Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Behold the Bones - cover

Behold the Bones

Natalie C. Parker

Publisher: HarperTeen

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

A haunting, chilling, and atmospheric southern swamp tale—perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver. 
In this companion to Beware the Wild, the book New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White called “American myth at its very best,” Natalie C. Parker takes readers on a journey back to an eerie Louisiana swamp town. 
Candace “Candy” Pickens has been obsessed with the swamp lore of her tiny Louisiana town for . . . forever. Name any ghostly swamp figure and Candy will recite the entire tale in a way that will curl your toes and send chills up your spine. 
That doesn’t mean Candy’s a believer, however. But with swamp haunts appearing in town every day, a suspicious new family in town, and her own mind starting to betray her, Candy must come to terms with the one piece of swamp lore she’s never heard before. It’s a tale that’s more truth than myth, and may hold all the answers . . . and its roots are in Candy’s own family tree.

Who read this book also read:

  • Teeth - cover

    Teeth

    Ellen Datlow, Terri Windling

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The first bite is only the beginning. 
    Twenty of today's favorite writers explore the intersections between the living, dead, and undead. Their vampire tales range from romantic to chilling to gleeful—and touch on nearly every emotion in between. 
    Neil Gaiman's vampire-poet in "Bloody Sunrise" is brooding, remorseful, and lonely. Melissa Marr's vampires make a high-stakes game of possession and seduction in "Transition." And in "Why Light?" Tanith Lee's lovelorn vampires yearn most of all for the one thing they cannot have—daylight. Drawn from folk traditions around the world, popular culture, and original interpretations, the vampires in this collection are enticingly diverse. 
    But reader beware: The one thing they have in common is their desire for blood. . . .
    Show book
  • The Little Seagull - cover

    The Little Seagull

    Tanina Wings

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Join a family of seagulls, as your little ones learn what it’s like to fly with gulls who are testing their wings for the first time. The Little Seagull is a charming children’s story about a young seagull who cannot wait to grow up and be just like his Dad. He has to learn about taking small steps so he can overcome his fears about flying.
    Show book
  • The Ascending - The Legend of Oescienne #4 - cover

    The Ascending - The Legend of...

    Jenna Elizabeth Johnson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A year has passed since the Tanaan dragon Jaax and his human ward, Jahrra, came to live within the protected boundaries of Lidien, the great City of Light. But even the safest places in Ethöes can harbor enemies, and one cannot hide from one’s fate forever. 
     
    At the onset of yet another departure, Jahrra realizes there is more to this next step in her journey than she previously thought. With Lidien fading in the distance, she understands she is finally leaving behind not just her friends, but also her childhood and a life once filled with dreams and illusions of safety and love. The road ahead is perilous, and Jahrra knows she will face many trials before coming to stand before her destiny. With each passing day, the threat of the Crimson King grows stronger, and Jaax and their allies will need the help of the legendary Creecemind dragons if they wish to overthrow their common enemy. 
     
    Before they can present their case before the king of the Creecemind, however, Jahrra and her Tanaan guardian must make a perilous journey north through the mountains, where danger and uncertainty lurks in every crevasse and behind the face of everyone they meet. Their trust in others must be bartered carefully, for the Tyrant’s influence stretches far and wide. And even if they do reach Nimbronia, the frozen City in the Clouds, their troubles may not be over. If the king of the ice dragons cannot be convinced to join their cause, then their fate, and the fate of Ethöes, may very well be sealed in sorrow and defeat.
    Show book
  • All-American Girl - cover

    All-American Girl

    Meg Cabot

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    The New York Times bestselling hit from Meg Cabot 
    Samantha Madison is just your average sophomore gal living in DC when, in an inadvertent moment sandwiched between cookie-buying and CD-perusing, she puts a stop to an attempt on the life of the president. Before she can say “MTV2” she’s appointed Teen Ambassador to the UN and has caught the eye of the very cute First Son. 
    Featuring Meg Cabot’s delightful sense of humor and signature romance that made The Princess Diaries such a hit, this New York Times bestselling standalone novel is sure to please fans and new readers alike.
    Show book
  • Shadows in the Silence - cover

    Shadows in the Silence

    Courtney Allison Moulton

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In the final installment of the stunning Angelfire trilogy, Courtney Allison Moulton brings her dark and compelling world of epic battles and blistering romance to a blazingly bright conclusion. 
    The ultimate battle for Heaven and Earth against Lilith, Sammael, and the armies of Hell will be a struggle to win—and even survive. As the Archangel Gabriel, Ellie knows that the darkest and toughest moments are still to come, but she has everything to fight for: for Will, for humanity, and to save herself. 
    Full of cinematic, gripping action and blistering battle scenes, as well as epic romance, Shadows in the Silence is perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Cynthia Hand, and Lauren Kate.
    Show book
  • Fins Are Forever - cover

    Fins Are Forever

    Tera Lynn Childs

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    On Lily Sanderson’s eighteenth birthday she’ll become just a girl—still a mergirl, true, but signing the renunciation will ink Princess Waterlily of Thalassinia out of existence. That leaves plain old Lily living on land, dating the boy she loves, and trying to master this being-human thing once and for all. 
    Now that Lily and Quince are together, mer bond or not, she’s almost content to give up her place in the royal succession of Thalassinia. But just when she thinks she has everything figured out, the waves start to get rough. Lily’s father sends a certain whirlpool-stirring cousin to stay with her on land. What did Doe do to get herself exiled from Thalassinia and stuck in terraped form when everyone knows how much she hates humans? And why why why is she batting her eyelashes at Lily’s former crush, Brody? 
    The seafoam on the raging surf comes when a merboy from Lily’s past shows up—Tellin asks Lily for something that clouds her view of the horizon. There’s a future with Quince on land, her loyalty to the kingdom in the sea, and Lily tossing on the waves in the middle. Will she find a way to reconcile her love, her duty, and her own dreams? 
    Tera Lynn Childs’s sequel to Forgive My Fins offers another tail-flicking romance with plenty of fun, sun, and underwater adventure.
    Show book