As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Reconsidering Laura Ingalls Wilder - Little House and Beyond - cover

Reconsidering Laura Ingalls Wilder - Little House and Beyond

Miranda Green-Barteet, Anne K. Phillips

Publisher: University Press of Mississippi

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Contributions by Emily Anderson, Elif S. Armbruster, Jenna Brack, Christine Cooper-Rompato, Christiane E. Farnan, Melanie J. Fishbane, Vera R. Foley, Sonya Sawyer Fritz, Miranda A. Green-Barteet, Anna Thompson Hajdik, Keri Holt, Shosuke Kinugawa, Margaret Noodin, Anne K. Phillips, Dawn Sardella-Ayres, Katharine Slater, Lindsay Stephens, and Jericho WilliamsReconsidering Laura Ingalls Wilder: Little House and Beyond offers a sustained, critical examination of Wilder's writings, including her Little House series, her posthumously published and unrevised The First Four Years, her letters, her journalism, and her autobiography, Pioneer Girl. The collection also draws on biographies of Wilder, letters to and from Wilder and her daughter, collaborator and editor Rose Wilder Lane, and other biographical materials. Contributors analyze the current state of Wilder studies, delineating Wilder's place in a canon of increasingly diverse US women writers, and attending in particular to issues of gender, femininity, space and place, truth, and collaboration, among other issues.The collection argues that Wilder's work and her contributions to US children's literature, western literature, and the pioneer experience must be considered in context with problematic racialized representations of peoples of color, specifically Native Americans. While Wilder's fiction accurately represents the experiences of white settlers, it also privileges their experiences and validates, explicitly and implicitly, the erasure of Native American peoples and culture. The volume’s contributors engage critically with Wilder's writings, interrogating them, acknowledging their limitations, and enhancing ongoing conversations about them while placing them in context with other voices, works, and perspectives that can bring into focus larger truths about North American history. Reconsidering Laura Ingalls Wilder examines Wilder's strengths and weaknesses as it discusses her writings with context, awareness, and nuance.

Other books that might interest you

  • Murder in a Minute - cover

    Murder in a Minute

    Shouvik Bhattacharya

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    When a young woman is found lifeless in a pool of her own blood, everyone is convinced that it is her college sweetheart who murdered her. The victim's step-brothers, Rishabh and Arya,embark on a journey to unearth the truth, a journey riddled with fallacies and conspiracies, planted intentionally. What connection is there between a missing blue envelope, a misplaced sweater and stray footprints in a room. Could those people they thought they knew so well be hiding dark secrets about their past? Or did their dead sister have more to hide than they imagined?
    Show book
  • Think Little - Essays - cover

    Think Little - Essays

    Wendell Berry

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The first in the new Counterpoints series, Think Little is an evergreen, ever-urgent, and now pocket-sized argument for focused and inclusive climate change activism
    Designed and priced for point-of-sale, the Counterpoints series will feature essays, poems, and stories from Wendell Berry, Gary Snyder, Mary Robison, Betty Fussell, MFK Fisher, and many more
    Berry argues that environmental activism and policy change cannot only be a public, large-scale, corporate- and organization-led; instead, changes must happen at the person, individual, and community levels in order for our attempts to slow climate change to be successful. Just as the Civil Rights movement had to become personal, had to be adopted in homes and communities across the country in order to gain momentum and critical mass, so too does environmental activism
    Berry also reminds us that the forces that would exploit people based on their race, gender, and socioeconomic status are the same forces that are content to exploit the earth for its natural resources
    Show book
  • Blackwatertown - cover

    Blackwatertown

    Paul Waters

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Blackwatertown is atmospheric crime fiction that will appeal to fans of Maurice Leitch, James Ellroy, Andrea Camilleri and Lee Child. 
    Author available for events, talks and signings in the UK and Ireland – and by arrangement elsewhere. 
    Twitter: @paulwaters99 
    Facebook: @paulwatersauthor 
    Instagram: @paul_waters_author
    Show book
  • Jihad Academy - The Rise of Islamic State - cover

    Jihad Academy - The Rise of...

    Nicolas Hénin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When you keep repeating that the worst is about to happen, it finally does. The threat of terrorism has caught up with us. By invading Iraq in 2003 and not intervening in Syria since 2011, we have helped fuel radicalization. And we continue to fuel it, by making diplomatic compromises with dictators, by refusing to heed the suffering of populations, and by failing to invent counter-speech. What is the responsibility of our societies in the creation of these new jihadists? How are they molded? How have we played the Islamic State's game and spread its propaganda, allowing it to invade our neighborhoods and enlist more and more recruits ready to fight for a distorted fantasy of Islam? Nicolas Hénin presents the case against the West, showing how its mistakes and inaction have contributed to the disaster. He also advances possible strategies to repair what can still be repaired.
    Show book
  • Olympe de Gouges - Escritos disidentes - cover

    Olympe de Gouges - Escritos...

    Lina Meruane, Olympe de Gouges

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    En 1793, la escritora de la primera reivindicación de los derechos de la mujer, Olympe de Gouges, fue guillotinada en la actual Place de la Concorde de París. En plena Revolución francesa, de Gouges se convierte en una de las intelectuales más osadas de su tiempo: empuñaba su pluma para escribir tratados, diatribas, ensayos epistolares e incluso teatro abolicionista, enfrentando los incesantes sabotajes de sus pares políticos y literarios.
    Estos escritos, que ella misma imprimía en formato de libros, afiches y panfletos, revistieron los muros de la ciudad. De Gouges pasó a la historia como una de las figuras más importantes de las primeras corrientes feministas, hasta ahora leída únicamente a través de biografías. Escritos disidentes coloca en circulación, por primera vez en nuestra lengua, una selección de su dramaturgia y ensayos políticos prologados por Lina Meruane. Ambas autoras conforman una escena letrada ficticia donde irrumpen con la potencia de su imaginación política y dialogan en las lindes de sus propias épocas.
    Show book
  • Churchill's Trial - Winston Churchill and the Salvation of Free Government - cover

    Churchill's Trial - Winston...

    Dr. Larry Arnn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    No statesman shaped the twentieth century more than Winston Churchill. To know the full Churchill is to understand the combination of boldness and caution, of assertiveness and humility, that defines statesmanship at its best. With fresh perspective and insights based on decades of studying and teaching Churchill, Larry P. Arnn explores the greatest challenges faced by Churchill over the course of his extraordinary career, both in war and peace—and always in the context of Churchill’s abiding dedication to constitutionalism. 
    Churchill’s Trial is organized around the three great challenges to liberty that Churchill faced: Nazism, Soviet communism, and his own nation’s slide toward socialism. Churchill knew that stable free government, long enduring, is rare, and hangs upon the balance of many factors ever at risk. Combining meticulous scholarship with an engrossing narrative arc, this book holds timely lessons for today. Arnn says, “Churchill’s trial is also our trial. We have a better chance to meet it because we had in him a true statesman.” 
    In a scholarly, timely, and highly erudite way, Larry Arnn puts the case for Winston Churchill continuing to be seen as statesman from whom the modern world can learn important lessons. In an age when social and political morality seems all too often to be in a state of flux, Churchill’s Trial reminds us of the enduring power of the concepts of courage, duty, and honor. 
    --Andrew Roberts, New York Times bestselling author of Napoleon: A Life and The Storm of War 
      
    Larry Arnn has spent a lifetime studying the life and accomplishments of Winston Churchill. In his lively Churchill’s Trial, Arnn artfully reminds us that Churchill was not just the greatest statesman and war leader of the twentieth century, but also a pragmatic and circumspect thinker whose wisdom resonates on every issue of our times. 
    --Victor Davis Hanson, senior fellow, The Hoover Institution, Stanford University 
      
    In absorbing, gracefully written historical and biographical narration, Larry Arnn shows that Churchill, often perceived as inconsistent and opportunistic, was in fact philosophically rigorous and consistent at levels of organization higher and deeper than his detractors are capable of imagining. In Churchill’s Trial Arnn has rendered great service not only to an incomparable statesman but to us, for the magnificent currents that carried Churchill through his trials are as admirable, useful, and powerful in our times as they were in his. 
    --Mark Helprin, New York Times bestselling author of Winter’s Tale and In Sunlight and in Shadow 
      
    Churchill’s Trial, a masterpiece of political philosophy and practical statesmanship, is the one book on Winston Churchill that every undergraduate, every graduate student, every professional historian, and every member of the literate general public should read on this greatest statesman of the twentieth century. The book is beautifully written, divided into three parts–war, empire, peace–and thus covers the extraordinary life of Winston Churchill and the topics which define the era of his statesmanship.  
    --Lewis E. Lehrman, cofounder of the Lincoln and Soldiers Institute at Gettysburg College and distinguished director of the Abraham Lincoln Association
    Show book