Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Tomb in Seville - Crossing Spain on the Brink of Civil War - cover

The Tomb in Seville - Crossing Spain on the Brink of Civil War

Norman Lewis

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

An account by “the finest travel writer of the last century” of his journey through 1930s Spain in search of an ancestral tomb (The New Yorker). In the 1930s, Norman Lewis and his brother-in-law, Eugene Corvaja, journeyed to Spain to visit the family’s ancestral tomb in Seville. Seventy years later, with evocative and engrossing prose, Lewis recounts the trip, taken on the brink of the Spanish Civil War. Witnesses to the changing political climate and culture, Lewis and Corvaja travel through the countryside from Madrid to Seville by bus, car, train, and on foot, encountering many surprises along the way. Dodging the skirmishes that will later erupt into war, they immerse themselves in the local culture and landscape, marveling at the many enchantments of Spain during this pivotal time in its history.

Who read this book also read:

  • Marlborough: His Life and Times Volume I - cover

    Marlborough: His Life and Times...

    Winston S. Churchill

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    In the first volume of an ambitious and stunningly-written four-volume biography, Sir Winston Churchill discusses the early career and stratospheric rise to fortune of his illustrious ancestor. John Churchill, the Duke of Marlborough, may have been eclipsed in history by his more well-known descendant. But in his time, Marlborough was considered one of England’s foremost military leaders. 
    The first installment pays particular attention to personal details of Marlborough’s life, and the important role several women played in his success—including his sister, his wife, the Duchess of Cleveland, and Queen Anne herself. Sir Winston Churchill breathes life into these personal connections in an attempt to showcase Marlborough not only as a luminary figure in British history, but also to bring him to life once again in the mind of the reader.
    Show book
  • Conversations With Jerry Hicks - cover

    Conversations With Jerry Hicks

    Ronald Ritter, Sussan Evermore

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Jerry Hicks was Esther's Hicks husband and business partner who sadly passed away on the 22nd November 2011. Their success with books, workshops and seminars was never in question and they were the inspiration behind the highly successful book and film 'The Secret'.
    
    Through Sussan's open channel, we have achieved a direct connection to Jerry and present an unbiased brief view of his life. There were questions I asked and in turn Jerry responded candidly. 
    
    We talked about his life before Esther, his time in Cuba with a travelling sideshow and his death from Leukemia. 
    Jerry speaks clearly about his passing from Leukemia and chemotherapy treatment. So why or how did this happen to him of all people? 
    
    So join us as we take a step through the looking glass to meet Jerry Hicks. 
    
    Ronald Ritter
    Show book
  • What Did I Do Last Night? - A Drunkard's Tale - cover

    What Did I Do Last Night? - A...

    Tom Sykes

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Tom Sykes landed his dream job as the New York Post's bar columnist and nightlife reporter, he turned his long-standing drinking problem into a vocation. His memoir is a funny, thrilling, and ruthlessly honest exhumation of his drinking life and a candid account of his first 90 days without alcohol.
     
    Tom traces his alcoholism back to his British boyhood at Eton College, England's oldest and most exclusive boarding school, where the boys had to wear tail suits to class and there was a school pub. He delves into his aristocratic family's well-documented fondness for the bottle and covers his own drinking apprenticeship as a trainee journalist on London's famously alcohol-sodden newspapers.
     
    Whether he is getting arrested for drunk driving at the age of 15, climbing naked into his friends' and colleagues' beds, or simply trying to file an emergency front-page update while reeling from a cocktail of Ecstacy and magic mushrooms, Tom takes the reader on an addictive journey into the insanity of intoxication--all too often followed by a mossy tongue, a dull headache, and one burning question: "What the hell did I do last night?"
    Show book
  • The Truth About Muhammad - Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion - cover

    The Truth About Muhammad -...

    Robert Spencer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Muhammad: a frank look at his influential (and violent) life and teachingsIn The Truth about Muhammad, New York Times bestselling author and Islam expert Robert Spencer offers an honest and telling portrait of the founder of Islam-perhaps the first such portrait in half a century-unbounded by fear and political correctness, unflinching, and willing to face the hard facts about Muhammad's life that continue to affect our world today.From Muhammad's first "revelation" from Allah (which filled him with terror that he was demonpossessed) to his deathbed (from which he called down curses upon Jews and Christians), it's all here-told with extensive documentation from the sources that Muslims themselves consider most reliable about Muhammad.Spencer details Muhammad's development from a preacher of hellfire and damnation into a political and military leader who expanded his rule by force of arms, promising his warriors luridly physical delights in Paradise if they were killed in his cause. He explains how the Qur'an's teaching on warfare against unbelievers developed-with constant war to establish the hegemony of Islamic law as the last stage.Spencer also gives the truth about Muhammad's convenient "revelations" justifying his own licentiousness; his joy in the brutal murders of his enemies; and above all, his clear marching orders to his followers to convert non-Muslims to Islam-or force them to live as inferiors under Islamic rule.In The Truth about Muhammad, you'll learn- The truth about Muhammad's multiple marriages (including one to a nine-year-old) - How Muhammad set legal standards that make it virtually impossible to prove rape in Islamic countries - How Muhammad's example justifies jihad and terrorism - The real "Satanic verses" incident (not the Salman Rushdie version) that remains a scandal to Muslims - How Muhammad's faulty knowledge of Judaism and Christianity has influenced Islamic theology--and colored Muslim relations with Jews and Christians to this day.Recognizing the true nature of Islam, Spencer argues, is essential for judging the prospects for largescale Islamic reform, the effective prosecution of the War on Terror, the democracy project in Afghanistan and Iraq, and immigration and border control to protect the United States from terrorism.All of which makes it crucial for every citizen (and policymaker) who loves freedom to read and ponder The Truth about Muhammad
    Show book
  • The Good Nurse - A True Story of Medicine Madness and Murder - cover

    The Good Nurse - A True Story of...

    Charles Graeber

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    '...aside from the murders , Charles Cullen might have been a pretty good nurse...'The true story of the most prolific serial killer in US history, The Good Nurse is 'a stunning book... that should and does bring to mind In Cold Blood'  New York TimesAfter his December 2003 arrest, registered nurse Charlie Cullen was  quickly  dubbed 'The Angel of Death' by the media. But Cullen was no  mercy killer, nor  was he a simple monster. He was a favourite son,  husband, beloved father, best  friend, and celebrated caregiver.  Implicated in the deaths of as many as 300  patients, he was also  perhaps the most prolific serial killer in American  history.  Cullen's  murderous career in the world's most trusted profession spanned  sixteen  years and nine hospitals across New Jersey and Pennsylvania.  
      Investigative journalist Charles Graeber's portrait of Cullen depicts a  surprisingly intelligent and  complicated young man whose promising  career was overwhelmed by his compulsion  to kill, and whose shy  demeanor masked a twisted interior life hidden even to  his family and  friends. Were it not for the hardboiled, unrelenting work of two  former  Newark homicide detectives racing to put together the pieces of  Cullen's  professional past, and a fellow nurse willing to put  everything at risk,  including her job and the safety of her children,  there's no telling how many  more lives could have been lost. 
     In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Good Nurse  does more than  chronicle Cullen's deadly career and the breathless  efforts to stop him; it  paints an incredibly vivid portrait of madness  and offers an urgent, terrifying tale of murder, friendship and  betrayal.
    Show book
  • Female Force: Mother Teresa- A Graphic Novel - cover

    Female Force: Mother Teresa- A...

    Watami

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Mother Teresa of Calcutta was a Roman Catholic nun, founder of the Missionaries of Charity, and receipient of the 1979 Nobel Peace Prize in recognition of her humanitarian work. This graphic adaptation reveals the true story about her love, her service, and her dedication.
    Show book