Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
In Darkness - cover

In Darkness

Nick Lake

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Winner of the 2013 Michael L. Printz Award 
 
This is the story of "Shorty"-a 15-year-old boy trapped in a collapsed hospital during the earthquake in Haiti. Surrounded by the bodies of the dead, increasingly weak from lack of food and water, Shorty begins to hallucinate. As he waits in darkness for a rescue that may never come, a mystical bridge seems to emerge between him and Haitian leader Toussaint L'Ouverture, uniting the two in their darkest suffering-and their hope. 
A modern teen and a black slave, separated by hundreds of years. Yet in some strange way, the boy in the ruins of Port au Prince and the man who led the struggle for Haiti's independence might well be one and the same . . .

Other books that might interest you

  • Warriors: The New Prophecy #5: Twilight - cover

    Warriors: The New Prophecy #5:...

    Erin Hunter

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series continues with the fifth book in the New Prophecy series! 
    The fifth book in this second series, Warriors: The New Prophecy #5: Twilight, brings more adventure, intrigue, and thrilling battles to the epic world of the warrior Clans. 
    New territory brings new troubles for the fierce cats of the warrior Clans, and former allies are acting strangely hostile. 
    As divisions between the Clans grow deeper, Firestar’s daughters face troubling decisions. The choices they make now could affect ThunderClan for generations to come…and with an unexpected enemy preparing to attack, their courage and strength will be needed more than ever if the Clan is to survive.
    Show book
  • One Past Midnight - cover

    One Past Midnight

    Jessica Shirvington

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Sabine isn't like anyone else. For as long as she can remember, she's had two lives. Every twenty-four hours she 'Shifts', living each day twice. In one life, Sabine has everything: popular friends, expensive clothes, perfect grades, and the guy everyone wants. In the other, Sabine's family struggles with finances, and she and her friends are considered rebels. But then she meets Ethan. He's gorgeous, challenging, and he makes her feel like no one ever has before. 
     
    All Sabine really wants is the chance to live one life. When it seems like this might finally be possible, Sabine begins a series of dangerous experiments to achieve her goal. But is she willing to risk everything-including the one person who might actually believe her?
    Show book
  • Secret in the Stone - cover

    Secret in the Stone

    Kamilla Benko

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Hand to readers who love Narnia." --School Library Journal on The Unicorn Quest 
     
    * "Those who love Madeleine L'Engle's A Wrinkle in Time or . . . Neil Gaiman's Coraline, can't miss this debut." --Booklist, starred review, on The Unicorn Quest 
     
    The second book in an enchanting fantasy series The Unicorn Quest, about a real-world girl and her sister in a land full of magic and strange creatures. 
      
    Claire Martinson and her sister Sophie have decided to stay in Arden--the magical land they discovered by climbing up a chimney in their great-aunt's manor. If what they've learned is true, the sisters are the last descendants of the royal family, and only a true heir of Arden--with magic in her blood--can awaken the unicorns.  
      
    Since Sophie has does not have magic, the land's last hope rests on Claire. The sisters journey to Stonehaven, a famed Gemmer school high in the mountains of Arden, so Claire can train in the magic of stone. As Claire struggles through classes, Sophie uncovers dangerous secrets about the people they thought they could trust. With Arden on the brink of crumbling, can Claire prove she is the prophesied heir and unlock the magic of the unicorns before it's too late? 
     
    Acclaim for The Unicorn Quest 
    A Kids' Indie Next Selection 
    A Mighty Girl Best Book of the Year 
    An ALA Top Ten First Novel for Youth
    Show book
  • The Perfect Match - cover

    The Perfect Match

    E.D. Baker

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Former tooth-fairy-in-training, Cory Feathering, is coming into her skills as a matchmaker more and more each day. But as she hones her skills, she's still doing odd jobs around town in order to help people who need it. 
     
    One day as she's house-sitting for the Three Bears, Cory runs into the infamous Goldilocks. The girl with blonde locks wants Cory to help set her up on a date, but typical, no one is quite right for her. Then, Cory has a vision of Goldilocks with a prince who lives far away in a castle. The only problem? He's getting married to someone else. Luckily, the prince is a huge fan of Cory's band and wants them to perform at his ceremony, which means there might still be hope for Goldilocks. Will Cory be able to act fast and match everyone with their rightful love before it's too late? 
     
    This fun and joyful follow-up to E.D. Baker's The Fairy-Tale Matchmaker is perfect for fans of fairytale retellings.
    Show book
  • A Faerie's Curse - cover

    A Faerie's Curse

    Rachel Morgan

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    A witch’s curse. A world-ending prophecy. A daring rescue mission. Don’t miss the heart-pounding finale to Calla’s story!
     
    On the run from the Guild of Guardians, Calla Larkenwood and her team of fellow outlaws plan a daring rescue operation into the Seelie Court itself. As if that isn’t enough to keep them busy, the power-hungry Princess Angelica has begun preparations for a horrifying prophesied spell that will forever change both the magic and non-magic realms.
     
    When Calla is blindsided by an unspeakable tragedy before the rescue can be carried out, she struggles to remain focused on her mission. She believes she’s reached her lowest point—until a witch reveals the final blow: she has cursed Calla’s magic. With time running out, can Calla save the one she loves and stop the prophecy from being carried out before the curse claims her life?
     
     
     
    Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments, The Iron Fey, and Graceling.
    Show book
  • Catacomb - cover

    Catacomb

    Madeleine Roux

    • 5
    • 88
    • 0
    The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling Asylum series follows three teens as they take a senior year road trip to one of America's most haunted cities, uncovering dangerous secrets from their past along the way. With all the thrills, chills, and eerie found photographs that led Publishers Weekly to call Asylum "a strong YA debut," Catacomb is perfect for fans for Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. 
    Sometimes the past is better off buried. 
    Senior year is finally over. After all they've been through, Dan, Abby, and Jordan are excited to take one last road trip together, and they're just not going to think about what will happen when the summer ends. But on their way to visit Jordan's uncle in New Orleans, the three friends notice that they're being followed . . . and photographed. Then Dan starts receiving messages from someone he didn't expect to hear from again—someone who died last Halloween. 
    When the trio arrives in New Orleans and the strange occurrences only escalate, Dan is forced to accept that everything that has happened to him in the past year may not be a coincidence, but fate—a fate that ties Dan to a group called the Bone Artists, who have a sinister fascination with notorious killers of the past. 
    Now Dan's only hope is that he will make it out of his senior trip alive. 
    Don't miss Madeleine Roux's all-new gothic horror novel, House of Furies.
    Show book