Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Philosophy Sucks Kids Right In! - Exploring Big Ideas with Young People Using Stories from Around the World - cover

Philosophy Sucks Kids Right In! - Exploring Big Ideas with Young People Using Stories from Around the World

Nel de Theije - Avontuur, Leo Kaniok

Publisher: Hunter House

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Philosophizing — considering life questions — stimulates thinking: processing information, reasoning, thinking creatively, evaluating alternatives. Many children are natural philosophers. They observe the world around them from a young age, have a keen sense of right and wrong, and ask endless questions. Stories — fables, fairy tales, parables — are a classic device for teaching lessons about life, morality, chance, consequences, and other cultures to audiences both young and old. Philosophy Sucks...Kids Right In! is a guide that parents and educators can use to structure and guide this process. Contributors Nel de Theije and Leo Kaniok have collected 40 short stories that encourage children to ponder the themes of happiness, love, friendship, peace, freedom, respect and equality — and more. An introductory chart clearly lays out the age groupings the stories are appropriate for, a primary theme, possible secondary themes, and the teaching purpose of the story. Many stories come with discussion papers that suggest areas of exploration with children of different age groups (4-6, 6-8, 8-10 and 10-12) and grades. The open-ended questions stimulate children to experience the stories more intensely, encourage self-reflection, and seek their own answers to the big questions of life.

Other books that might interest you

  • Ghost Stories to Tell in the Dark - cover

    Ghost Stories to Tell in the Dark

    Anthony Masters

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    The storm rages. They huddle closer round the flames as the wind howls in the night. 
     
    Another ghost story begins. But is the old house really deserted, or is something screaming in the darkness? Do you dare to find out?
    Show book
  • Low Red Moon - cover

    Low Red Moon

    Ivy Devlin

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    The only thing Avery Hood can remember about the night her parents died is that she saw silver-deadly silver, moving inhumanly fast. As much as she wants to remember who killed them, she can't, and there's nothing left to do but try to piece her life back together. Then Avery meets the new boy in school-Ben, mysterious and beautiful, with whom she feels a connection like nothing she's ever experienced. When Ben reveals he's a werewolf, Avery still trusts him-at first. Then she sees that sometimes his eyes flash inhuman silver. And she learns that she's not the only one who can't remember the night her parents died.Part murder mystery, part grief narrative, and part heart-stopping, headlong romance, Low Red Moon is a must-read for teen paranormal fans. As breathless as Twilight and as spooky as Shiver, this is a book to be devoured in one sitting-by an acclaimed YA author making her paranormal debut under the pseudonym Ivy Devlin.
    Show book
  • A Court of Frost and Starlight - cover

    A Court of Frost and Starlight

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    Narrated by Feyre and Rhysand, this bridges the events in A Court of Wings and Ruin and the upcoming novels in the series.  
         
    Feyre, Rhys, and their close-knit circle of friends are still busy rebuilding the Night Court and the vastly-changed world beyond. But Winter Solstice is finally near, and with it, a hard-earned reprieve. Yet even the festive atmosphere can't keep the shadows of the past from looming. As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, she finds that those dearest to her have more wounds than she anticipated--scars that will have far-reaching impact on the future of their Court.
    Show book
  • A Court of Mist and Fury - cover

    A Court of Mist and Fury

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 2
    • 19
    • 0
    The # 1 New York Times bestselling sequel to Sarah J. Maas' spellbinding A Court of Thorns and Roses. 
     
    Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court--but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people. 
     
    Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms--and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future--and the future of a world cleaved in two. 
     
    With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.
    Show book
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses - cover

    A Court of Thorns and Roses

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 11
    • 38
    • 0
    THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
     
    Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! 
     
    When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin--one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.   
     
    As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin--and his world--forever.
    Show book
  • Drawing Flowers - Create Beautiful Artwork with this Step-by-Step Guide - cover

    Drawing Flowers - Create...

    Peter Gray

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Graceful, beautiful and subtle, flowers are among the most delightful of subjects for artists to draw. This fresh, accessible book is aimed at those who want to translate their love of the natural world into vivid, accurate illustrations. Drawing Flowers is packed with examples and exercises across the full floral range, from simple structures, such as tulips, to more complex configurations, such as sunflowers, and compositions involving groups of flowers.
     
    Illustrated throughout by award-winning botanical artist Jill Winch, the book offers clear, concise instruction in the techniques of flower drawing. It also gives advice on practical considerations such as how best to position flowers for drawing, how to prevent them wilting and how to use a microscope to understand their structure.
    Show book