Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Trigger Warning - Short Fictions and Disturbances - cover

Trigger Warning - Short Fictions and Disturbances

Neil Gaiman

Publisher: William Morrow

  • 4
  • 12
  • 0

Summary

Multiple award winning, #1 New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman returns to dazzle, captivate, haunt, and entertain with this third collection of short fiction following Smoke and Mirrors and Fragile Things—which includes a never-before published American Gods story, “Black Dog,” written exclusively for this volume. 
In this new anthology, Neil Gaiman pierces the veil of reality to reveal the enigmatic, shadowy world that lies beneath. Trigger Warning includes previously published pieces of short fiction—stories, verse, and a very special Doctor Who story that was written for the fiftieth anniversary of the beloved series in 2013—as well “Black Dog,” a new tale that revisits the world of American Gods, exclusive to this collection. 
Trigger Warning explores the masks we all wear and the people we are beneath them to reveal our vulnerabilities and our truest selves. Here is a rich cornucopia of horror and ghosts stories, science fiction and fairy tales, fabulism and poetry that explore the realm of experience and emotion. In Adventure Story—a thematic companion to The Ocean at the End of the Lane—Gaiman ponders death and the way people take their stories with them when they die. His social media experience A Calendar of Tales are short takes inspired by replies to fan tweets about the months of the year—stories of pirates and the March winds, an igloo made of books, and a Mother’s Day card that portends disturbances in the universe. Gaiman offers his own ingenious spin on Sherlock Holmes in his award-nominated mystery tale The Case of Death and Honey. And Click-Clack the Rattlebag explains the creaks and clatter we hear when we’re all alone in the darkness. 
A sophisticated writer whose creative genius is unparalleled, Gaiman entrances with his literary alchemy, transporting us deep into the realm of imagination, where the fantastical becomes real and the everyday incandescent. Full of wonder and terror, surprises and amusements, Trigger Warning is a treasury of delights that engage the mind, stir the heart, and shake the soul from one of the most unique and popular literary artists of our day.

Other books that might interest you

  • Pure Hollywood - And Other Stories - cover

    Pure Hollywood - And Other Stories

    Christine Schutt

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    “With terse sentences that read like poetry, Schutt strips each scene of excess context and cuts to the heart of the moment….Schutt's haunting yet lyrical words linger long after the final page.”—Los Angeles Times
    
    
    
    Hailed by George Saunders as “a truly gifted writer,” with Pure Hollywood & Other Stories, Pulitzer Prize finalist and O Henry Prize winner Christine Schutt returns to the short story form that launched her acclaimed career and her inimitable style that John Ashbery once described as “pared down but rich, dense, fevered, exactly right and even eerily beautiful.” 
    
    
    
    In 11 captivating tales, Pure Hollywood brings us into private worlds of corrupt familial love, intimacy, longing, and danger. From an alcoholic widowed actress living in desert seclusion, to a young mother whose rejection of her child has terrible consequences, a newlywed couple who ignore the violent warnings of a painter burned by love, to an eerie portrait of erotic obsession, each story in Pure Hollywood is an imagistic snapshot of what it means to live and learn love and hurt.  
    
    
    
    In league with JD Salinger, Katherine Mansfield and Guy De Maupassant, in Pure Hollywood Schutt gives us sharply suspenseful and masterfully dark interior portraits of ordinary lives, infused with her signature observation and surprise. Timeless, incisive, and precise, these tales are a rush of blood to the head, portals through which we open our eyes and see the world anew.
    Show book
  • First Love and Other Sorrows - Stories - cover

    First Love and Other Sorrows -...

    Harold Brodkey

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the vein of John Cheever and J. D. Salinger, this powerful collection of short stories chronicles the loss of innocence, the harsh cruelty of social distinctions, and the anguish of young loveFirst Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch—and with him the world of privilege.  Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother—each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society—these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.
    Show book
  • Baby Doctor - Poppy Field Mpreg Series #1 - cover

    Baby Doctor - Poppy Field Mpreg...

    Beau Brown

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Omega Peter Johnson can’t accept that he can’t have babies. Several doctors have told him he’s barren, but he refuses to believe that. After all, there are few things that would be worse news for an omega. He decides to seek the opinion of the premiere fertility specialist in Poppy Field, Dr. Rafe Hexton. 
    Alpha Rafe Hexton isn’t known for his charming bedside manner. But he’s the best at what he does. When he delivers devastating news to Peter in an uncaring and blunt manner, Peter sets him straight right before he storms out of his office. 
    When the two men meet at a club one night, Peter ends up in Rafe’s bed. While Peter may not necessarily like Rafe, he can’t deny how attracted he is to the alpha. Rafe is equally drawn to the younger omega, and finds Peter’s infertility a plus in his book. He’s not interested in having kids. 
    But just as the alpha and omega come to a mutually satisfying arrangement, fate steps in and changes the game.
    Show book
  • Fyodor Dostoyevsky: The complete Novels (Golden Deer Classics) - cover

    Fyodor Dostoyevsky: The complete...

    Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Golden Deer...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book, newly updated, contains now several HTML tables of contents that will make reading a real pleasure!
    The first table of contents (at the very beginning of the ebook) lists the titles of all novels included in this volume. By clicking on one of those titles you will be redirected to the beginning of that work, where you'll find a new TOC that lists all the chapters and sub-chapters of that specific work.
    
    Here you will find the complete novels of Fyodor Dostoyevsky in the chronological order of their original publication.
    
    Poor Folk
    The Double
    Notes From The Underground
    Crime and Punishment
    The Gambler
    The Idiot
    The Possessed (The Devils)
    A Raw Youth
    The Dream of a Ridiculous Man
    The Brothers Karamazov
    Show book
  • May We Borrow Your Husband? - & Other Comedies of the Sexual Life - cover

    May We Borrow Your Husband? - &...

    Graham Greene

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A collection of twelve disarmingly witty tales about the complexities of love and intimacy from “a storyteller of genius” (Evelyn Waugh).    “The sense of the author at play dominates” Graham Greene’s entertaining anthology as the masterful British author looks at love, lies, vanity, mortality, romantic obsessions, and seduction from a dozen sharply observed perspectives (The New York Times).   A bored faculty wife looking for a fling discovers something more illuminating than sex; a jaded writer who eavesdrops on a pair of hopeful lovers feels compelled to relieve them of their foolish ideals and ambitions; a widow and a divorcée commiserate in mourning for their lost men, only to rejoice in their freedom after two bottles of blanc de blancs; a young man devises a test of true love—to find a woman who won’t laugh at the absurd circumstances of his father’s death; and in the title story, an oblivious young bride honeymooning in Antibes encourages a friendship between a gay couple and her adventurous and handsome new husband.  
    Show book
  • The Price of the Haircut - Stories - cover

    The Price of the Haircut - Stories

    Brock Clarke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From an acclaimed and original writer comes a new collection of stories bursting with absurdist plot twists and laced with trenchant wit. Brock Clarke, author of An Arsonist’s Guide to Writers’ Homes in New England and Exley, among other novels, now offers up bite-sized morsels of his trademark social satire that will have readers laughing, and perhaps shifting uncomfortably in their seats. The title story delivers a cringingly biting dissection of racial attitudes in contemporary America, and Clarke also turns his eagle eye to subjects like PTSD, the fate of child actors, and, most especially, marital discord in stories like “Considering Lizzie Borden, Her Axe, My Wife” and “The Misunderstandings.” In “The Pity Palace,” a masterful study in self-absorption and self-delusion, a reclusive husband in Florence, Italy, who believes his wife has left him for a famous novelist, sells tickets to tourists anxious to meet someone more miserable than they. It’s a distinctly Clarkean world, in which readers find themselves reflected back with the distortion of funhouse mirrors—and swept up on a wild ride of heart-wrenching insight and self-discovery.
    Show book