Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Room of the Dead - cover

The Room of the Dead

M.R.C. Kasasian

Publisher: Head of Zeus

  • 1
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

'A rival for M.C. Beaton' Frost Magazine. 
 
DECEMBER, 1939. 
 
Having solved the case of the Suffolk Vampire, Inspector Betty Church and her colleagues at Sackwater Police Station have settled back down to business. There's the elderly Mr Fern who keeps losing his slippers, Sylvia Satin's thirteenth birthday party to attend and the scintillating case of the missing bookmark to solve. 
 
Though peace and quiet are all well and good, Betty soon finds herself longing for some cold-blooded murder... 
 
When a bomb is dropped on a residential street, both peace and quiet are broken and it seems the war has finally reached Sackwater. But Betty cannot stop the Hun, however hard she tries. So when a body is found on Sackwater's beach, Betty concentrates on finding the enemy much closer to home. 
 
'Eccentric and entertaining with a nicely complex plot' Crime Review. 
 
'A wonderfully gripping old-fashioned murder mystery' The Lady.

Other books that might interest you

  • Trackers - cover

    Trackers

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Lemmer’s first rule is: “Don’t get involved.” A highly skilled bodyguard with a violent, criminal past, he has settled into a quiet life in Loxton, South Africa, where the rural tranquility has helped to calm his explosive temper. But when a wealthy farmer asks for his help in smuggling a pair of rare black rhinos out of Zimbabwe (where they are murdered for their horns), he has a hard time saying no. Before he knows it, Lemmer is on a small airplane, zipping across the border, an airsickness bag in his hand and a military-grade shotgun at his feet. Soon, he will regret the trip very much.In Trackers, internationally-acclaimed thriller writer Deon Meyer expertly weaves together Lemmer’s story with a missing person investigation and the machinations of a top intelligence agency. Wielding a phenomenal cast of characters, Meyer delves deep into the people, the breathtaking landscapes, and the politics and problems of this fascinating country. A #1 best-seller in South Africa, Trackers is an insightful novel that will take your breath away.
    Show book
  • Remains of Innocence - A Brady Novel of Suspense - cover

    Remains of Innocence - A Brady...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    Sheriff Joanna Brady must solve two perplexing cases that may be tied together in New York Times bestselling author J. A. Jance’s thrilling tale of suspense that brings to life Arizona’s Cochise County and the desert Southwest in all its beauty and mystery. 
    An old woman, a hoarder, is dying of emphysema in Great Barrington, Massachusetts. In cleaning out her house, her daughter, Liza Machett, discovers a fortune in hundred dollar bills hidden in the tall stacks of books and magazines that crowd every corner. 
    Tracing the money’s origins will take Liza on a journey that will end in Cochise County, where Sheriff Joanna Brady is embroiled in a personal mystery of her own. A man she considers a family friend is found dead at the bottom of a hole in a limestone cavern near Bisbee. And now there is the mystery of Liza and the money. Are the two disparate cases connected? It’s up to Joanna to find out.
    Show book
  • Thirteen Hours - cover

    Thirteen Hours

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    South African detective Benny Griessel has one day to solve two murders in the award winning, #1 bestselling thriller—“This book is great!” (Michael Connelly).  Winner of the Barry Award for Best Thriller   As morning dawns in Cape Town, Det. Capt. Benny Griessel finds himself facing a difficult day. A South African music executive has been shot dead. An American teenager’s body has been found on the street, her throat cut. And her friend Rachel Anderson is somewhere in the city, terrified and alone, but hopefully still alive. For both cases, time is short and media attention is high. And while the homicide detective has been sober for 156 days, day 157 is going to be a tough one . . .   A #1 bestseller in South Africa, winner of the 2011 Boeke Prize Fanatics Choice Award, and a finalist for the CWA International Dagger, Thirteen Hours is an atmospheric, intensely gripping novel from “a serious writer who richly deserves the international reputation he has built” (The Washington Post).   “Deon Meyer is one of the unsung masters. Thirteen Hours proves he should be on everyone’s reading list.” —Michael Connelly, New York Times–bestselling author of the Harry Bosch novels   “A deft storyteller.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Sail Away - cover

    Sail Away

    Celia Imrie

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The deliciously effervescent new novel from Celia Imrie, beloved character actress and author of Not Quite Nice, follows the exploits of two women on a cruise ship. 
      
    The phone hasn't rung for months. Suzy Marshall is discovering that work can be sluggish for an actress over sixty--even for the star of a wildly popular 1980s TV series. So when her agent offers her the plum role of Lady Bracknell in The Importance of Being Earnest in Zurich, it seems like a godsend. Until, that is, the play is abruptly cancelled under suspicious circumstances and Suzy is forced to take a job on a cruise ship to get home. 
     
    Meanwhile Amanda Herbert finds herself homeless in rainy Clapham. The purchase of her new apartment has fallen through, and her children are absorbed in their own dramas. Then she spots an advertisement for an Atlantic cruise and realizes that a few weeks onboard would tide her over and save her money until her housing situation is resolved. 
     
    As the two women set sail on a new adventure, neither can possibly predict the questionable characters and strange dealings they will encounter, nor the unexpected rewards they will reap. Vividly evoking the old-world glamour of a cruise ship--and the complex politics of its staff quarters--Sail Away is at once a hilarious romp and a thrilling adventure.
    Show book
  • The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe and Savage Thriller - cover

    The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe...

    James Hayman

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller! 
    Two identical women.  
    Two identical murders. Two lives brutally cut short  
    108 years apart 
    June 1904. 
    Aimée Garnier Whitby, a beautiful French artist and wife of one of Maine's richest and most powerful men, is found near death on the Whitby family's private summer island, the letter "A" mysteriously carved into her chest. 
    June 2012. 
    Veronica Aimée Whitby, the eighteen-year-old descendant and virtual double of the first Aimée, becomes the victim of a near perfect copycat murder. With another beautiful, promising young Whitby woman slain, the media begin to swarm and pressure builds for Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage to bring the killer quickly to justice. But the key to solving Aimée's death just might have been buried with her beautiful ancestor. 
    The latest McCabe and Savage thriller from USA Today bestselling author James Hayman is a crackling, twisty novel of suspense, perfect for fans of J.A. Jance and John Sandford.
    Show book
  • An Afternoon to Kill - cover

    An Afternoon to Kill

    Shelley Smith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This Victorian mystery with twists and turns will keep you gripped until the very last page: “Prim and petticoated and poisonous” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).   Lancelot Jones was on his way to his first job—as tutor to an Indian Rajah’s son. But the Rajah’s ancient plane and incompetent pilot dropped him in the middle of a desert. The wrong desert, at that.   Seeking shade, he finds the only dwelling of any size within miles and its curious owner, an old Englishwoman named Alva Hine. Taking him into her home, Alva begins to tell Lancelot an incredible tale. She tells him a strange story of a summer fifty years ago, of love and hate and murder in a respectable middle-class Victorian household . . .   And as the afternoon wears on, Alva’s story begins to take on an increasingly sinister note for the weary Mr. Jones. Soon, he has more than one reason to want to hear the end of the story . . .   “[An] amazing novel . . . I am completely under the spell of this fine writer.” —Pretty Sinister Books   “Entirely credible.” —Birmingham Post
    Show book