Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Friend - A Novel from North Korea - cover

Friend - A Novel from North Korea

Nam-nyong Paek

Translator Immanuel Kim

Publisher: Columbia University Press

  • 1
  • 14
  • 1

Summary

Paek Nam-nyong’s Friend is a tale of marital intrigue, abuse, and divorce in North Korea. A woman in her thirties comes to a courthouse petitioning for a divorce. As the judge who hears her statement begins to investigate the case, the story unfolds into a broader consideration of love and marriage. The novel delves into its protagonists’ past, describing how the couple first fell in love and then how their marriage deteriorated over the years. It chronicles the toll their acrimony takes on their son and their careers alongside the story of the judge’s own marital troubles.A best-seller in North Korea, where Paek continues to live and write, Friend illuminates a side of life in the DPRK that Western readers have never before encountered. Far from being a propagandistic screed in praise of the Great Leader, Friend describes the lives of people who struggle with everyday problems such as marital woes and workplace conflicts. Instead of socialist-realist stock figures, Paek depicts complex characters who wrestle with universal questions of individual identity, the split between public and private selves, the unpredictability of existence, and the never-ending labor of maintaining a relationship. This groundbreaking translation of one of North Korea’s most popular writers offers English-language readers a page-turner full of psychological tension as well as a revealing portrait of a society that is typically seen as closed to the outside world.

Other books that might interest you

  • Holidays Are Hell - cover

    Holidays Are Hell

    Kim Harrison, Lynsay Sands,...

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    This holiday, spend quality time with family and loved ones—living and dead . . . 
    There's no place like home for the horrordays—unless you'd prefer a romantic midnight walk through a ghost-infested graveyard . . . or a haunted house candlelight dinner with the sexy vampire of your dreams. The (black) magical season is here—and whether it's a solstice séance gone demonically wrong with the incomparable Kim Harrison, a grossly misshapen Christmas with the remarkable Lynsay Sands, a blood-chilling-and-spilling New Year's with the wonderful Marjorie M. Liu, or a super-powered Thanksgiving with the phenomenal Vicki Pettersson, one thing is for certain: in the able hands of these exceptional dark side explorers, the holidays are going to be deliciously hellish!
    Show book
  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • Think Little - Essays - cover

    Think Little - Essays

    Wendell Berry

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The first in the new Counterpoints series, Think Little is an evergreen, ever-urgent, and now pocket-sized argument for focused and inclusive climate change activism
    Designed and priced for point-of-sale, the Counterpoints series will feature essays, poems, and stories from Wendell Berry, Gary Snyder, Mary Robison, Betty Fussell, MFK Fisher, and many more
    Berry argues that environmental activism and policy change cannot only be a public, large-scale, corporate- and organization-led; instead, changes must happen at the person, individual, and community levels in order for our attempts to slow climate change to be successful. Just as the Civil Rights movement had to become personal, had to be adopted in homes and communities across the country in order to gain momentum and critical mass, so too does environmental activism
    Berry also reminds us that the forces that would exploit people based on their race, gender, and socioeconomic status are the same forces that are content to exploit the earth for its natural resources
    Show book
  • Toxic Love - The Shocking True Story of the First Murder by Cancer - cover

    Toxic Love - The Shocking True...

    Tomás Guillén

    • 0
    • 17
    • 2
    The chilling true story of romantic obsession and murder by cancer from the New York Times–bestselling author of The Search for the Green River Killer.Omaha, Nebraska, 1978. Sandy Johnson was in shock. Her husband, Duane, and young daughter, Sherrie, were violently ill when word arrived that her infant nephew just died of mysterious causes. Days earlier, the entire family was happy, healthy, and living the American dream. Now they were at the center of a terrifying medical crisis.   Duane soon died in a condition unlike anything the doctors had ever seen. As they raced to discover what disease or toxin could have done so much damage so quickly, Lt. Foster Burchard of the Omaha police began to suspect foul play. Sandy herself became a primary suspect, as did her ex-boyfriend Steven Harper—a man prone to violence who never got over their breakup.   In Toxic Love, investigative reporter and true crime author Tomás Guillén offers a detailed and vivid account of this baffling case from the day of the poisoning to the harrowing trial and the murderer’s eventual suicide on death row.  
    Show book
  • Anne of Windy Poplars - cover

    Anne of Windy Poplars

    Lucy Maud Montgomery

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Anne Shirley has left Redmond College behind to begin a new job and a new chapter of her life away from Green Gables. Now she faces a new challenge: the Pringles. They're known as the royal family of Summerside - and they quickly let Anne know she is not the person they had wanted as principal of Summerside High School. But as she settles into the cozy tower room at Windy Poplars, Anne finds she has great allies in the widows Aunt Kate and Aunt Chatty – and in their irrepressible housekeeper, Rebecca Dew. As Anne learns Summerside's strangest secrets, winning the support of the prickly Pringles becomes only the first of her delicious triumphs.
    Show book
  • Deadly Darlings: The Horrifying True Accounts of Children Turned Into Murderers - Murder and Mayhem #2 - cover

    Deadly Darlings: The Horrifying...

    William Webb

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    ★★★  The scariest children you'll ever meet  ★★★ 
      
    If you've ever thought your child was bad, then you haven't seen anything yet! In the pages that follow, you are about to meet some of the most vicious children who ever lived. 
      
    The kids in this book are as young as ten-years-old and they are ruthless. The nice ones killed in cold blood—but many of these kids weren't nice…they wanted their victims to suffer. 
      
    Some were turned killers by their brutal home environments; others were just inherently evil. They were all deadly darlings you'd never want to meet on the street.
    Show book