Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Titanic on Trial - cover

Titanic on Trial

Nic Compton

Publisher: Adlard Coles

  • 1
  • 16
  • 0

Summary

On 15 April 2012, it will be 100 years since the Titanic 
sank. Since that fateful night, stories about the sinking have become 
legendary - how the band played to 
the end, how lifeboats were lowered half-empty - but amongst the films, 
novels and academic arguments, only those who were there can 
separate truth from fiction. 
 
 
 
After the sinking, inquiries into the loss of 1,517 lives (out of 
2,223 aboard) were held in both the UK and US. The proceedings produced 
1,000 pages of transcripts. Some of the testimonies were inevitably less than impartial, but as a whole the 
transcripts represent the most thorough and complete account of the 
sinking, told in the voices of those who were there. 
 
 
 
For the first time these transcripts have been specially edited and arranged chronologically, so that they tell the story of 
the Titanic's sinking as a narrative, rather than a list of 
questions and answers in a courtroom. The 
witnesses are transformed into characters in a much bigger 
story, and the events are described from different perspectives of people in 
every part of the ship, from a stoker in the boiler room escaping his 
section before the watertight doors sealed behind him, to first class 
passengers trying to buy their way onto lifeboats. 
 
 
 
Capturing the disbelief, the chaos and the terror of the disaster, this 
unique book brings to life the tragedy through the voices of those who 
survived it.

Other books that might interest you

  • Victims of Yalta - The Secret Betrayal of the Allies 1944–1947 - cover

    Victims of Yalta - The Secret...

    Nikolai Tolstoy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    One of the most tragic episodes of World War II—the forced repatriation of two million Russian POWs to certain doom.At the end of the Second World War, a secret Moscow agreement that was confirmed at the 1945 Yalta Conference ordered the forcible repatriation of millions of Soviet citizens that had fallen into German hands, including prisoners of war, refugees, and forced laborers. For many, the order was a death sentence, as citizens returned to find themselves executed or placed back in forced-labor camps. Tolstoy condemns the complicity of the British, who “ardently followed” the repatriation orders.    
    Show book
  • Streets - A Memoir of the Lower East Side - cover

    Streets - A Memoir of the Lower...

    Bella Spewack

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Born in Transylvania in 1899, Bella Spewack arrived on the streets of New York's Lower East Side when she was three. At twenty-two, while working as a reporter with her husband in Europe, she wrote a memoir of her childhood that was never published. More than seventy years later, the publication of Streets recovers a remarkable voice and revivifies a lost world.In her critically acclaimed writing, Bella describes the sights, sounds, and characters of urban Jewish immigrant life after the turn of the century. Witty, street-smart, and unsentimental, Bella was a genuine American heroine who went on to become a celebrated author. Booklist comments, The book provides a startling, clear-eyed look at the difficult life millions endured."
    Show book
  • The Baltimore Book of the Dead - cover

    The Baltimore Book of the Dead

    Marion Winik

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Author is a prolific and well-connected literary critic; formerly an NPR All Things Considered commentator, Winik is an NBCC board member and reviews for People magazine, among many other prestigious media outlets. She has appeared on television including the Today Show and Oprah, and is a confident speaker with many contacts
    For fans of Abigail Thomas' SAFEKEEPING, Jeannie Vanasco's THE GLASS EYE, or Maggie Nelson's JANE: A MURDER
    The Baltimore Book of the Dead is a sequel, or a companion volume to The Glen Rock Book of the Dead (which Counterpoint published in 2009). The books contain brief portraits of people Winik knew, or somehow crossed paths with, who have died. The Baltimore Book of the Dead builds on the themes from the first book, and differs in that it focuses on a significant number of Baltimore-based portraits, and that the public events and famous dead people included will reflect the decade immediately past. It also features a substantial introductory essay on the subject of mourning and memory.
    Intimacy and humor are manifest in the economy of each piece in The Baltimore Book of the Dead, none of which exceeds 400 words, each of which conjures and celebrates a life.
    
    Praise from Librarians and Booksellers
    “It is all too easy to hesitate before reading this book. After all, it is a collection of obituaries. One could be forgiven for thinking it will be too depressing, too grim. And yet it is luminous and kind, told with gentleness and understanding. People famous and unknown get the same treatment, their lives equal in their humanity and loss.” —Anton Bogomazov, Politics and Prose (Washington, DC)
    Show book
  • 50 Jobs Worse Than Yours - cover

    50 Jobs Worse Than Yours

    Justin Racz

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    Guaranteed to make you grateful for the job you have and thankful for the one you don't. From Saddam Hussein Double to Telemarketing Script Writer to the guy who operates the "It's a Small World After All" ride, satirist Justin Racz has spanned the globe to find fifty jobs worse than yours, so we can all feel better about our own. Featuring fifty color photos of the awful, the pitiful, the hysterical jobs out there, and all their undesirable employment details, Fifty Jobs Worse Than Yours is the perfect gift for anyone stuck in a nine-to-five grind who needs to remember why it could be a whole, whole lot worse.
    Show book
  • Shakespeare’s Sonnets - cover

    Shakespeare’s Sonnets

    William Shakespeare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Shakespeare's sonnets is the title of a collection of 154 sonnets by William Shakespeare, which covers themes such as the passage of time, love, beauty and mortality. The first 126 sonnets are addressed to a young man; the last 28 to a woman.
    Show book
  • Solo Success - You CAN do things on your own - cover

    Solo Success - You CAN do things...

    Christine Ingall

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Millions of people, who live alone and are without a partner, avoid everyday leisure pursuits for fear of being seen to be on their own. Many people in a relationship never do anything on their own. This step-by-step guide helps such people to conquer their fear, and build the confidence to pursue the things that they enjoy doing, regardless of their relationship status.
    Show book