Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
True Crime Chronicles Volume Two - Serial Killers Outlaws and Justice Real Crime Stories From The 1800s - cover

True Crime Chronicles Volume Two - Serial Killers Outlaws and Justice Real Crime Stories From The 1800s

Mike Rothmiller

Publisher: WildBlue Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Newspaper reports of Jack the Ripper, Jesse James, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, and others compiled by the New York Times–bestselling author.   Former detective and bestselling author Mike Rothmiller has brought together classic works of journalism that will take the reader on a fascinating journey back in time to when these horrific tales mesmerized a nation. Some may find these articles and their descriptions of people and crimes shocking by today’s standards, but they are representative of the most colorful true crime stories of the dayTrue Crime Chronicles, Volume Two includes stories about Billy the Kid, Jesse James, the legendary “Jack the Ripper,” Lizzie Halliday, Anna Maria Zwanziger, Jack the Haircutter, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, The Nebraska Murderer, and many more shocking stories. Follow along as these reporters from another century visit the crime scenes, interview witnesses, and pen the stories of murder, evil, and swift frontier justice.
Available since: 12/08/2020.
Print length: 306 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • To Be A Student - Vocation and Leisure in Service to Neighbor - cover

    To Be A Student - Vocation and...

    Scott Keith, Scott Ashmon

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It might sound strange to say that being a student is a vocation in and of itself, but it is. It is much more than a path to a profession or financial wellbeing. As it is with all true vocations, this opportunity is a holy and honorable calling placed upon individuals by God. It is another avenue whereby we can enjoy God's gifts, and serve God and our neighbor. Join Dr. Ashmon and Dr. Keith as they explore the joys and duties of this special role.
    Show book
  • New Dawn - The Battles for Fallujah - cover

    New Dawn - The Battles for Fallujah

    Richard S. Lowry

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This award–winning “powerful narrative history” presents a vividly detailed chronicle of grueling combat operations in Fallujah during the Iraq War (Midwest Book Review). 
     
    Few places are as closely associated with blood, sacrifice, and valor as the ancient city Fallujah, forty miles west of Baghdad. This sprawling concrete jungle was the scene of two major U.S. combat operations in 2004. The first, Operation Vigilant Resolve, was an aborted effort by U.S. Marines to punish the city’s insurgents. The second, Operation Phantom Fury, was launched seven months later. 
     
    Also known as the Second Battle for Fallujah, Operation Phantom Fury was a protracted house-to-house and street-to-street conflict that began on November 7th and continued unabated for seven bloody weeks. It was the largest fight of Operation Iraqi Freedom and the heaviest urban combat since the Battle of Hue City, Vietnam in 1968. By the time the fighting ended, more than 1,400 insurgents were dead, along with ninety-five Americans (and another 1,000 wounded). 
     
    In New Dawn, military historian Richard Lowry draws on archival research, as well as the personal recollections of nearly 200 soldiers and Marines who participated in the battles for Fallujah, from the commanding generals who planned the operations to the privates who kicked in the doors. The result is a gripping narrative of individual sacrifice and valor that also documents the battles for future military historians. 
     
    Winner of the Military Writers Society of America Gold Medal for History
    Show book
  • Las Vegas The Grand - The Strip the Casinos the Mob the Stars - cover

    Las Vegas The Grand - The Strip...

    Mike Carpenter

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Explore the storied history of the Las Vegas Strip with this engrossing audiobook. Learn about iconic resorts, attractions, and historic moments that have shaped the city over time. Follow the changes in architecture and entertainment options that made Las Vegas what it is today. This book is an essential guide for those seeking to uncover how one dusty expanse of dirt became the gambling mecca of the world, boasting some of the most famous and largest casinos and hotels anywhere, which attract more than 40 million visitors a year. Witness firsthand developers' perspectives on creating stunning properties like the Mirage, Bellagio, Venetian, Caesars Palace, MGM Grand, Circus Circus, and many more. Get an inside look at what it took to make Las Vegas into the international destination it is today!Revised and updated in February 2021
    Show book
  • The Tudors - The Kings and Queens of England's Golden Age Jane Bingham - cover

    The Tudors - The Kings and...

    Jane Bingham

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Tudor dynasty presided over one of the most dynamic periods in English history, an era that witnessed courtly conspiracies and public executions, religious reformation and exploration. Its fearsome monarchs transformed England from a minor medieval kingdom into a major player on the world stage. The Tudors reveals the complex personalities behind this powerful family, and the passions and jealousies that spurred them on. From the penny-pinching Henry VII to his profligate, wife-hungry son Henry VIII, and from the religious persecutions of Mary I to the ‘golden age' of her sister Elizabeth I, this is a gripping, entertaining romp through a fascinating age.
    Show book
  • Roar Back - cover

    Roar Back

    John Farrow

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "Remarkable stuff. Fans of Bill James' Harpur and Iles saga of cops and robbers are in for quite a treat" - Kirkus Reviews Starred ReviewSergeant-Detective Émile Cinq-Mars fails with a task set to him by his former captain and the consequences look set to spark a gangland war in Montreal.Montreal, 1978. Newly promoted Sergeant-Detective Émile Cinq-Mars attends the scene of seventeen break-ins at an apartment complex. Nothing more than stolen toasters. Cinq-Mars suspects that the burglaries are a trial run for a bigger heist . . . until he discovers a body pinned to a wall with a machete in one apartment.    When the former captain of Night Patrol, Armand Touton, receives a tip from an undercover informant in the Mafia, Cinq-Mars is ordered to intervene with a prisoner's release: the man must stay behind bars. He fails with the task and the immediate consequences are devastating.     While trying to remedy his failure, solve the mystery of the break-ins and the case of the dead body, a chilling aspect emerges . . . gangland Montreal is bracing for war.
    Show book
  • Our Joyce - From Outcast to Icon - cover

    Our Joyce - From Outcast to Icon

    Joseph Kelly

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    James Joyce began his literary career as an Irishman writing to protest the deplorable conditions of his native country. Today, he is an icon in a field known as "Joyce studies." Our Joyce explores this amazing transformation of a literary reputation, offering a frank look into how and for whose benefit literary reputations are constructed.    Joseph Kelly looks at five defining moments in Joyce's reputation. Before 1914, when Joyce was most in control of his own reputation, he considered himself an Irish writer speaking to the Dublin middle classes. When T. S. Eliot and Ezra Pound began promoting Joyce in 1914, however, they initiated a cult of genius that transformed Joyce into a prototype of the "egoist," a writer talking only to other writers.    This view served the purposes of Morris Ernst in the 1930s, when he defended Ulysses against obscenity charges by arguing that geniuses were incapable of obscenity and that they wrote only for elite readers. That view of Joyce solidified in Richard Ellmann's award-winning 1950s biography, which portrayed Joyce as a self-centered genius who cared little for his readers and less for the world at war around him. The biography, in turn, led to Joyce's canonization by the academy, where a "Joyce industry" now flourishes within English departments.
    Show book