As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
In the Red Corner - The Marxism of José Carlos Mariátegui - cover

In the Red Corner - The Marxism of José Carlos Mariátegui

Mike Gonzalez

Publisher: Haymarket Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Mariátegui’s work continues to inspire millions across Latin America, and offers insights that have an enduring relevance for activists on this side of the border. He was among the first modern thinkers (in the 1920s) to discuss what Marxism has to offer, and to learn from, the struggle of Indigenous peoples—a question raised again in the context of the fight to stop the DAPL pipeline at Standing Rock—and his work on the question has been cited favorably by both Hugo Chavez and Evo Morales.

Other books that might interest you

  • Elderhood - Redefining Aging Transforming Medicine Reimagining Life - cover

    Elderhood - Redefining Aging...

    Louise Aronson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in General Nonfiction 
    A New York Times Bestseller 
    Longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction 
    Winner of the WSU AOS Bonner Book Award 
     
    As revelatory as Atul Gawande's Being Mortal, physician and award-winning author Louise Aronson's Elderhood is an essential, empathetic look at a vital but often disparaged stage of life. 
      
     For more than 5,000 years, "old" has been defined as beginning between the ages of 60 and 70. That means most people alive today will spend more years in elderhood than in childhood, and many will be elders for 40 years or more. Yet at the very moment that humans are living longer than ever before, we've made old age into a disease, a condition to be dreaded, denigrated, neglected, and denied.  
      
     Reminiscent of Oliver Sacks, noted Harvard-trained geriatrician Louise Aronson uses stories from her quarter century of caring for patients, and draws from history, science, literature, popular culture, and her own life to weave a vision of old age that's neither nightmare nor utopian fantasy--a vision full of joy, wonder, frustration, outrage, and hope about aging, medicine, and humanity itself.  
      
     Elderhood is for anyone who is, in the author's own words, "an aging, i.e., still-breathing human being."
    Show book
  • Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II and Her Court - cover

    Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II...

    Robert Hardman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of The Crown, this “intimate portrait” of England’s longest-reigning queen takes you behind the scenes of a thoroughly modern monarchy (BBC Entertainment). History knows no monarch like her. She has traveled farther than all her predecessors combined, lived the longest of any of them, and known more historic figures—from Winston Churchill to Nelson Mandela, Charles de Gaulle to Barack Obama—than anyone alive. Now, distinguished royal writer Robert Hardman has been granted special access to the world of Queen Elizabeth II in order to produce an unparalleled portrait of one of the most popular public figures on earth. Arguably Britain’s best-known observer of the royal family, Hardman follows Elizabeth’s journey through her country’s transformation from an imperial power to a multicultural nation; details a twenty-five-year period in which she steered the monarchy through more reforms than in the previous century; and interviews those closest to her, including her grandson Prince William, Duke of Cambridge. Written in celebration of Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee, Her Majesty celebrates the head of an ancient institution that remains simultaneously popular, regal, inclusive, and relevant in a twenty-first-century world. “At long last, we have the definitive portrait of Queen Elizabeth’s world today,” raves Andrew Roberts, author of The Royal House of Windsor. “Robert Hardman knows the true story and tells it superbly.”
    Show book
  • Mikhail Bulgakov - The Life and Times - cover

    Mikhail Bulgakov - The Life and...

    Marietta Chudakova

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Marietta Chudakova is an expert on Soviet literature and on the works of Mikhail Bulgakov in particular. Her biography of Bulgakov was first published in 1988 and remains the most authoritative and comprehensive study of the writer’s life ever produced. It has received acclaim for the journalistic style in which it is written: the author draws on unpublished manuscripts and early drafts of Bulgakov’s novels to bring the writer to life. She also explores archive documents and memoirs written by some of Bulgakov’s contemporaries so as to construct a comprehensive and nuanced portrait of the writer and his life and times. 
     
    Marietta Chudakova casts light on Bulgakov’s life with an unrivalled eye for detail and a huge amount of affection for the writer and his works.
     
    Mikhail Bulgakov: The Life and Times will be of particular interest to international researchers studying Mikhail Bulgakov’s life and works, and is recommended to a broader audience worldwide. 
     
    Translated from the Russian by Huw Davies
     
    Published by arrangement with ELKOST Intl. Literary Agency
     
    Published with the support of the Institute for Literary Translation, Russia
     
    Introduction by J.A.E. Curtis
     
    Proofreading by Kevin Bridge
     
    Publishers Maxim Hodak & Max Mendor
    Show book
  • Joni and Ken - An Untold Love Story - cover

    Joni and Ken - An Untold Love Story

    Ken Tada, Joni Eareckson Tada

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This is the true love story of Joni and her husband of 30 years, Ken Tada. A love story showing what it truly means for a man and a woman to live in love … in sickness and in health.  
      
    Even the honeymoon wasn’t easy. Did Ken realize what he was getting into when he proposed to Joni, a quadriplegic woman? As their marriage years moved on, Ken became increasingly overwhelmed by the never-ceasing demands of caring for Joni, who begins to experience chronic, extreme, nightmarish pain. Ken sinks into depression, and the couple finds themselves on parallel tracks in life, married and living under the same roof but drifting apart emotionally. 
      
    But as they fight for their marriage and find their way through the mazes of depression and pain, they wrap their two lives around their rock—Jesus. 
      
    During Ken’s denial of Joni’s diagnosis, and Joni’s thoughts of how wonderful a quick exit to heaven would be, they experience a personal visitation with the savior you will never forget.
    Show book
  • The Queen's House - A Social History of Buckingham Palace - cover

    The Queen's House - A Social...

    Edna Healey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A “lively” tour of the royal residence: Readers “will delight in this well-written chronicle of the House of Windsor.” —Publishers Weekly  In this social history of Buckingham Palace, Edna Healey mines the royal archives to take the reader into its moonlit gardens, up the grand staircase, and inside its tapestried walls. Dr. Johnson again holds forth in the library, Queen Victoria encores Mendelssohn in the music room, and Fanny Burney wrestles once more with protocol in the royal chambers.  Written with the assistance of the royal family, this lively and colorful biography of a house reveals not only the changing facade of the palace but also the changing face of a nation’s culture, morals, fashions, and tastes.
    Show book
  • Henry VIII and the Men Who Made Him - cover

    Henry VIII and the Men Who Made Him

    Tracy Borman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The acclaimed historian presents a “beautifully perceptive and dynamic reassessment of Henry VIII…in this highly engrossing biography” (Booklist, starred review).   Henry VIII is best known for his tempestuous marriages and the fates of his six wives. But his reign and reputation were hugely influenced by his confidants, ministers, and even occasional rivals—many of whom have been underplayed in previous biographies. Exploring these relationships in depth, Tracy Borman offers a fresh perspective on the legendary king, revealing surprising contradictions in his beliefs and behavior. Henry was capable of fierce but seldom abiding loyalty, of raising men up only to destroy them later. He loved to be attended by boisterous young men like his friend Charles Brandon, who shared his passion for sport. But the king could also be diverted by men of intellect, culture, and wit, as his longstanding interplay with Cardinal Wolsey and his reluctant abandonment of Thomas More attest. Eager to escape the shadow of his father, Henry was easily led by male advisors early in his reign. In time, though, he matured into a profoundly paranoid and ruthless king. Recounting the great Tudor’s life and signal moments through the lens of his male relationships, Henry VIII and the Men Who Made Him sheds fresh light on this fascinating figure.
    Show book