If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Pluton's Pyre - Evolution of a Demon - cover

Pluton's Pyre - Evolution of a Demon

Nitin Kulkarni, Gyandeep Kaushal

Publisher: Bloomsbury India

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Suraj is a boy in love. He has lost his mother, has a father who is on-and-off concerned with his future, and an adoring grandfather. Circumstances force him to change schools and he fails to find the bonhomie he enjoyed in his last one. 
His affections are spurned by a girl in the new school-as boys will in the course of their young lives-but he takes the rejection to heart. 
A little older, Suraj falls in love again, and this time has reason to believe that his passion is returned. 
Then he his heartlessly turned away again. His humiliation, he believes, is complete. 
Urged by his never-say-die grandfather, he agrees to an arranged marriage. His bride is a sweet-natured thing, and caring of him and their daughter, and for a while, their lives are smooth and predictable. 
So predictable that when Suraj discovers what he thought was his blameless wife in a clandestine meeting with her lover, his world collapses in wild anger around him. 
Robbed of self-belief and pride, and aflame with a lust to reassert his power over women, he carefully hunts out the first of his persecutors and cruelly rapes her. 
Finding himself grappled by the forces of the law, he is condemned to be hanged to death-a fate he agrees befits the 'losers' of the world. 
Authors Gyandeep Kaushal and Nitin Kulkarni present a tale simply told, but which underscores the question that has plagued bio-genetics over the years: Is a rapist born, or shaped by events around him? 
Is there anything, in short, as a 'rape gene'? 
The jury is out on that one, and the writers circumspectly leave them where they are.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 5
    • 63
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • Tono-Bungay - cover

    Tono-Bungay

    H. G. Wells

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    H.G. Wells was a legendary British author who wrote in many genres.  Wells’ most famous works were science fiction novels such as The War of the Worlds, The Time Machine, and The Invisible Man.  This edition of Wells’ Tono-Bungay includes a table of contents.
    Show book
  • The Alchemist - cover

    The Alchemist

    Paulo Coelho

    • 28
    • 891
    • 1
    A special 25th anniversary edition of the extraordinary international bestseller, including a new Foreword by Paulo Coelho. 
    Combining magic, mysticism, wisdom and wonder into an inspiring tale of self-discovery, The Alchemist has become a modern classic, selling millions of copies around the world and transforming the lives of countless readers across generations. 
    Paulo Coelho's masterpiece tells the mystical story of Santiago, an Andalusian shepherd boy who yearns to travel in search of a worldly treasure. His quest will lead him to riches far different—and far more satisfying—than he ever imagined. Santiago's journey teaches us about the essential wisdom of listening to our hearts, of recognizing opportunity and learning to read the omens strewn along life's path, and, most importantly, to follow our dreams.
    Show book
  • No Mardi Gras for the Dead - cover

    No Mardi Gras for the Dead

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    A medical examiner and a psychologist once again make a “formidable team” in this mystery set in colorful New Orleans (The Washington Times).   Criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn feels like she’s been spinning her wheels in both life and career. She gets a lift from her malaise when she moves into a new home with a garden—and then a jolt when, in that garden, she discovers human remains.   Along with the unconventional and ever-cheerful chief medical examiner Andy Broussard, Franklyn sets out to close a case that’s well beyond cold. They identify the body as a streetwalker who vanished almost thirty years ago. But her death may be connected to a pair of recent killings . . . and a murderer who’s out to bury the past for good.   With an irresistible Big Easy attitude and a hard-to-crack mystery, “Donaldson’s genre gumbo keeps you coming back for more” (Booklist).   “Likable, modern protagonists, abundant forensic lore and vivid depictions of colorful New Orleans and its denizens.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Sissy Landlord - Dominated and Forced Feminised by his Young Tenant & Her Friends - cover

    Sissy Landlord - Dominated and...

    Anonymous

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    He should never have gone into Kerry’s bedroom; but curiosity got the better of him. A weakness that had cost him dearly.
     
    When a young and elegant female colleague comes to rent a room in his flat, Stephen Williamson can’t wait to rummage through her lingerie and try them on. Kerry Carfax is oblivious to the fact her landlord secretly dresses in his tenants’ panties and bra and is unaware he is a closet sissy with fantasies of being humiliated by young, sexy women. His obsession extends to a spying on a long back catalogue of female tenants but he has never taken the plunge to ask any of them out or even to consider confessing his proclivities of cross-dressing or female BDSM. Will Stephen take the leap and realise his deep fantasies could become a reality in the presence of this young strong-willed woman and her friends? Will he ask her to be his Sissy Mistress or will he return to his life of watching and fantasising? Possibly he may have no choice. Read ‘Sissy Landlord’ and find out, now.
     
    A story of young domme female superiority, blackmail and forced feminisation approximately 6000 words long.
    Show book
  • The White Lioness - A Mystery - cover

    The White Lioness - A Mystery

    Henning Mankell

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A small-town murder leads to international intrigue in this “first-class thriller” from the New York Times–bestselling master of Scandinavian crime (The New York Times Book Review).   Inspector Kurt Wallander returns in the second of Henning Mankell’s award-winning, internationally-bestselling detective novels, this time to investigate the execution-style killing of a Swedish housewife. The local police focus on a determined stalker who’s suddenly nowhere to be found, but when they finally catch up with their prime suspect his alibi turns out to be airtight.   Digging deeper, Wallander discovers that the woman’s death is more complex and dangerous than a crime of passion. His search for the truth takes him far from home and into the murky world of apartheid-era South Africa, where he uncovers a sinister assassination plot. Soon the small-town detective finds himself in a high-stakes tangle with the South African secret service and a ruthless ex-KGB agent.   Combining heart-pounding suspense with probing social commentary, The White Lioness is an essential chapter in the addictive mystery series that inspired the hit TV show Wallander starring Kenneth Branagh. “It is not hard to see why the Wallander books have made such an impact” (Times Literary Supplement).
    Show book