Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Walls Around Us - Special Preview - The First 7 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

The Walls Around Us - Special Preview - The First 7 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Nova Ren Suma

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 3
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW!“Ori’s dead because of what happened out behind the theater, in the tunnel made out of trees. She’s dead because she got sent to that place upstate, locked up with those monsters. And she got sent there because of me.”The Walls Around Us is a ghostly story of suspense told in two voices--one still living and one long dead. On the outside, there’s Violet, an eighteen-year-old dancer days away from the life of her dreams when something threatens to expose the shocking truth of her achievement. On the inside, within the walls of a girls’ juvenile detention center, there’s Amber, locked up for so long she can’t imagine freedom. Tying these two worlds together is Orianna, who holds the key to unlocking all the girls’ darkest mysteries. We hear Amber’s story and Violet’s, and through them Orianna’s, first from one angle, then from another, until gradually we begin to get the whole picture--which is not necessarily the one that either Amber or Violet wants us to see. Nova Ren Suma tells a supernatural tale of guilt and innocence, and what happens when one is mistaken for the other. Praise for Imaginary Girls: “A surreal and dreamy world where magical thinking is carried to a chilling extreme.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review Praise for 17 & Gone: “Suma’s exquisite sentence-level writing and fine eye for creepy detail are in abundant evidence.” —Kirkus Reviews

Who read this book also read:

  • Summer and the City - cover

    Summer and the City

    Candace Bushnell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Summer is a magical time in New York City and Carrie is in love with all of it—the crazy characters in her neighborhood, the vintage-clothing boutiques, the wild parties, and the glamorous man who has swept her off her feet. Best of all, she's finally in a real writing class, taking her first steps toward fulfilling her dream.  
    This sequel to The Carrie Diaries brings surprising revelations as Carrie learns to navigate her way around the Big Apple, going from being a country "sparrow"—as Samantha Jones dubs her— to the person she always wanted to be. But as it becomes increasingly difficult to reconcile her past with her future, Carrie realizes that making it in New York is much more complicated than she ever imagined.  
    With her signature wit and sparkling humor, Candace Bushnell reveals the irresistible story of how Carrie met Samantha and Miranda, and what turned a small-town girl into one of New York City's most unforgettable icons, Carrie Bradshaw.
    Show book
  • The Seahorse - cover

    The Seahorse

    Anthony Masters

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When Jamie nearly drowns in a rough sea, his life is saved by a magnificent white Sea Horse with green eyes. One stormy night the Sea Horse comes ashore and is imprisoned in a lonely stable. First published in 1966 this fantasy fixture tells, through the mind of a small boy, the story of Jamie's quest to save the Sea Horse.
    Show book
  • Beastly: Lindy's Diary - cover

    Beastly: Lindy's Diary

    Alex Flinn

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    See the #1 New York Times bestselling story Beastly through Lindy's eyes! This is her diary, kept while living in captivity with the beast. Lindy's Diary captures all the romance and edgy mystery of the original! 
    Diary, 
    I am locked away . . . with no one to confide in but you . . . and him. His fur, those claws—they caught me off guard at first, but now I'm noticing something else about him—something deeper. It's the look in his eye. It tells me he's got a secret to keep. That's okay—I've got one, too. I think I'm falling in love with him. . . . 
    Lindy
    Show book
  • Summer Girls Love Boys - and Other Stories - cover

    Summer Girls Love Boys - and...

    Norma Fox Mazer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Some loves last forever—others, only a summer The summer Mary turns fifteen, she meets an unsuitable boy with an even more unsuitable motorcycle. Who cares if he’s from the wrong side of the tracks? He’s fun, and that’s a risk Mary decides is worth taking.   Before she got married and had three children, Zelda quit college to work in a factory because she thought it would impress her seriously political boyfriend. But it was in the factory that she found a sisterhood and a source of inspiration that would last a lifetime—considerably longer than the boyfriend.   Lillian has lived all her life on Greene Street. She grew up there, got married there, raised two girls who went off to live their lives, and now—at her age!—she has the chance to leave it all behind and find love in sunny Florida. But can she, if it means living without Greene Street?   There are many kinds of love, and you’ll find most of them in this collection of short stories by the extraordinary Norma Fox Mazer.  
    Show book
  • The Clock That Lost Its Tick and Other Tales - cover

    The Clock That Lost Its Tick and...

    Terry H. Watson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Look inside this little book, meet new friends and enjoy their adventures.
    
     
    Discover why jelly ran away. Find out why Sarah was upset at Christmas time. Enjoy grandpa’s antics.Travel with Baby Dyno to a Scottish loch. Meet Freddie’s mysterious friend and find out why Rosie is unhappy.
    
     
    All this and more await you as you turn the pages of The Clock that Lost its Tick, and Other Tales.
    
     
    Enjoy the read!
    Show book
  • Eat Brains Love - cover

    Eat Brains Love

    Jeff Hart

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A laugh-out-loud funny, surprisingly romantic, zombie road trip novel filled with heart—and brains. Eat, Brains, Love is perfect for fans of Isaac Marion's Warm Bodies. 
    The good news: Jake's dream girl, Amanda Blake, finally knows his name. 
    The bad news: it's because they both contracted a mysterious zombie virus and devoured the brains of half their senior class. Now Jake and Amanda are on the run from Cass, a teen psychic sent by the government's top-secret Necrotic Control Division to track them down. As Jake and Amanda deal with the existential guilt of eating their best friends and set off in search of a cure for the zombie virus, Cass struggles with a growing psychic dilemma of her own—one that will lead all three of them on an epic journey across the country and make them question what it means to truly be alive. Or undead.
    Show book