Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Turned (Book #1 in the Vampire Journals) - cover

Turned (Book #1 in the Vampire Journals)

Morgan Rice

Publisher: Morgan Rice

  • 10
  • 69
  • 2

Summary

"TURNED is a book to rival TWILIGHT and VAMPIRE DIARIES, and one that will have you wanting to keep reading until the very last page! If you are into adventure, love and vampires this book is the one for you!" --Vampirebooksite.com The #1 Bestseller! TURNED is book #1 in the #1 Bestselling series THE VAMPIRE JOURNALS, comprising 11 books (and counting). In TURNED (Book #1 of the Vampire Journals), 18 year old Caitlin Paine finds herself uprooted from her nice suburb and forced to attend a dangerous New York City high school when her Mom moves again. The one ray of light in her new surroundings is Jonah, a new classmate who takes an instant liking to her. But before their romance can blossom, Caitlin suddenly finds herself changing. She is overcome by a superhuman strength, a sensitivity to light, a desire to feed--by feelings she does not understand. She seeks answers to what’s happening to her, and her cravings lead her to the wrong place at the wrong time. Her eyes are opened to a hidden world, right beneath her feet, thriving underground in New York City. She finds herself caught between two dangerous covens, right in the middle of a vampire war. It is at this moment that Caitlin meets Caleb, a mysterious and powerful vampire who rescues her from the dark forces. He needs her to help lead him to the legendary lost artifact. And she needs him for answers, and for protection. Together, they will need to answer one crucial question: who was her real father? But Caitlin finds herself caught between two men as something else arises between them: a forbidden love. A love between the races that will risk both of their lives, and will force them to decide whether to risk it all for each other… "TURNED is an ideal story for young readers. Morgan Rice did a good job spinning an interesting twist on what could have been a typical vampire tale. Refreshing and unique, TURNED has the classic elements found in many Young Adult paranormal stories. Book #1 of the Vampire Journals Series focuses around one girl…one extraordinary girl!...TURNED is easy to read but extremely fast-paced....Recommended for anyone who likes to read soft paranormal romances. Rated PG." --The Romance Reviews “TURNED grabbed my attention from the beginning and did not let go….This story is an amazing adventure that is fast paced and action packed from the very beginning. There is not a dull moment to be found. Morgan Rice did an awesome job bringing the reader into the story. She also made it easy to root for Caitlin and want desperately to her succeed in finding her truth….I will be looking forward to the second book in the series.” --Paranormal Romance Guild “TURNED is a likable, easy, dark read that you can read in between other books, as it is short….You’re sure to be entertained!“ --books-forlife.blogspot.com

Other books that might interest you

  • Jenna & Jonah's Fauxmance - cover

    Jenna & Jonah's Fauxmance

    Emily Franklin, Brendan Halpin

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Fans of romance don't need to look any further than the fauxmance  
    brewing between teen idols Charlie Tracker and Fielding Withers-known on 
     their hit TV show as Jenna and Jonah, next-door neighbors flush with  
    the excitement of first love. But it's their off-screen relationship  
    that has helped cement their fame, as passionate fans follow their every 
     PDA. They grace the covers of magazines week after week. Their fan club 
     has chapters all over the country. The only problem is their off-screen 
     romance is one big publicity stunt, and Charlie and Fielding can't  
    stand to be in the same room. Still, it's a great gig, so even when the  
    cameras stop rolling, the show must go on, and on, and on. . . . Until  
    the pesky paparazzi blow their cover, and Charlie and Fielding must  
    disappear to weather the media storm. It's not until they're far off the 
     grid of the Hollywood circuit that they realize that there's more to  
    each of them than shiny hair and a winning smile.
    Show book
  • Jinx - cover

    Jinx

    Sage Blackwood

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The highly acclaimed first book of a fantasy adventure series set in a mysterious forest, starring a daring new hero. 
    "Readers will thrill to journey with Jinx" (SLJ, starred review), a wizard's apprentice, as he sets off on a quest through the dangerous Urwald, a magical forest full of wizards and were-creatures, and discovers that it is more complex than he could imagine, and that it needs him more than he could ever guess. 
    This humorous and smart tween fantasy adventure is perfect for fans of Septimus Heap, The Sisters Grimm, and Fablehaven. 
    Supports the Common Core State Standards
    Show book
  • Dangerous - cover

    Dangerous

    Shannon Hale

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    How far would you go to save the world? 
        
    When Maisie Danger Brown nabbed a spot at a NASA-like summer boot camp, she never expected to uncover a conspiracy that would change her life forever. 
        
    And she definitely didn't plan to fall in love. 
        
    But now there's no going back--Maisie's the only thing standing between the Earth and annihilation. She must become the hero the world needs. The only problem is: how does a regular girl from Salt Lake City do that, exactly? It's not as though there's a handbook for this sort of thing. It's up to Maisie to come up with a plan--and find the courage to carry it out-before she loses her heart . . . and her life. 
     
    Equal parts romance and action-adventure, this explosive story is sure to leave both longtime Shannon Hale fans and avid science fiction readers completely breathless.
    Show book
  • Me Him Them and It - cover

    Me Him Them and It

    Caela Carter

    • 0
    • 22
    • 0
    ME: Evelyn, closeted good girl turned bad. 
    HIM: Todd, her supposed Friend with Benefits. 
    THEM: Her cold, distant parents.  
    IT: The baby that's growing inside her. 
     
    When Evelyn decided to piss off her parents with a bad reputation, she wasn't planning to ruin her valedictorian status. She also wasn't planning to fall for Todd-the guy she was just using for sex. And she definitely wasn't planning on getting pregnant. When Todd turns his back on her, Evelyn's not sure where to go. Can a distant mother, a cheating father, an angry best friend, and a (thankfully) loving aunt with adopted daughters of her own help Evelyn make the heart-wrenching decisions that follow?
    Show book
  • Deliver Me - cover

    Deliver Me

    Kate Jarvik Birch

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    One People. One Union. One Future.  
     
    Wynne's entire life is dictated by the Union: the clothes she wears, the books she reads, even the genes she inherited. And like every other girl in the Union, Wynne dreams of being chosen as a Carrier on her 16th birthday-one of the elite selected to carry the future generation within her womb. Wynne and her best friend Odessa are certain they will both make the cut, but when Odessa is chosen and whisked off to a life of privilege, Wynne is left behind to work as an assistant, delivering perfectly planned babies for the Union. 
     
    As Odessa slips deeper and deeper into the role of Carrier, Wynne begins to see the Union for what it really is: a society that criminalizes the notion of love, and forbids words like mother and family. 
     
    For the first time in her life, Wynne is faced with a choice: submit to the will of the Union, or find a way to escape and save Odessa before she is lost forever.
    Show book
  • There Will Be Lies - cover

    There Will Be Lies

    Nick Lake

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In four hours, Shelby Jane Cooper will be struck by a car. 
     
    Shortly after, she and her mother will leave the hospital and set out on a winding journey toward the Grand Canyon. 
     
    All Shelby knows is that they're running from dangers only her mother understands. And the further they travel, the more Shelby questions everything about her past--and her current reality. Forced to take advantage of the kindness of unsuspecting travelers, Shelby grapples with what's real, what isn't, and who she can trust . . . if anybody. 
     
    Award-winning author Nick Lake proves his skills as a master storyteller in this heart-pounding new novel. This emotionally charged thrill ride leads to a shocking ending that will have readers flipping back to the beginning. 
     
    Awards for There Will Be Lies 
    A Boston Globe Best YA Book of 2015 
    A Texas TAYSHAS Pick
    Show book