As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Daughter In Law - A gripping new psychological thriller - cover

The Daughter In Law - A gripping new psychological thriller

Nina Manning

Publisher: Boldwood Books

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

'Compelling and claustrophobic, Nina is an exciting new voice and definitely one to watch' Phoebe Morgan, author of The Girl Next Door'Chilling and creepy. An atmospheric and addictive debut.' Diane Jeffrey, author of The Guilty MotherNo one is good enough for her son…As a single mother, Annie has an especially close relationship with her son, Ben. They have always been together. Just the two of them. So, when Ben brings home his mysterious beautiful new wife, Daisy, immediately Annie doesn’t trust her. Who is this woman who has taken her son away from her? And what is she hiding?She’ll protect him with her life…When Ben disappears, suddenly Annie and Daisy are all the other one has. Alone in Annie’s big, remote house, just the two of them, the tension is rising. And like any protective mother, Annie will stop at nothing to expose her new daughter in law, and the secrets she is hiding…A gripping, psychological page-turner, perfect for fans of Sally Hepworth's The Mother In Law, Lisa Jewell and K.L. Slater.'Totally addictive. I couldn't put it down!' Darren O'Sullivan, author of Closer Than You Think'A claustrophobic, nail-biting thriller that draws you in and doesn't let go.' Naomi Joy, author of The Liars‘Clever, emotionally draining and totally gripping. I absolutely loved this book!’ D E White, author of Remember MeWhat readers are saying about The Daughter In Law:'I give this book 5 Wows!''Absolutely fantastic had me gripped!!! Loved it! Can't wait for more from this author.''5 stars! What a great book!''This did not disappoint. Lots of twists and turns and I loved the ending. Cannot wait to read more from this author.''There is quite a few twistsin this story but the biggest twist is the one at the end and I didn’t have a clue.''A ridiculously good book. I loved every single page and couldn't put it down.''Fantastic, creepy, dark and chilling.''This book was excellent!'Fast paced, with twists and some turns you can see coming this is the perfect beach read.''A page turner that I couldn’t put down!!!' 'I couldn't put it down'

Other books that might interest you

  • Flowers of Mold & Other Stories - cover

    Flowers of Mold & Other Stories

    Seong-nan Ha

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Praised for her meticulous descriptions and ability to transform the mundanity of everyday life into something strange and unexpected, Ha Seong-nan bursts into the English literary scene with this stunning collection that confirms Korea's place at the forefront of contemporary women's writing. From the title story told by a woman suffering from gaps in her memory, to one about a man seeking insight in bags of garbage, to a surreal story about a car salesman and the customer he tries to seduce, The Woman Next Door charms and provokes with an incomparable style.
    Show book
  • Holidays Are Hell - cover

    Holidays Are Hell

    Kim Harrison, Lynsay Sands,...

    • 2
    • 6
    • 0
    This holiday, spend quality time with family and loved ones—living and dead . . . 
    There's no place like home for the horrordays—unless you'd prefer a romantic midnight walk through a ghost-infested graveyard . . . or a haunted house candlelight dinner with the sexy vampire of your dreams. The (black) magical season is here—and whether it's a solstice séance gone demonically wrong with the incomparable Kim Harrison, a grossly misshapen Christmas with the remarkable Lynsay Sands, a blood-chilling-and-spilling New Year's with the wonderful Marjorie M. Liu, or a super-powered Thanksgiving with the phenomenal Vicki Pettersson, one thing is for certain: in the able hands of these exceptional dark side explorers, the holidays are going to be deliciously hellish!
    Show book
  • The Arabian Nights Volume One - cover

    The Arabian Nights Volume One

    Richard Burton

    • 1
    • 21
    • 0
    The first volume of the classic collection of Middle Eastern stories, including “Tale of the Three Apples” and “Tale of the Trader and the Jinni.”   To be chosen by King Shahriyar as a wife was a death sentence. After a single night of marriage, he executed each of his wives. So when Scheherazade was picked, she knew her time on Earth had reached its end—unless she could hold the king’s interest. To that end, each night she spun a new enchanting, erotic, mesmerizing tale, always keeping the king guessing as to its conclusion—and sparing her life for another thousand and one nights.   The first volume of this collection, translated by the renowned British explorer Sir Richard Burton, begins the stories that Scheherazade told . . .
    Show book
  • Bluebeard's First Wife - cover

    Bluebeard's First Wife

    Seong-nan Ha

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Disasters, accidents, and deaths abound in Bluebeard’s First Wife. A woman spends a night with her fiancé and his friends, and overhears a terrible secret that has bound them together since high school. A man grows increasingly agitated by the apartment noise made by a young family living upstairs and arouses the suspicion of his own wife when the neighbors meet a string of unlucky incidents. A couple moves into a picture-perfect country house, but when their new dog is stolen, they become obsessed with finding the thief, and in the process, neglect their child. Ha’s paranoia-inducing, heart-quickening stories will have you reconsidering your own neighbors.
    Show book
  • Lost Girls - Short Stories - cover

    Lost Girls - Short Stories

    Ellen Birkett Morris

    • 0
    • 12
    • 0
    Lost Girls explores the experiences of women and girls as they grieve, find love, face uncertainty, take a stand, find their future, and say goodbye to the past. A young woman creates a ritual to celebrate the life of a kidnapped girl, an unmarried woman wanders into a breast feeder’s support group and stays, a grieving mother finds solace in an unlikely place, a young girl discovers more than she bargained for when she spies on her neighbors. Though they may seem lost, each finds their center as they confront the challenges and expectations of womanhood.
    Show book
  • Lost in the City - cover

    Lost in the City

    Edward P. Jones

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Original and arresting….[Jones’s] stories will touch chords of empathy and recognition in all readers.”—Washington Post 
     “These 14 stories of African-American life…affirm humanity as only good literature can.” —Los Angeles Times 
    A magnificent collection of short fiction focusing on the lives of African-American men and women in Washington, D.C., Lost in the City is the book that first brought author Edward P. Jones to national attention. Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Critics Circle Award, and numerous other honors for his novel The Known World, Jones made his literary debut with these powerful tales of ordinary people who live in the shadows in this metropolis of great monuments and rich history. Lost in the City received the Pen/Hemingway Award for Best First Fiction and was a National Book Award Finalist. This beautiful 20th Anniversary Edition features a new introduction by the author, and is a wonderful companion piece to Jones’s masterful novel and his second acclaimed collection of stories, All Aunt Hagar’s Children.
    Show book