Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Names and Secrets - cover

Names and Secrets

Mutali Chetambe

Publisher: East African Educational Publishers

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Names and Secrets won the Burt Book Award, Kenya and is the story of Chekai, a teenage boy who survives school bullying to become a champion of peaceful coexistence in an ethnically and economically divided society. Matur County is an example of a country that faces internal divisions. It is a county that is under increasing danger from external threats, including terrorism. Chekai is bullied by his teacher, Ms Letia and his class prefect, Goliath. This reflects the ethnic suspicions and economic inequalities that threaten to tear the society apart. However, Chekai thinks realistically about the problems in his society. Through curiosity, he discovers that unlike what is said, the people of Matur County have a lot in common. He realises that they will only defeat their real enemies if they are united. Chekai wins a presidential essay writing competition and becomes a peace ambassador. He uses his new position to chart a new path on which everyone will walk. This includes those who previously bullied him, and those who had been discriminated against.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dragon Flight - cover

    Dragon Flight

    Jessica Day George

    • 1
    • 25
    • 0
    The second book in New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George's charming, light-hearted fantasy series. 
     
    With  the Dragon Wars over, Creel finds herself bored with life as a  seamstress. Then word comes that a bordering country has been breeding  dragons in preparation for an invasion. Never one to miss out on the  action, Creel throws herself headlong into an adventure that will  reunite her with Shardas, the king of the dragons, pit her against a  vicious new dragon, and perhaps rekindle a friendship with Prince Luka.  
     
    Funny,  heart-felt, and action packed, new readers and returning fans alike  will dive headlong into this exhilarating follow up to Dragon Slippers. 
     
    Don't miss these other stories from New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George: 
     
    Dragon Slippers series 
    Dragon Slippers 
    Dragon Flight 
    Dragon Spear 
     
    The Rose Legacy series 
    The Rose Legacy 
     
    Tuesdays at the Castle series 
    Tuesdays at the Castle 
    Wednesdays in the Tower 
    Thursdays with the Crown 
    Fridays with the Wizards 
    Saturdays at Sea 
     
    The Twelve Dancing Princesses series 
    Princess of the Midnight Ball 
    Princess of Glass 
    Princess of the Silver Woods 
     
    Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow 
     
    Silver in the Blood
    Show book
  • The One - cover

    The One

    Kiera Cass

    • 15
    • 83
    • 0
    The captivating third book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
    America Singer searches for her happily ever after in this swoon-worthy YA dystopian romance, perfect for readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    Entering the Selection changed America Singer's life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she's made her choice . . . and she's prepared to fight for the future she wants. 
     Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book
  • Blood-Kissed Sky - cover

    Blood-Kissed Sky

    J. A. London

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    The second book in a romantic and drama-packed trilogy perfect for fans of Rachel Vincent, Julie Kagawa, and Alyson Noel. 
    Lusciously romantic and full of action-packed drama, readers will be swept away by this thrilling novel.  
    Dawn Montgomery knows that monsters really do come out at night—after all, they are her job. It’s just after the thirty-year war between vampires and humans, and as an ambassador between the two sides (a role she inherited when her parents were killed), Dawn quickly learns that balancing schoolwork, teen life, and the requests of Lord Valentine, the most frightening vampire in the region, isn’t easy. 
    There's nowhere left to hide. I thought vampires were our enemies—they controlled our lives, isolated our cities, and demanded our blood—until I met Victor. With Victor taking over as the new Lord Valentine, things were supposed to get better. Instead, they're worse than ever. 
    Day Walkers, a new breed of vampires who can walk in the sun, are terrorizing the city. Blood supplies are low, and if Victor's vampires don't get enough, they will become infected with the Thirst—a disease that will turn them into mindless killers. 
    To stop it, I must journey across the desolate wasteland to the very place where the sickness began. I can only hope that the answers that await me are enough to save us all...before it's too late.
    Show book
  • Survivors: The Gathering Darkness #1: A Pack Divided - cover

    Survivors: The Gathering...

    Erin Hunter

    • 2
    • 37
    • 0
    The first book in an epic new series about the Survivors dogs! From Erin Hunter, #1 nationally bestselling author of Warriors, Survivors is full of “wild and wonderful adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) that will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire. 
    For the first time Storm can remember, she has a place in a Pack, and the world that was devastated by the Big Growl is finally at peace. But tensions are rising among the dogs of the Wild Pack—and the greatest danger they face may come from within.
    Show book
  • Survivors: The Gathering Darkness #3: Into the Shadows - cover

    Survivors: The Gathering...

    Erin Hunter

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Darkness threatens the Wild Pack in this epic third book in the second Survivors series! From Erin Hunter, #1 nationally bestselling author of Warriors, Survivors is full of “wild and wonderful adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) that will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire. 
    Storm is determined to protect her Pack from any threat—but how can she protect it from her own Packmates? Some dog is sabotaging the Pack from within, and suspicion and distrust are tearing the dogs apart. If they don’t uncover the traitor soon, there will be nothing left for Storm to protect...
    Show book
  • Balance Keepers Book 2: The Pillars of Ponderay - cover

    Balance Keepers Book 2: The...

    Lindsay Cummings

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    This second book in the Balance Keepers series, by #1 New York Times bestselling author Lindsay Cummings, explodes with just as much magic, mystery, friendship, and humor as the first one. Fans of books like Brandon Mull’s The Candy Shop War or the Unwanteds series by Lisa McMann will love the action and imagination in this epic fantasy-adventure series. 
    With both boy and girl main characters, creatures like Hammerfin sharks to battle, a traitor to expose, and a boarding school that could be described as Hogwarts Underground, there’s something for every reader to enjoy in this series reminiscent of the classic Journey to the Center of the Earth. An anti-bullying theme also makes this great for in-classroom reading. 
    In The Pillars of Ponderay, Balance Keepers Albert, Birdie, and Leroy enter the underground watery Realm of Ponderay along with their archrival, Hoyt, in an attempt to reset the Balance of the Realm. If they don’t succeed in time, all of California above could be consumed by tsunamis and hurricanes.
    Show book