Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Daughter of the Town - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Daughter of the Town

Miriam C. Crouch

Publisher: Black Rose Writing

  • 1
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

"Heartwarming, poignant… a joy to read." –Writer's Digest 
Claire Chastain reflects on her journey of childhood innocence and discovery in small-town Texas in the 1950s. She and best friend Libby share a lifetime of challenges and friendship although Claire is pampered and sheltered in contrast to street-savvy Libby. Claire is blindsided by her mother's devastating illness and ensuing conflicts with her beloved father. Her world of family traditional values crumbles and her lifelong dreams shatter. 
For the first time, she must make her own way and her own forever decisions. Libby has lived a life of poverty before being adopted by a ranch family and hides behind her tough outer shell to cover her deep emotional scars and broken spirit. She copes with continuing conflict (guilt, isolation and abandonment) after giving up her family for one with comfort and security but no emotional connection. Personal growth and redemption triumph in a heart-warming story of the power of love and forgiveness.

Other books that might interest you

  • Summary of Into Thin Air - by Jon Krakauer| Includes Analysis - cover

    Summary of Into Thin Air - by...

    . Instaread

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Inside this Instaread Summary of Into Thin Air:
     
     
     
    Overview of the book
     
    Important People
     
    Key Takeaways
     
    Analysis of Key Takeaways
    Show book
  • Under the Volcano - A Novel - cover

    Under the Volcano - A Novel

    Malcolm Lowry

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Lowry’s masterpiece” about a fateful Day of the Dead in a small Mexican town and one man’s struggle against the forces threatening to destroy him (Los Angeles Times). In what the New York Times calls “one of the towering novels of [the twentieth] century,” former British consul Geoffrey Firmin lives alone with his demons in the shadow of two active volcanoes in South Central Mexico. Gripped by alcoholism, Geoffrey makes one last effort to salvage his crumbling life on the day that his ex-wife, Yvonne, arrives in town.   It’s the Day of the Dead, 1938. The couple wants to revive their marriage and undo the wrongs of their past, but they soon realize that they’ve stumbled into the wrong place and time, where not only Geoffrey and Yvonne, but the world itself is on the edge of Armageddon.   Hailed by the Modern Library as one of the one hundred best English novels of the twentieth century, Under the Volcano stands as an iconic and richly drawn example of the modern novel at its most lyrical.
    Show book
  • The Alice Network - A Novel - cover

    The Alice Network - A Novel

    Kate Quinn

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Featuring an exclusive excerpt from Kate Quinn's next incredible historical novel, THE HUNTRESS 
      
    NEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY BESTSELLER 
    #1 GLOBE AND MAIL HISTORICAL FICTION BESTSELLER 
    One of NPR's Best Books of the Year! 
    One of Bookbub's Biggest Historical Fiction Books of the Year! 
    Reese Witherspoon Book Club Summer Reading Pick! 
    The Girly Book Club Book of the Year! 
    A Summer Book Pick from Good Housekeeping, Parade, Library Journal, Goodreads, Liz and Lisa, and BookBub 
      
    In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947—are brought together in a mesmerizing story of courage and redemption.  
    1947. In the chaotic aftermath of World War II, American college girl Charlie St. Clair is pregnant, unmarried, and on the verge of being thrown out of her very proper family. She's also nursing a desperate hope that her beloved cousin Rose, who disappeared in Nazi-occupied France during the war, might still be alive. So when Charlie's parents banish her to Europe to have her "little problem" taken care of, Charlie breaks free and heads to London, determined to find out what happened to the cousin she loves like a sister. 
    1915. A year into the Great War, Eve Gardiner burns to join the fight against the Germans and unexpectedly gets her chance when she's recruited to work as a spy. Sent into enemy-occupied France, she's trained by the mesmerizing Lili, the "Queen of Spies", who manages a vast network of secret agents right under the enemy's nose.  
    Thirty years later, haunted by the betrayal that ultimately tore apart the Alice Network, Eve spends her days drunk and secluded in her crumbling London house. Until a young American barges in uttering a name Eve hasn't heard in decades, and launches them both on a mission to find the truth...no matter where it leads. 
    “Both funny and heartbreaking, this epic journey of two courageous women is an unforgettable tale of little-known wartime glory and sacrifice. Quinn knocks it out of the park with this spectacular book!”—Stephanie Dray, New York Times bestselling author of America's First Daughter
    Show book
  • Murderous Mind A - A Naomi Blake British Mystery - cover

    Murderous Mind A - A Naomi Blake...

    Jane A. Adams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The murder of a student re-opens a series of cold cases in this intriguing mysteryA young student is found brutally murdered in her room, killed while her flatmates slept nearby. The police soon recognize that this is frighteningly similar to a crime committed fifteen years before. A crime investigated by the now discredited Detective Inspector Joe Jackson, but never solved.Other deaths, linked to the same modus operandi and stretching back more than twenty years, have also remained unsolved. No link has been found between the victims – but it seems Joe Jackson had a perpetrator in mind. He had however been unable to prove his guilt.Can the new investigation trust the judgement of a man who was himself a killer? Or did that give Naomi Blake’s one-time friend and mentor an insight his colleagues did not have?
    Show book
  • The Art Teacher: Shocking Page-Turning Crime Thriller - cover

    The Art Teacher: Shocking...

    Paul Read

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    'A fast-paced and gritty read.' --The Daily Mail 
    'An impressive feat' --Publishers Weekly 
    'This is a superb debut... gritty, disturbing and pacy. It opens with thrilling intensity and never lets up.' --Alex Lake, author of After Anna 
    Patrick Owen managed seven years at Highfields Secondary School without punching a pupil in the face. 
    Unknowingly drawn into a war against his own pupils, Patrick's patience finally snaps as he finds himself the number one target with the boy the school just can't seem to expel. 
    When one of his Art students needs his help, she unwittingly pulls Patrick further into the line of fire, altering their lives forever. 
    With the media circling and rumours of his involvement reaching new highs, Patrick must escape the world he lives in, or face the consequences. 
    A gritty, harrowing page-turner. Perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Peter James
    Show book
  • Name Withheld - A JP Beaumont Mystery - cover

    Name Withheld - A JP Beaumont...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An explosive novel of betrayal and blood vengeance featuring Seattle detective J.P. Beaumont. 
    There are those who don’t deserve to live—and the corpse floating in Elliott Bay may have been one of those people. Not surprisingly, many individuals, too many in fact, are eager to take responsibility for the brutal slaying of the hated biotech executive whose alleged crimes ranged from the illegal trading of industrial secrets to rape. For Seattle Detective J.P. Beaumont—who’s drowning in his own life-shattering problems—a case of seemingly justifiable homicide has sinister undertones, drawing the haunted policeman into a corporate nightmare world of double deals, savage jealousies, and real blood spilled far too easily, as it leads him closer to a killer he’s not sure he wants to find.
    Show book