Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Newfoundland Slanguage - cover

Newfoundland Slanguage

Mike Ellis

Publisher: Gibbs Smith

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Learn how to talk like a bona fide Newfoundland native.A fun pronunciation guide to nearly 300 words and phrases heard only in Newfoundland and Labrador. So don’t be a jinker (someone who brings bad luck) or a scut (a dirty, mean person)—learn to talk just like a Newfoundland native.
Available since: 06/04/2019.

Other books that might interest you

  • Everything Abridged - cover

    Everything Abridged

    Dennard Dayle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Slyly defiant and blazingly imaginative, like the best modernist literature, Everything Abridged is a powerful celebration of flaw and failure. It’s a book that revels in the timelessness of obsolescence and the freedom of powerlessness. Dayle’s a genre-shattering writer, whose wit and intellect never cease to entertain. This refreshingly original and powerfully funny collection is a debut to remember.” —Paul Beatty, New York Times bestselling author of The Sellout  For readers of David Wong, Paul Beatty, and George Saunders, an electrifying and wholly original collection of satirical stories that create a bitingly funny portrait of American racism, capitalism, and politicsFramed as a reference work of humorous “entries” that offer trenchant social commentary, Everything Abridged presages a dark vision of the near future but tells jokes in the face of it: An intelligence agency operative uncovers a conspiracy to generate conspiracies and realizes his participation in the scheme. A Caribbean monarch meets four decades of American presidents and adjusts his country’s foreign policy accordingly. Experiment participants are asked to bring back a gun as quickly as possible. A copywriter on a space colony advertises a weapon with the potential to destroy his home during an intergalactic war.These and other linked stories, many of which feature a speculative bent—about being Black in America, law enforcement practices in an android society, Olympic speed walking, consumerism, nuclear war, and more—are interspersed with hilarious, one-line definitions for words ranging from abolition to zygote, creating a sharply humorous portrait of American inequality. With his singular wit, sharp prose, and shrewd observations, Dennard Dayle captures the struggles his characters face to keep hold of their sanity in a society collapsing into chaos and absurdity.
    Show book
  • How to Cope with Mitchell and Webb - cover

    How to Cope with Mitchell and Webb

    David Mitchell, Robert Webb

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Read by David Mitchell and Robert Webb the comedy duo tackle various subject matters in a 'How to Cope with…' guide addressing various scenarios, and everyday situations. David Mitchell and Robert Webb tackle various subject matters in a 'How to Cope with…' guide talking you through every day scenarios and situations. The subject matters talked about are 'How to Cope with… Being Normal, Pubs, Being dumped Parts 1 and 2, Coffee, Malmaison Hotels, Nudists, The Smoking Ban, Actors, Servants and Getting Older'. 
    This recording doesn't need to remind us just how great Mitchell and Webb are as a comedy duo and will by no means need to even attempt at getting the listeners attention once the play button is pressed but will simply show us once more everything we know and love about Mitchell and Webb and why their quirky hilarity and foibles work so well together. For example… How to cope with Actors…Try "not be put off by their luvvie-ness" and "do not assume that all actors are all thick… Stephen Fry is an actor and also a world class boffin. David Mitchell's GCSE results are very impressive".
    Show book
  • O Jackie! - A Novel - cover

    O Jackie! - A Novel

    Alexander Carver

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Andrew Brewster Crawford, AKA “A.B.C.,” a playwright obsessed with the glamour, glory, and gloom of the Kennedy era, has written a play about the last day of JFK’s life in order to cast himself as the martyred president, win the love of a beautiful “Jackie Kennedy type,” and live happily ever after in a Camelot of his own creation.   
    He’s got the great man down.  The wind-swept haircut.  The sailing-ready nautical digs.  The Boston-by-way-of-Harvard accent.  The easy witticisms to defuse tension.  But in A.B.C.’s quest to fashion himself after his hero, JFK, and mount his magnum opus, he conducts himself more like LBJ, a man who believed that the quickest route from point A to point B ran underground. 
    O Jackie! is a story about the internal and external chaos created when an artist with both a superman and inferiority complex chooses to be the self he wishes he was, instead of the self he truly is.
    Show book
  • Undone - A Novel - cover

    Undone - A Novel

    John Colapinto

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In modern-day America, Dez is a former lawyer and teacher-an ephebophile with a proclivity for teenage girls, hiding out in a trailer park with his latest conquest, Chloe.Having been in and out of courtrooms (and therapists' offices) for a number of years, Dez is adrift, at odds with a society that persecutes him over his desires. From his couch one afternoon, Dez watches an interview with Jasper Ulrickson, a doting father and loving husband whose heartrending memoir, Lessons from My Daughter, has become a national bestseller. The memoir chronicles his journey with his wife, Pauline, who suffered a stroke giving birth to their only child and has been in a locked-in state ever since. Espousing their deep connection and chaste marriage, Jasper's selfless devotion to his wife has made him one of the most popular and admired men in America.So Dez sets out to do what any red-blooded American would do: destroy Ulrickson by using Chloe to pose as the famous author's long-lost daughter, infiltrate his family, seduce him, and, when he's sent to jail, claim his fortune.
    Show book
  • Buttered Side Down - cover

    Buttered Side Down

    Edna Ferber

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    And so, the story writers used to say, "they lived happily ever after."Um-m-m-maybe. After the glamour had worn off, and the glass slippers were worn out, did the Prince never find Cinderella's manner redolent of the kitchen hearth; and was it never necessary that he remind her to be more careful of her finger-nails and grammar? After Puss in Boots had won wealth and a wife for his young master did not that gentleman often fume with chagrin because the neighbors, perhaps, refused to call on the lady of the former poor miller's son? It is a great risk to take with one's book-children. These stories make no such promises. They stop just short of the phrase of the old story writers, and end truthfully, thus: And so they lived. E. F. (Summary from the Foreword to "Buttered Side Down")
    Show book
  • Roads of Destiny - Stories - cover

    Roads of Destiny - Stories

    O. Henry

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    The American master of the short story presents twenty-two tales, including “A Retrieved Reformation,” that twist and turn in unexpected ways.   One of the most popular authors of his day, O. Henry penned stories that surprised and delighted his many fans. His characters were people whom readers knew from places they recognized, everyday folks who sometimes found themselves in sticky, shocking, and sobering situations. This volume includes many of O. Henry’s most recognizable works, including “A Retrieved Reformation,” which was inspired by his own experience being imprisoned. It was adapted into a Broadway play and subsequently three film versions.   “The story has its gentle humor and is easy to understand, which I believe, can be suitable for many types of readers from booklovers to new readers. Moreover, anyone who wants to find a story with surprising plot, or twisted ending then ‘A Retrieved Reformation’ can be the right choice.” —Write to Interact on “A Retrieved Reformation”
    Show book