Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Falling From the Floating World - cover

Falling From the Floating World

Nick Hurst

Publisher: Unbound

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Nick Hurst’s first book, Sugong, the ‘extraordinary story’ (Independent) of the three years he spent training with a kung fu master in Malaysia, was published to positive reviews and widespread coverage in 2012.The author is an expert on Japanese culture, and has lived in the country for many years: the book is filled with fascinating cultural detail.For fans of Hideo Yokoyama’s Six Four, Keigo Higashino’s The Devotion of Subject X, Natsuo Kirino’s Out.

Other books that might interest you

  • Open Your Eyes - cover

    Open Your Eyes

    Paula Daly

    • 1
    • 28
    • 0
    From acclaimed novelist and “master of psychological thrillers” (Library Journal) Paula Daly, Open Your Eyes follows a bestselling crime novelist’s tragic turn from fictional perpetrator into real-life victim.
     
    Jane Campbell avoids confrontation at any costs. Given the choice, she’ll always let her husband, Leon—a bestselling crime writer—take the lead, while she focuses on her two precious young children and her job as a creative writing teacher. After she receives another rejection for her novel, Leon urges Jane to put her hobby to rest. And why shouldn’t she, when through Jane’s rose-tinted glasses, they appear to have the perfect house and the perfect life?
     
    But then Leon is brutally attacked in their driveway while their children wait quietly in the car, and suddenly, their perfect life becomes the stuff of nightmares. Who would commit such a hateful offense in broad daylight? With her husband in a coma, Jane must open her eyes to the problems in her life, as well as the secrets that have been kept from her. Although she might not like what she sees, if she’s committed to discovering who hurt her husband—and why—Jane must take matters into her own hands.
     
    A surprising and gripping thriller of pride, ambition, and envy, Open Your Eyes is an unsettling whodunit about the illusions of a perfect marriage that confirms Paula Daly as a writer at the forefront of domestic suspense.
    Show book
  • The Moor - cover

    The Moor

    Sam Haysom

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It begins with a ghost story around a campfire. Teenagers out on a walking trip, trying to act brave in front of each other.But as the walk gets underway and the boys begin to fall out, odd things start to happen.Noises in the night. A severed rabbit’s foot outside someone’s tent.Soon, the boys begin to disappear.As panic sets in and a storm approaches, the remaining boys must band together to face a darkness not even the local ghost stories could help them predict.
    Show book
  • Tangled Roots - cover

    Tangled Roots

    Marcia Talley

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Hannah Ives’s sister, Georgina, has some astonishing news. A DNA test has revealed she is part Native American, and Hannah’s test has similar results. The link seems to come from their late mother. But how?
    As Hannah dives into constructing her family tree, she uncovers a heart-breaking love story and a mysterious death, while DNA matching turns up two second cousins, Mai and Nicholas. Hannah and her niece, Julie, are eager to embrace their new relatives and learn about their surprising ancestry, but Georgina’s husband, Scott, isn’t so keen. Are there more shocking revelations to come? And can Hannah untangle her family roots to uncover the truth behind a devastating tragedy?
    Show book
  • Until Proven Guilty - cover

    Until Proven Guilty

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 17
    • 0
    “Any story by Jance is a joy.” —Chattanooga Times Now fans of the enormously popular Sheriff Joanna Brady suspense series by J.A. Jance can discover another side to the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author. Until Proven Guilty—a riveting tale of the very worst kind of murder—marks the debut of Seattle Homicide Detective J.P. Beaumont. This Premium Plus edition of Until Proven Guilty—the classic novel that put the incomparable Jance on the crime fiction map—indisputably proves that she truly belongs “in the elite company of Sue Grafton and Patricia Cornwell” (Flint Journal).
    Show book
  • The Killing Room - A Balzano & Byrne Novel - cover

    The Killing Room - A Balzano &...

    Richard Montanari

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Nothing will ever be the same again . . .  
    In the heart of Philadelphia’s badlands, Homicide Detectives Byrne and Balzano are called out to a particularly chilling crime scene. Once the pillar of the neighbourhood, an abandoned church has become a killing room. At first it looks like a random act of violence. But then a second body is found, and a third. Each crime scene more disturbing than the last, each murder more brutal. And it soon becomes horrifyingly clear that a cold, calculating and terrifyingly precise mind is at work. With very few leads, and a mastermind who always seems to be one step ahead, Byrne and Balzano are faced with challenges they could never have imagined as they race against time to hunt down their killer, before it’s too late . . .  
      
    Discover what readers around the world already know: Richard Montanari’s novels are “relentlessly suspenseful” (Tess Gerritsen)
    Show book
  • Skeleton Canyon - cover

    Skeleton Canyon

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Top ten New York Times bestselling author J.A. Jance brings us another mesmerizing thriller featuring Arizona Sheriff Joanna Brady as she searches for the brutal killer of a young girl. 
     Brianna "Bree" O'Brien never returned from Skeleton Canyon. Someone brutally murdered the pretty, popular teenager who had stolen away under cover of darkness to rendezvous with her boyfriend. Perhaps youthful rage, jealousy and savage passion cost young Bree her life. Or maybe she stumbled onto something too dangerous to know. Sheriff Joanna Brady of Cochise County knows only too well the pain of losing a loved one to violence. But she is disturbed by the O'Brien's insistence that Bree's boyfriend is responsible for their daughter's slaying. Joanna senses there are words not being spoken, and dark mysteries locked behind doors of the sprawling O'Brien family compound. But it is the strange disappearance of a good friend that is pulling Sheriff Brady ever closer to the lethal nest of lies, greed and secrets hiding in a desolate corner of the Arizona desert - where the next blood that feeds the parched, cracked earth could be her own.
    Show book