Come on board for a journey through literature!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Valhalla - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Valhalla

Newton Thornburg

Publisher: Diversion Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"A born storyteller." —ST. LOUIS POST DISPATCHIn the dystopian future, the government has collapsed, cities are burning, and roving gangs, called Mau Maus, are marauding across America. A drifter named Walter Stone finds refuge at a lakeside camp, where the survivors of a plane crash have met up with other refugees, and are struggling with a constantly changing cast of leaders, as well as limited supplies. Across the lake stands Valhalla, a house, well supplied with food and ammunition, where a junkman and his daughters live. The goal is to take control of Valhalla. The obstacles are certain death across the lake, roving bands of killers threatening the camp, and a way of life that is quickly slipping away.

Other books that might interest you

  • Blood on the Rocks - cover

    Blood on the Rocks

    Priscilla Masters

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    DI Joanna Piercy is irritated at what she perceives to be an attempt to wrap her up in cotton wool during her pregnancy when she is asked to take on the case of Zachary Foster, a missing ninety-six-year-old man suffering from dementia. Zachary has vanished from his residential care home on the edge of Leek during the night with his beloved old teddy bear. He can’t have gone far, surely, but how did a frail, elderly man manage to abscond from a secure house at night? As Joanna investigates, it soon becomes clear that this apparently minor case is far more sinister than it first appears. Could her own life, and that of her unborn child, be at risk?
    Show book
  • The Magdalene Scrolls - cover

    The Magdalene Scrolls

    Barbara Wood

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    - Bestselling author: Barbara Wood is a New York Times bestselling author with a prolific backlist and frontlist that is critically-acclaimed and followed by a large readership.
    
    - Author's first novel: The Magdalene Scrolls is New York Times bestselling author Barbara Wood's first novel and was previously out of print. Barbara Wood's large fanbase should be excited to see her first book back in print for the first time in many years.
    Show book
  • Dead End - cover

    Dead End

    Sally Spencer

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    He was going to have to terminate Monika, he decided. It was a pity, but there it was.
    
    The body has lain buried for years, and has no face and no fingertips. Monika Paniatowski’s team have no real leads, but when they discuss the case at her hospital bedside – where she lies paralysed – Monika begins to see possible links with a case she closed four years earlier.
    
    Are the two cases connected? Did the first murder make the second almost inevitable? She doesn’t know, but she does know that she is being watched by an old enemy who will kill her if he decides there is ever any chance of her sharing her thoughts and information with her team.
    Show book
  • Name Withheld - A JP Beaumont Mystery - cover

    Name Withheld - A JP Beaumont...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An explosive novel of betrayal and blood vengeance featuring Seattle detective J.P. Beaumont. 
    There are those who don’t deserve to live—and the corpse floating in Elliott Bay may have been one of those people. Not surprisingly, many individuals, too many in fact, are eager to take responsibility for the brutal slaying of the hated biotech executive whose alleged crimes ranged from the illegal trading of industrial secrets to rape. For Seattle Detective J.P. Beaumont—who’s drowning in his own life-shattering problems—a case of seemingly justifiable homicide has sinister undertones, drawing the haunted policeman into a corporate nightmare world of double deals, savage jealousies, and real blood spilled far too easily, as it leads him closer to a killer he’s not sure he wants to find.
    Show book
  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 5
    • 69
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book
  • Bad Moon Rising - cover

    Bad Moon Rising

    Ed Gorman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The murder of a wealthy young woman sparks a backlash against the hippie commune that has recently arrived in Black River FallsA hippie commune has invaded Black River Falls. While  the majority of the townspeople believe that the bohemians have to  right to stay—despite how bizarre some of their ways can seem—as always  there is a minority that constantly accuses them of everything from  criminal activities to Satanism. As usual, lawyer and private  investigator Sam McCain finds himself in the middle of the controversy,  especially when the teenage daughter of Paul Mainwaring, one of the  town’s wealthiest men, is found murdered in the commune’s barn. A deeply  troubled young man (and Vietnam vet) named Neil Cameron is immediately  charged with the crime but Sam has serious doubts. In  this lively and atmospheric new mystery novel, Ed Gorman offers readers  his richest portrait yet about Black River Falls and its people.
    Show book