes he and everyone else makes calms him. His need to analyze gets kicked into hyperdrive after two crazy events happen in one day at school: the bomb squad blows up a backpack and someone smashes a car into the building. 
     
    
    To make things worse, that someone thinks Stephen can identify them. Stephen  receives a threatening text. If he goes to the police, his favourite dogs, Ping and Pong, will get hurt. The pressure mounts when his new best friend, Renée, begs for Stephen’s help. Her brother has been charged with the crimes and she wants to clear his name. 
     
    
    Is it a mistake to give in to dognappers? How can he possibly save everybody? To find out, Stephen will have to count on all of his new friends.
    Show book