You wouldn't limit the air you breathe. Why limit your readings?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Ladies of Gothic Horror - (A Collection of Classic Stories) - cover

Ladies of Gothic Horror - (A Collection of Classic Stories)

Mitzi Szereto

Publisher: Midnight Rain Publishing

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Classic gothic horror stories from the literary mistresses of the past!
 
Many of gothic horror’s spookiest tales have come from the pens of women. Yet a substantial number of these women were overshadowed by their male contemporaries, especially with regard to the classics. Ladies of Gothic Horror (A Collection of Classic Stories) redresses this imbalance by bringing together a selection of gothic stories from the past written exclusively by women. Carefully edited and compiled by author and anthologist Mitzi Szereto, Ladies of Gothic Horror offers readers plenty of good old-fashioned chills and thrills. Whether you’re a devotee of the genre, a literature lover, an academic or a student, this volume of short fiction is sure to please. The biographies accompanying each story will show that these women were anything but typical for their time. Includes seventeen stories from authors Mary Shelley, Elizabeth Gaskell, Edith Wharton, Marjorie Bowen, Gertrude Atherton, Virginia Woolf, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Elia W. Peattie and many more.
 
"Ladies of Gothic Horror (A Collection of Classic Stories) is a must-read for anyone who loves the horror, mystery, science fiction, or paranormal genres." - Long and Short Reviews
 
"An inspiring collection, to be enjoyed in its own right, preferably by candlelight while sat in your favourite chair…" - ScreamFix
 
"You’ll find some damn fine fiction in this collection and some equally impressive true stories." - Get On My Damn Level book reviews
 
"We have stories with ghosts, some malevolent, some seeking vengeance, and some simply waiting for a wrong to be corrected…. [Including] a thoughtful look into the time period, and the challenges that these women had faced in getting published, let alone in living their everyday lives." - Girl Who Reads

Other books that might interest you

  • Bitten By Cupid - cover

    Bitten By Cupid

    Lynsay Sands, Pamela Palmer,...

    • 5
    • 23
    • 0
    Just in time for Valentine’s Day, there’s Bitten by Cupid, a trio of sinfully hot novellas from three true masters of paranormal romance. These are contemporary love stories with a bite—as Lynsay Sands, New York Times bestselling author of The Renegade Hunter and the popular Argeneau vampire series, joins exciting up-and-comers Pamela Palmer and Jamie Rush to explore the passions of sexy shape-shifters, genetically enhanced humans, and (of course) the undead. Fans of Heroes, The X-Files, Fringe, and Torchwood will surely catch the love bug once they are Bitten by Cupid.
    Show book
  • Death Mask - gripping horror from a true master - cover

    Death Mask - gripping horror...

    Graham Masterton

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    How do you stop a murderer who can't be seen? 
     
    He appeared as if from nowhere, brutally slashed a man and a young woman in an office elevator, then vanished again without a trace. The woman survived and gave the police a detailed description of the killer's bizarre face, yet the police can find no sign of him anywhere. It's as if he never existed. But now he's killed again. And again. 
     
    One woman holds the key to his terrifying secret... but how do you stop a murderer who isn't there? 
     
    'One of the most original and frightening storytellers of our time' PETER JAMES. 
     
    'A true master of horror' JAMES HERBERT.
    Show book
  • A Fragment Too Far - A Sheriff Luke McWhorter Mystery - cover

    A Fragment Too Far - A Sheriff...

    Dudley Lynch

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    True Detective meets X-Files in the first installment of the Luke McWhorter series 
    		 
    Nine physicists are dead. The medical examiner has determined that the victims died from drinking coffee laced with rat poison. The owner of the house, Professor Thaddeus Huntgardner, isn’t suspected, but his claim that a piece of the debris from Roswell’s 1947 UFO crash was hidden in Flagler might be true. Enter Luther “Luke” Stephens McWhorter, a Yale Divinity School–educated West Texas sheriff with all the right questions.
    		 
    Is the fragment real? If so, who is trying to locate it? And what has fueled the byzantine activities of Abbot County’s two secret societies for the past 70 years? Working with FBI agent and girlfriend, Angie Steele, Sheriff Luke begins to put together all the pieces and come to understand the connection between seemingly unrelated phenomena.
    Show book
  • A Dream to Die For - A Novel - cover

    A Dream to Die For - A Novel

    Susan Z. Ritz

    • 4
    • 24
    • 0
    In Riverton Falls, a small New England town, globe-trotting bartender Celeste Fortune stands in her kitchen puzzling over last night’s frightening dream—a woman at a window, lilacs blowing in the breeze, someone’s hands tight around her neck. Celeste is sure the dream belongs to someone else. Perhaps she has finally broken through to the collective dreams of Dreamland cult. Hoping her therapist and cult leader will help her untangle it, she heads off into the cold November morning to her final appointment with him—or so she hopes. Her estranged fiancé has delivered an ultimatum: Leave the cult of Dreamers, or end their relationship for good.
    
    Instead of help, however, Celeste discovers her therapist dying in a pool of blood, skull stove in by his own healing crystal. His computer, containing the intimate dreams and secrets of half the town, is gone. Suspicion immediately falls on Celeste, known to be a rebellious member of his cult. To clear her name, Celeste enlists the help of her old friend, Gloria, and the two women set out to find the real culprit. But in the middle of their hunt, the stolen dreams seemingly come to life, terrifying the town—and Celeste and Gloria become the killer’s next target.
    Show book
  • Unspeakable - dark horror from a true master - cover

    Unspeakable - dark horror from a...

    Graham Masterton

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Her daughter is the target of evil... 
     
    Child welfare officer Holly Summers is deaf, but she has an amazing talent for lip-reading – a talent the police are very happy to call upon in difficult criminal investigations. 
     
    Using her unique gift to help the police investigate the recent disappearances of a string of women, Holly does not suspect that one of the enemies she's made in her day job has vowed a supernatural vengeance. The horror begins when the one person Holly is cares about is targeted: her precious daughter... 
     
    'One of the most original and frightening storytellers of our time' PETER JAMES. 
     
    'A true master of horror' JAMES HERBERT.
    Show book
  • Inside - cover

    Inside

    D.M. Siciliano

    • 2
    • 43
    • 2
    “Inside is a gripping, page-turning novel from a promising new horror writer.” -April A Taylor, award-winning author of The Haunting of Cabin Green and Sinkhole
     
    1987 “Does it burn in the dark?”Reid is a bully, but he’s still Alex’s best friend. When Reid pushes Alex and their friends into invading a historically haunted Massachusetts house, Alex knows it’s a terrible idea, but indulges his friend. What could go wrong?Inside, a mysterious Shadow looms in the darkness. The door to the house vanishes, leaving them trapped. The group flees through the tiny, one-roomed house that defies logic, constantly shifting, presenting them with new doors, hallways, and rooms that seem to be plucked from their memories and fears. One by one, the Shadow hunts them, intent on burning them all from within.Is there any way to escape? Or will they be burned from the inside out?
    Show book