Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Ava Dreams of Water - cover

Ava Dreams of Water

Nancy Moss

Publisher: Happy Platypus Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Everyone needs clean water, yet 800 million people in the world don't have access to it. 

 
At school, Ava learns of a village, deep in the rainforest, which lacks clean water. Later that night, Ava dreams about visiting Juan, a boy who lives there. Everything in the dream seems very real!

 
Ava dreams of Juan, every time she sleeps. He shows her all the ways healthy water will help his family and friends. One night, Ava can’t find Juan. Where has he gone? How will Ava find him? Will anyone believe that Ava’s dreams are what brought her and Juan together?

 
AVA DREAMS OF WATER is about the dreams we all have for a better life, what we can do to help one another, and the friendships that transcend time and place…

 
A portion of the proceeds from “Ava Dreams of Water” goes to Rainforest Flow, a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization that has been bringing clean water to villages in the Amazon of Peru since 2007.

 
 

 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • A Curse So Dark and Lonely - cover

    A Curse So Dark and Lonely

    Brigid Kemmerer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A New York Times bestseller! 
     
    "Has everything you'd want in a retelling of a classic fairy tale." - Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of A Spark of Light and Small Great Things 
     
    "Absolutely spellbinding." - Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval and Legendary 
     
    In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast,  Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance  perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. 
     
    Fall in love, break the curse. 
     
    It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope. 
     
    Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she's instead somehow sucked into Rhen's cursed world. 
     
    Break the curse, save the kingdom. 
     
    A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn't know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what's at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.
    Show book
  • Second Chances - cover

    Second Chances

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A coming-of-age story set against the backdrop of "peace, love, rock and roll," and the Vietnam War.  
     
     
    It’s the summer of 1971, and fifteen-year-old Darlene travels with her mother to cottage country. This year her wild cousin, Elizabeth, is staying with them in the hopes that time away from Toronto will straighten her out – but Elizabeth has other plans. It’s her summer mission to torment Darlene by manipulating her friends and seducing every eligible male in her path. Meanwhile, Darlene is captivated by the mysterious strangers who rent the cottage down the road, particularly free-spirited Candy, who tells stories of traipsing across the United States with rock stars. Darlene is also friends with a reclusive journalist who will stop at nothing to pen the ultimate anti-war story. She, too, secretly dreams of becoming a writer, but knows that her father will never allow it. When the connections between the young strangers and the war start to become clear, Darlene is presented with more choices than she would like.
    Show book
  • The Thief - cover

    The Thief

    Megan Whalen Turner

    • 2
    • 25
    • 0
    Discover the world of the Queen’s Thief 
    New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin. 
    Eugenides, the queen’s thief, can steal anything—or so he says. When his boasting lands him in prison and the king’s magus invites him on a quest to steal a legendary object, he’s in no position to refuse. The magus thinks he has the right tool for the job, but Gen has plans of his own. The Queen’s Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, “best of” citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen’s Thief. 
    This edition of The Thief includes an exclusive piece by Megan Whalen Turner about her inspiration for the setting of the story, an introduction to the characters from the world of the Queen's Thief, and a map of the world of the Queen's Thief.   
    A Newbery Honor Book 
    An ALA Notable Book 
    A YALSA Best Book for Young Adults 
    A Horn Book Fanfare Book 
    A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age 
    A Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books Blue Ribbon Book 
    A Junior Library Guild Selection 
    “The Queen’s Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner’s books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come.”—Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer 
    "Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail—you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again.”—Leigh Bardugo, New York Times-bestselling author of the The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows 
    “Trust me. Just read it. Then read it again, because it will not be the same river twice.”—Lois McMaster Bujold, acclaimed and Hugo Award-winning author of the Vorkosigan Saga, the Chalion Series, and the Sharing Knife series 
    "In addition to its charismatic hero, this story possesses one of the most valuable treasures of all—a twinkling jewel of a surprise ending." —Publishers Weekly (starred review) 
    “To miss this thief’s story would be a crime.”—Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review) 
    “A literary journey that enriches both its characters and readers before it is over.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) 
    “A tantalizing, suspenseful, exceptionally clever novel.”—The Horn Book (starred review)
    Show book
  • Hiding in Hawk's Creek - A Jennifer Bannon Mystery - cover

    Hiding in Hawk's Creek - A...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Fourteen-year-old Jennifer Bannon cannot face another boring summer in Springhills. She convinces her mother to let her spend July at her grandmother’s cottage in Hawk’s Creek. She does not reveal that her plan is to live with her grandmother forever in order to avoid the problems back home. But Hawk’s Creek holds dark secrets, and Jennifer is soon drawn into the troubled world of Audrey Musquash, a Native girl accused of stealing and being out of control. In this tale of suspense and haunting friendship, Jennifer must face truths that will change her perspective on life forever.
    Show book
  • The Assassin's Blade - The Throne of Glass Novellas - cover

    The Assassin's Blade - The...

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 3
    • 18
    • 0
    Celaena Sardothien is her kingdom's most feared assassin. Though she  works for the powerful and ruthless Assassin's Guild, Celaena yields to  no one and trusts only her fellow killer for hire, Sam. 
     
    When  Celaena's scheming master, Arobynn Hamel, dispatches her on missions  that take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, she finds herself  acting independently of his wishes-and questioning her own allegiance.  Along the way, she makes friends and enemies alike, and discovers that  she feels far more for Sam than just friendship. But by defying  Arobynn's orders, Celaena risks unimaginable punishment, and with Sam by  her side, he is in danger, too. They will have to risk it all if they  hope to escape Arobynn's clutches-and if they fail, they'll lose not  just a chance at freedom, but their lives . . . 
     
    A prequel to  Throne of Glass, this collection of five novellas offers readers a  deeper look into the history of this cunning assassin and her  enthralling-and deadly-world. 
     
    Included in this volume: 
      The Assassin and the Pirate Lord 
      The Assassin and the Healer 
      The Assassin and the Desert 
      The Assassin and the Underworld 
      The Assassin and the Empire
    Show book
  • 10 Perfect Poems & Rhymes for 4-8 Year Olds (Perfect for Bedtime & Independent Reading) (Series: Read together for 10 minutes a day) (Storytime) - cover

    10 Perfect Poems & Rhymes for...

    Arcturus Publishing

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Storytime: A Brand New Series of Illustrated eBooks for Kids
     
    From Old Mother Hubbard to the House that Jack Built, this classic collection features some of the world's best-loved children's poems in an easy eBook format. Ready to read at the touch of a button and beautifully illustrated throughout, it's the perfect introduction to these timeless tales for boys and girls aged 4 and up.
     
    Help improve your child's reading in just 10 minutes a day with these short story collections from Storytime.
     
    10 minutes of reading a day can...
     
    Boost Vocabulary
     
    Reading for a short period every day exposes your child to almost 1 million words per year, which helps to foster communication and understanding.
     
    Encourage Learning
     
    Reading at home is linked to better performance in spelling, comprehension and general knowledge, helping to develop important learning skills.
     
    Promote Relaxation
     
    Reading a book gives your child the quiet time they need each day to relax, and is a great way for you to spend quality time together.
    Show book