As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Pluton's Pyre - Evolution of a Demon - cover

Pluton's Pyre - Evolution of a Demon

Nitin Kulkarni, Gyandeep Kaushal

Publisher: Bloomsbury India

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Suraj is a boy in love. He has lost his mother, has a father who is on-and-off concerned with his future, and an adoring grandfather. Circumstances force him to change schools and he fails to find the bonhomie he enjoyed in his last one. 
His affections are spurned by a girl in the new school-as boys will in the course of their young lives-but he takes the rejection to heart. 
A little older, Suraj falls in love again, and this time has reason to believe that his passion is returned. 
Then he his heartlessly turned away again. His humiliation, he believes, is complete. 
Urged by his never-say-die grandfather, he agrees to an arranged marriage. His bride is a sweet-natured thing, and caring of him and their daughter, and for a while, their lives are smooth and predictable. 
So predictable that when Suraj discovers what he thought was his blameless wife in a clandestine meeting with her lover, his world collapses in wild anger around him. 
Robbed of self-belief and pride, and aflame with a lust to reassert his power over women, he carefully hunts out the first of his persecutors and cruelly rapes her. 
Finding himself grappled by the forces of the law, he is condemned to be hanged to death-a fate he agrees befits the 'losers' of the world. 
Authors Gyandeep Kaushal and Nitin Kulkarni present a tale simply told, but which underscores the question that has plagued bio-genetics over the years: Is a rapist born, or shaped by events around him? 
Is there anything, in short, as a 'rape gene'? 
The jury is out on that one, and the writers circumspectly leave them where they are.

Other books that might interest you

  • Single White Vampire - cover

    Single White Vampire

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 21
    • 0
    “[Sands’s] trademark humor and genuine characters…keep her series fresh and her readers hooked.”—Publishers Weekly The third book in her phenomenal Argeneau vampire series, Single White Vampire by the incomparable Lynsay Sands is an unadulterated delight! This paranormal romance classic follows the romantic adventures of a dark and handsome immortal who writes paranormal romances, and who’d love to sink his teeth into his sexy new editor. When it comes to red hot vampire love stories, New York Times and USA Today bestseller Lynsay Sands is Queen of the Night!
    Show book
  • Inspector Ghote Caught in Meshes - cover

    Inspector Ghote Caught in Meshes

    H. R. F. Keating

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Inspector Ghote, ‘one of the great creations of detective fiction’ (Alexander McCall Smith), investigates a highway robbery and finds himself unexpectedly enmeshed in a world of espionage and intrigue in this classic mystery – with a brand-new introduction by bestselling author Vaseem Khan.
    
    When an American visitor to India is killed on the lonely, dusty road between Poona and Bombay, it seems like a classic case of highway robbery. But what Inspector Ghote of the Bombay CID learns from the victim’s brother – the distinguished hydrology professor, Gregory Strongbow – soon makes him suspect that everything is not as it first appeared.
    
    Professor Strongbow is convinced that his brother, a prominent member of the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament, was assassinated – and Inspector Ghote is inclined to agree. But convincing his boss, the irritable Deputy Superintendent Samant, is only his first challenge, in a case that quickly enmeshes the good detective in a world of espionage and intrigue. Soon, Ghote finds his own life in danger, as he is faced with a conspiracy that reaches to the very highest level of Indian politics . . .
    Show book
  • Dark Queen Waiting - cover

    Dark Queen Waiting

    Paul Doherty

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Christopher Urswicke must unmask the traitor lurking amongst Margaret Beaufort’s supposedly loyal followers in this gripping medieval mystery.
    October, 1471. Edward IV sits on the English throne; the House of York reigns supreme. With her young son, Henry Tudor, in exile in France, Margaret Beaufort, Countess of Richmond, shelters deep in the shadows, secretly plotting for the day when Henry can be crowned the rightful king.
    But as her supporters are picked off one by one, it becomes clear that a traitor lurks within Margaret’s household. When one of her most loyal henchmen, Jacob Cromart, is murdered in St Michael’s Church, where he had claimed sanctuary, Margaret orders her sharp-witted clerk, Christopher Urswicke, to find out who has betrayed her.
    How could a man be killed inside a church where the doors are all locked, with no sign of an intruder or weapon?  If he is to protect Margaret’s remaining supporters from suffering a similar fate, Urswicke must solve a baffling mystery where nothing is as it first appears.
    Show book
  • The Lady Is a Vamp - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    The Lady Is a Vamp - An Argeneau...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 5
    • 35
    • 0
    “Lynsay Sands writes books that keep readers coming back for more.”—Katie MacAlister, USA Today Bestselling Author 
    “Take a bite into a fresh, fun vampire comedy ... read Lynsay Sands!”—Carly Phillips, New York Times Bestselling Author 
    The Argeneau’s are hungry for love—and Lynsay Sands’s bestselling paranormal romance series starring the enormously popular vampire family is hotter than ever! In this New York Times and USA Today bestselling author’s spicy-sweet sixteenth Argeneau novel, the lady is a gorgeous vampire enchantress who finds herself kidnapped by one desperate—and devastatingly handsome—man. The Lady is a Vamp is Lynsay at her best—and fans of the hit HBO series True Blood, as well as the Charlaine Harris Sookie Stackhouse novels it’s based on, will eagerly drink in every tasty drop of this sexy, suspenseful paranormal winner.
    Show book
  • A Melanie Dickerson Collection II - The Silent Songbird and The Noble Servant - cover

    A Melanie Dickerson Collection...

    Melanie Dickerson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Two novels from New York Times bestselling author Melanie Dickerson are now available in a low-priced, one-volume e-collection! 
    The Silent Songbird 
    Evangeline is gifted with a heavenly voice, but she is trapped in a sinister betrothal until she embarks on a daring escape and meets brave Westley le Wyse. Can he help her discover the freedom to sing again? More than Evangeline’s future is at stake as she finds herself entangled in a web of intrigue that threatens England’s monarchy. Should she give herself up to protect the only person who cares about her? If she does, who will save the king from a plot to steal his throne? 
    The Noble Servant 
    Magdalen lost everything to the scheme of an evil servant. When a handsome shepherd befriends her, Magdalen and the shepherd uncover a sinister plot. She might just gain what she’s always wanted . . .if she makes it in time. New York Times bestselling author Melanie Dickerson beautifully re-imagines The Goose Girl by the Brothers Grimm into a medieval tale of adventure, loss, and love.
    Show book
  • The Coin of Souls - Dragon Riders of Osnen Book 4 - cover

    The Coin of Souls - Dragon...

    Richard Fierce

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Sometimes death is only the beginning.
     
    The Island of Lost Souls gives Eldwin hope that he’ll see his father again, but the island holds many secrets—and hidden dangers.
     
    As he draws closer to the end of his quest, the island will push him to his limit … and cost him everything.
     
    Fans of Sarah K.L. Wilson’s Dragon School, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern will feel right at home.
     
    The Coin of Souls is the fourth episode of the series Dragon Riders of Osnen.
     
    Dragon Riders of Osnen series:
     
    Book 1: Trial by Sorcery
     
    Book 2: A Bond of Flame
     
    Book 3: The Warrior's Call
     
    Book 4: The Coin of Souls
     
    Book 5: Wings of Terror
    Show book