Do you want to read 1 year without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Captured - cover

Captured

Neil Cross

Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Given only weeks to live, Kenny Drummond finds a mystery worth dying to solve  In this gripping psychological thriller from the creator of Luther, Kenny Drummond has been diagnosed with late-stage brain cancer and is writing a list—a list of all the people he has let down in one way or another. He is determined to make amends before the black smudge that keeps showing up on his scans exercises its final power over him. Working his way down the list, Kenny comes to an old schoolmate, Callie Barton, who was kind when he needed a friend. He heard she dated and eventually married Jonathan Reese, and that they live in Bath. But no matter how hard he tries, Kenny can’t seem to get ahold of Callie; she’s disappeared without a trace. In fact, there are rumors that Reese wasn’t the kindest husband. And he sure seems like he has something to hide. Now Kenny has a ticking clock and a promise to keep, and nothing’s going to stand in his way.

Who read this book also read:

  • For the Greater Good - cover

    For the Greater Good

    Colin Guest

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When Jeff, a specialist in black operations, learns that his brother had died while in police custody in Yemen, he flies in looking for answers. However, he soon finds himself involved in a plot to assassinate the self-proclaimed President of Yemen. By doing so, it would not only revenge his brother's death but possibly save the country, as well as a prevent a potential threat to world peace. His means of carrying out this task are far from the usual method of a snipers rifle or a bomb. Instead, by using his skills to adapt innocent toys, although this might seem quite a novel approach, prove both deadly and highly efficient.
    Show book
  • Tefuga - A Novel of Suspense - cover

    Tefuga - A Novel of Suspense

    Peter Dickinson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this evocative tale of suspense from CWA Gold Dagger winner Peter Dickinson, a British diplomat’s wife in Nigeria inadvertently precipitates a senseless tragedy, and six decades later, her son becomes caught up in a maelstrom of violent political corruption Filmmaker Nigel Jackland has come to northern Nigeria to work on a new project: a documentary based on the personal diary entries of his mother. Sixty years have passed since Betty Jackland first accompanied her husband, Ted, to this colonial African backwater, resolving to be a perfect helpmate and wife to Britain’s district officer in the emirate of Kiti.   But Betty’s fascination with the local Kitawa tribe, innate sense of justice, and irrepressibly independent spirit mean she could never turn a blind eye to the suffering of oppressed women—particularly the abused wives of the ruling emir. She never imagined that her strong words and actions could have violent consequences in the shadow of Tefuga Hill—or that the echoes of the tragedy would resound dangerously in the life of her own son many years on.   Linking two stories separated by more than half a century and relating them in alternating chapters, Tefuga is an enthralling, evocative, and suspenseful tale of corruption, imperialism, race, and murder. A master of both style and substance, Dickinson brilliantly re-creates times and places in stunning detail, transporting readers to an Africa so remarkably realistic they can almost feel the equatorial winds on their faces.
    Show book
  • A Soldier's Revenge - A Will Cochrane Novel - cover

    A Soldier's Revenge - A Will...

    Matthew Dunn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Former intelligence agent Will Cochrane must evade US authorities hunting him down for a murder he didn’t commit in this captivating sixth entry in the acclaimed action-thriller series. 
    Former operative Will Cochrane wakes up in New York’s Waldorf Astoria and is horrified to see blood on his hands—something he remembers absolutely nothing about. When he then finds a woman murdered in his bathroom he knows he’s stepped into a wilderness of terror that is far more dangerous than anything he’s ever faced. 
    With no memory of the night before nor of the unfortunate woman, Will believes he is being framed and needs to outrun the police who will be looking for him very soon. Until this moment, Will has been on the precipice of a new life, one outside the intelligence service, and one that includes fatherhood. He’s agreed to adopt the twin sons of his former colleague and Navy SEAL operative Roger Koenig, and had been on his way to pick them up before he’d awakened to the carnage in New York. 
    Will knows his only chance to clear his name is to find the real killer while he’s still free. But he also has to find the twins, suspecting that they’re in danger as well. In Virginia, he discovers one boy alive and his brother missing and most likely kidnapped. What he also finds is the killer’s trail in the form of a man’s voice, which Will recognizes and believes belongs to an old nemesis, a Russian agent he has tangled with before. With local police, the FBI, and even his friends pursuing him, the clever and ruthless operative must track down his adversary, save the boys, and prove his innocence before it’s too late.  
    A superb blend of action and thrills that will keep readers on the edge of their seats, A Soldier’s Revenge is perfect for fans of Brad Thor, Daniel Silva, and Lee Child.
    Show book
  • The Case of the Orphaned Bassoonists - cover

    The Case of the Orphaned...

    Barbara Wilson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Cassandra Reilly travels to Venice to solve the mystery of a missing bassoon, and lands in the midst of an international cast of characters who all have something to hideAt the Venice-based symposium on women musicians of Vivaldi’s time, an instrument has gone missing: an antique bassoon, an invaluable family heirloom—and bassoonist Nicky Gibbons stands accused of the theft. Determined to clear her name, Nicky calls Cassandra Reilly—lesbian translator and part-time sleuth extraordinaire—and summons her to the City of Water. Fifteen scholars and musicians are attending the symposium, and each has a multitude of quirks and secrets—as well as motive to steal the bassoon. As Cassandra investigates, she immerses herself in the world of Baroque music, the tangle of personal intrigues at the symposium, and a second mystery involving the orphaned bassoonists of eighteenth-century Venice.Wry, intelligent, and atmospheric, The Case of the Orphaned Bassoonists is the fourth and final book in the Cassandra Reilly Mystery series, which begins with Gaudí Afternoon, Trouble in Transylvania, and The Death of a Much-Travelled Woman.
    Show book
  • The Devil's Song - cover

    The Devil's Song

    Lauren Stahl

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "Family secrets, childhood memories, and old crimes influence the present in this suspenseful debut. Kate is a gutsy character, and her romance with Sam is enjoyable. An open-ended finale leaves room for future conflicts within the Magda family...A solid bet for fans of dark crime dramas."--Library Journal 
    "[An] exciting first novel...Stahl keeps the reader on a roller-coaster ride with unexpected twists and turns to the end."--Publishers Weekly 
    "I was up all night, utterly riveted by The Devil's Song, with its memorable characters, crisp dialogue, and meticulous plotting. It's hard to believe this is a debut. Lauren Stahl is a writer to watch!"--Alafair Burke, best-selling author of The Ex 
    "The Devil's Song is a book born from those dark places most writers and readers dare not go. It's not just about cops and killers, lawyers and judges. It's about real people with real lives. It's about family, fathers and daughters, lovers and friends, and the ghosts of the past that haunt them all. In this stunning debut novel, Lauren Stahl paints a chilling portrait of childhood nightmares relived, rich with both suspense and emotion."--Keith Gilman, author of Bad Habits 
    "A racing read by an author who knows how to tell a story, The Devil's Song plunges the reader equally into two worlds: one of killers, insanity, child victims, and revenge; and another of the details and especially the politics and power plays of law, order, and investigation. It's hard to tell at times which world is the more difficult to comprehend. Grabbed and held me straight through to the last page."--S.J. Rozan, Edgar Award-winning author of Ghost Hero 
    Up-and-coming Mission County, Pennsylvania, prosecutor Kate Magda has been given the assignment of a lifetime: lead counsel on a string of murders rocking the community. As the privileged daughter of a powerful local judge, Kate views the case as her chance to show her boss, her family, and the public that she is more than just "the judge's daughter." 
    As Kate delves into the case, she becomes convinced that she shares a personal link with the killer, who seems to know intimate details about a tragic childhood event from Kate's past--an event she’d long been trying to forget. Paranoia sets in, the night terrors return, and Kate has a strong sense that she's the killer's next victim. She no longer feels assigned to the case...she is the case, and solving it is her only chance for survival.
    Show book
  • Tower - A Novel - cover

    Tower - A Novel

    Ken Bruen, Reed Farrel Coleman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From opposite perspectives, two master authors spin a chilling taleNick’s father is a stand-up Irishman—once a cop, now a security guard in the World Trade Center’s North Tower—but Nick does not take after his old man. He’s “got the bad drop,” meaning he only cares about booze, violence, and getting into trouble with his best friend, Todd, a low-level hood connected to the Boston mob. Todd inducts Nick into the world of petty crime. What starts as a bit of good fun—robbing apartments, scoring weed—turns serious as Todd gets closer to the inner circle. He may not love violence as much as Nick does, but he’s about to get more than his fair share. The first collaboration by beloved mystery authors Ken Bruen and Reed Farrel Coleman, Tower is as uncompromisingly brutal as the work that made them famous. They each tell the story once—Bruen from Nick’s perspective, and Coleman from Todd’s. Their narratives hinge on a single, blistering question: How can friendship survive in an underworld built on pain?
    Show book