Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
July's People - cover

July's People

Nadine Gordimer

Publisher: Bloomsbury Paperbacks

  • 2
  • 7
  • 0

Summary

For years, it has been what is called a 'deteriorating situation'. Now all over South Africa the cities are battlegrounds. The members of the Smales family - liberal whites - are rescued from the terror by their servant, July, who leads them to refuge in his native village. What happens to the Smaleses and to July - the shifts in character and relationships - gives us an unforgettable look into the terrifying, tacit understandings and misunderstandings between blacks and whites.

Who read this book also read:

  • I Do the Boss - Managing the Bosses Series #5 - cover

    I Do the Boss - Managing the...

    Lexy Timms

    • 1
    • 64
    • 0
    From Bestselling Author, Lexy Timms, comes a billionaire romance that'll make you swoon and fall in love all over again.  
     
     Jamie Connors has everything she ever dreamed of. A body that's lost its weight, confidence she never thought she had, the best job in the world and she's now engaged to the perfect future husband. 
     
    Except the fairytale of perfection might not be as wonderful as it seems-at least the press is trying to make it seem that way. When things emerge in the papers that she never knew about, she begins to question everything. 
    The past, the present and the future all seem to be colliding into one horrible ball of confusion. 
     
    Can she find her way through and put her faith and her heart into the hands of the man she loves? 
     
    ** I Do the Boss is book 5 in the Managing the Bosses series. ** 
    Managing the Bosses Series: 
    The Boss 
    The Boss Too 
    Who's the Boss Now 
    * Gift for the Boss (Christmas Novella) 
    Love the Boss 
    I Do the Boss 
    Wife of the Boss  
    Employed by the Boss   
    Brother to the Boss 
    Senior Advisor to the Boss 
    Forever the Boss 
     
    This is steamy romance, NOT erotica.
    Show book
  • Stay with Me - A Novel - cover

    Stay with Me - A Novel

    J. Lynn

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wait for You and Be with Me comes a daring tale that pushes boundaries . . . 
    At 21, Calla hasn't done a lot of things. She’s never been kissed, never seen the ocean, never gone to an amusement park. But growing up, she witnessed some things no child ever should.   She still carries the physical and emotional scars of living with a strung-out mother, Mona—secrets she keeps from everyone, including her close circle of college friends. 
    But the safe cocoon Calla has carefully built is shattered when she discovers her mom has stolen her college money and run up a huge credit card debt in her name. Now, Calla has to go back to the small town she thought shed left behind and clean up her mom’s mess again. Of course, when she arrives at her mother’s bar, Mona is nowhere to be found. Instead, six feet of hotness named Jackson James is pouring drinks and keeping the place humming. 
    Sexy and intense, Jax is in Calla’s business from they moment they meet, giving her a job and helping her search for Mona. And the way he looks at her makes it clear he wants to get horizontal . . . and maybe something more. Before Calla can let him get close, though, she’s got to deal with the pain of the past—and some very bad guys out to mess her up if she doesn't give them her mom.
    Show book
  • Dangerous Masquerade - cover

    Dangerous Masquerade

    Janet Dailey

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Every novel in this collection is your passport to a romantic tour of the United States through time-honored favorites by America’s First Lady of romance fiction. Each of the fifty novels is set in a different state, researched by Janet and her husband, Bill. For the Daileys it was an odyssey of discovery. For you, it’s the journey of a lifetime. Your tour of desire begins with this story set in Alabama.Shy and sweet, Laurie Evans looks a lot like her glamorous and impulsive cousin LaRaine . . . but their personalities are as different as night and day. And, now that LaRaine just landed her first movie role, she doesn’t have time for Rian Montgomery, her millionaire fiancé – or his faraway family. She talks Laurie into a DANGEROUS MASQUERADE and begs her to visit the Montgomery clan and pretend to be her, just this once. Laurie agrees to play the part . . . until Rian turns up unexpectedly . . .
    Show book
  • The Date - A Billionaire Matchmaker Novel - cover

    The Date - A Billionaire...

    Charlotte Byrd

    • 6
    • 26
    • 0
    When Chloe get her first wardrobe stylist job, she meets an arrogant and self-absorbed movie star, Finn Dalton. Finn is People’s Sexiest Man Alive and everyone thinks he’s a God, but Chloe doesn’t get it. He’s hot. His body looks like it had been chiseled from stone. But his attitude definitely needs an adjustment.  
     
    Finn is a famous and gorgeous playboy. He’s surrounded by women, but not the kind you can bring as a date to the Governor’s Ball. When he reaches out to Dolly Monroe, a billionaire matchmaker, she sets him up with the one girl who seems to be impervious to his charms.  
     
    Quickly, Chloe and Finn get locked in a game of seduction. But games of love are dangerous games to play…  
     
    This standalone novel contains a substantial excerpt of the first standalone novel in the series, Malibu Connection. Both are steamy books which follow two different couples.  
     
    This is a hot and steamy romance, which is ideal for fans of Sylvia Day, E. L. James, J.S. Cooper, and Lauren Blakely  
     
    This is a full-length novel with NO CLIFFHANGER and an HEA.  
     
    Show book
  • Twisted Together - The Chronicles of Kerrigan #8 - cover

    Twisted Together - The...

    W.J. May

    • 1
    • 20
    • 0
    Twisted Together is the 8th Book of W.J. May's bestselling series, The Chronicles of Kerrigan. 
      
    Rae Kerrigan has been branded a traitor. 
     
    Arrested with no idea why, Rae suddenly finds herself on the wrong side of the Privy Council and possibly for good. She’s branded a traitor, just like her father. 
    Forced to trust in someone she doesn’t know, she finds herself more confused than ever. Gabriel is cocky, brash, distractingly handsome and apparently working for the Privy Council under Carter. 
    Forced to prove her innocence, Rae will stop at nothing and risk everything. 
     
    Twisted Together is the 8th book in the Chronicles of Kerrigan series. 
     
    Follow Rae Kerrigan as she learns about the tattoo on her back that gives her supernatural powers, as she learns of her father's evil intentions and as she tries to figure out how coming of age, falling love and high-packed action fighting isn't as easy as the comic books make it look. 
      
    Series Order: 
    Rae of Hope 
    Dark Nebula 
    House of Cards 
    Royal Tea 
    Under Fire 
    End in Sight 
    Hidden Darkness 
    Twisted Together 
    Mark of Fate 
    Strength & Power 
    Last One Standing 
    Rae of Light 
    Prequel: Christmas Before the Magic
    Show book
  • Once Upon a Highland Summer - cover

    Once Upon a Highland Summer

    Lecia Cornwall

    • 0
    • 12
    • 0
    A lush Scottish historical romance in the vein of Karen Ranney and Karen Hawkins. 
    An ancient curse, a pair of meddlesome ghosts, a girl on the run, and a fateful misunderstanding make for the perfect chance at true love. 
    Lady Caroline Forrester is on the run from her brother's scheme to marry her off to the highest bidder. An escape to Scotland offers a chance at employment as a governess and freedom from an unhappy marriage—it's the perfect solution. But Caroline wasn't prepared for the feelings that her new employer brings out in her. 
    Alec McNabb, the reluctant Earl of Glenorne, never expected to return home to Scotland. But now that he's there, he realizes he has obligations that he cannot escape. Alec needs to marry well, and quickly. 
    When a case of mistaken identity—coupled with the sensual, magical atmosphere of Glenorne Castle—results in a passionate encounter, Caroline and Alec must decide whether their attraction is enough to overcome the problems of their pasts, or whether this one chance at true love was over before it began …
    Show book