Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
World of Peyton - A Celebration of his Legendary Cartoons from 1942 to the Present Day - cover

World of Peyton - A Celebration of his Legendary Cartoons from 1942 to the Present Day

Mike Peyton

Publisher: Thomas Reed

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Mike Peyton drew his first cartoon in 1942. At the time he was interned in a German prisoner of war camp, and the cartoon appeared in a newspaper run by and for his fellow prisoners. Seventy years later, Mike has had to put the cap back on his pen permanently as failing eyesight has prevented him from drawing any more cartoons for the Yachting Monthly Confessional column for which he has become so well loved in recent years. 
 
Having provided illustrations for magazines as varied as the Church of England Times and Corsetry & Underwear, Mike became best known for cartoons relating to his first love - yachting (and as he will happily point out, he had a boat before he had a car). To celebrate his career, Adlard Coles Nautical presents this hilarious retrospective of the very best of Mike's cartoons from the last eight decades, a collection that will bring a smile to the face of even the most rain-sodden sailor stuck in his marina berth for another week supposedly in summer. 
 
When yachting journalist Dick Durham wrote Mike's biography, he called Mike 'the world's greatest yachting cartoonist' and this book shows why. Witty, wise and well-executed, Mike's lively, perceptive and highly distinctive cartoons will speak to anyone who has ever taken to the water.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Love Fool - cover

    The Love Fool

    Lorenzo Petruzziello

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Alex recently moved to Italy for an opportunity at a PR firm in Rome. His first client is the beautiful Danish chef Pernille Bjørn, a popular model, TV personality, and cookbook author just entering the booming televised cooking show market in Italy.  Alex’s single-minded career focus is soon thwarted by Emily, an ex-girlfriend he hasn’t heard from in almost a decade.
    Show book
  • A Charlie Davies Mystery Collection Books 4-6 - The Charlie Davies Mysteries - cover

    A Charlie Davies Mystery...

    Clare Kauter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Charlie Davies is back, and now that she's a licensed PI there's no stopping her.  
    Join Charlie on her mystery-solving adventures in this value-packed, binge-worthy boxset! 
    Higher Learning: 
    Charlie Davies is about to face her worst nightmare: she's going back to high school. Following the death of a local schoolgirl, Charlie must go undercover to find out who is dealing drugs to students. Not only does this mean heading back to class, but she must also get to know the girl's friends - who happen to be cheerleaders. Time to break out the pom-poms. 
    Santa's Little Helper: 
    There's a flashing Santa on the loose, jingling his bells at unsuspecting holiday shoppers. Since Charlie is currently on her boss's naughty list, she must go undercover as an elf to try and track this wayward Santa down. This means that at the jolliest time of year, Charlie will be reunited with her greatest enemy: retail. 
    Undetected: 
    All the signs point to Charlie's big bro, Topher, being back in town. The trouble is, Charlie can't find him - and she's not the only one looking. Even for an amazing PI, this is a tricky case, and Charlie's hardly in the 'amazing' category. With the police searching for her brother, convinced that he's a murderer, Charlie's racing against the clock to find him and help him before he's arrested - or worse. 
    What other readers are saying… 
    "action-packed, laugh filled adventure" 
    "This author makes me laugh out loud and re-read lines just to keep giggling." 
    "entertaining and addictive" 
    "I haven't come across a Charlie Davies Mystery that I haven't enjoyed yet"
    Show book
  • The Smart Words and Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill - cover

    The Smart Words and Wicked Wit...

    Max Morris

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “For myself I am an optimist,” said legendary British politician Winston Churchill. “It does not seem to be much use being anything else.”Have you ever wanted to deliver the ultimate Churchillian wisecrack? Give sound advice to a peer on how to deal with life’s problems? Or contribute to a heated discussion on international politics? The Smart Words and Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill is the perfect pocket book to carry around in your arsenal as you laugh at Churchill’s devious brand of smarts and learn from his political and humanist outlook on life during the turmoil of the Second World War. Discover what he had to say about domestic politics, war and peace, power, struggles and strife, education, philosophy, and some of the biggest names of his time, including himself.Beautifully designed and curated, this entertaining collection compiles the wisest and wittiest Churchill quotations that speak of the politician’s enduring legacy in contemporary pop culture. Full of savvy and wisdoms, The Smart Words and Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill is sure to delight devoted fans of history and casual readers alike.
    Show book
  • Classic Book of Rude Jokes - Crass Humor for the Discriminating Jokester - cover

    Classic Book of Rude Jokes -...

    Scott McNeely

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    For jokesters who like their humor on the dark side, this Classic Book of Rude Jokes compiles the most hilariously crass jokes out there in one compact volume. Scott McNeely, author of Ultimate Book of Jokes, has mined decades of rude joke history in search of the best of the worst jokes that were too shocking to include in his first collection. From dirty blonde jokes and tasteless religious jokes to the just plain sick and twisted, no one escapes offense in this collection of gags that is sure to please even the crudest comedian.
    Show book
  • Live and Let Bondi - The Baxter & Co Mysteries #1 - cover

    Live and Let Bondi - The Baxter...

    Clare Kauter

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Welcome to the Shitty Cases Division.  
    Natalia isn’t sure about the new PI in the office. It seems like the bosses aren’t sure about him either, because they’ve ordered her to babysit him. What’s his deal? He’s keeping secrets, which isn’t ideal behaviour from someone who’s supposed to watch your back. Oh well. He’ll probably run screaming when he finds out what his first case is, anyway. 
    Billy is back at his dream job after a year away, and nothing is going to ruin his good mood. OK, so he’s being supervised by someone with less experience than him. Whatever. He’s back, and now it’s time to – wait, what? His first case is… to solve a murder. 
    For a ghost. 
    Right. 
    As if that’s not bad enough, there’s definitely something shady going on in the Sydney office of Baxter & Co., and Billy and Natalia don’t know who they can trust.  
    They’re not even sure about each other.  
    A new comedy-mystery series from author Clare Kauter. Perfect for fans of The Charlie Davies Mysteries!
    Show book
  • The Alcohol Memoirs - A FUN PLACE FOR DRUNKS DRUG USERS AND VOYEURS - cover

    The Alcohol Memoirs - A FUN...

    Misty Moreton

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Remember that one company Christmas party where you drank twelve shots of tequila and three Long Island Iced Teas? And then ended up dancing naked on the conference table, only to pass out face-first in your boss’s wife’s lap? And remember later that year, when your co-workers brought it up in front of the new hires, and you blushed red, even though deep down you were secretly proud? The Alcohol Memoirs are true stories that will enlighten you—about the Gin-&-Tonic-fueled double-life of your swinger neighbors, the math club’s assistant organizer back in high school, those people your parents play bridge with every month, your sister’s lecherous yuppie tennis teacher, and that mysterious guy ahead of you ringing a dozen red roses through the fifteen items or less grocery line. These are wickedly delicious stories told by regular people who lost their inhibitions and found their secret selves. Welcome to The Alcohol Memoirs. Drinks are on us.
    Show book