Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Pedal It! - How Bicycles are Changing the World - cover

Pedal It! - How Bicycles are Changing the World

Michelle Mulder

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Pedal It! celebrates the humble bicycle, from the very first boneshakers to the sleek racing bikes of today, from handlebars to spokes to gear sprockets, and shows you why and how bikes can make the world a better place. Not only can bikes be used to power computers and generators, they can also reduce pollution, promote wellness and get a package across a crowded city, fast! Informative but not didactic, Pedal It! encourages young readers to be part of the joy of cycling.

Other books that might interest you

  • Wayside School Complete Collection - Sideways Stories from Wayside School Wayside School Is Falling Down Wayside School Gets a Little Stranger - cover

    Wayside School Complete...

    Louis Sachar

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Bestselling and Newbery Medal-winning author Louis Sachar knows how to make readers laugh. And there are laughs galore in the classic Wayside School series! 
    All three books in the Wayside School series are now available together in this ebook collection, complete with hilarious stories, zany art, and a triple serving of wackiness! 
    More than nine millions readers have laughed at the wacky stories of Sideways Stories from Wayside School; Wayside School Gets a Little Stranger; and Wayside School Is Falling Down. So what are you waiting for? Come visit Wayside School!
    Show book
  • Dragon Slippers - cover

    Dragon Slippers

    Jessica Day George

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    This enchanting tale of dragons, betrayals, and the power of friendship is the first in a charming and thrilling series by New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George.  
     
    Creel can't believe her aunt wants to sacrifice her to the local dragon. It's a ploy to lure a heroic knight so that he will fight the dragon, marry Creel out of chivalrous obligation, and lift the entire family out of poverty. Creel isn't worried. After all, nobody has seen a dragon in centuries. 
     
    But when the beast actually appears, Creel not only bargains with him for her life, she also ends up with a rare bit of treasure from his hoard: a pair of simple blue slippers, or so she thinks. But Creel learns that these shoes could be used to save her kingdom from the brink of war--or destroy it. 
     
    Don't miss these other stories from New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George: 
     
    Dragon Slippers series 
    Dragon Slippers 
    Dragon Flight 
    Dragon Spear 
     
    The Rose Legacy series 
    The Rose Legacy 
     
    Tuesdays at the Castle series 
    Tuesdays at the Castle 
    Wednesdays in the Tower 
    Thursdays with the Crown 
    Fridays with the Wizards 
    Saturdays at Sea 
     
    The Twelve Dancing Princesses series 
    Princess of the Midnight Ball 
    Princess of Glass 
    Princess of the Silver Woods 
     
    Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow 
     
    Silver in the Blood
    Show book
  • Hate That Cat - A Novel - cover

    Hate That Cat - A Novel

    Sharon Creech

    • 6
    • 58
    • 0
    Return to Miss Stretchberry's class with Jack, the reluctant poet, who over the course of a year encounters new and challenging things like metaphors, alliterations, onomatopoeia, and one mean fat black cat! 
    The Newbery Medal-winning author of Walk Two Moons, Sharon Creech, introduced Jack in Love That Dog, a New York Times bestseller. Both Love That Dog and Hate That Cat are approachable, funny, warm-hearted introductions to poetry told from the point of view of a very real kid wrestling with school assignments. 
    These books are fast reads that will be welcomed by middle graders as they too wonder how poetry and schoolwork connect with their interests and how to uncover their true voices. 
    In Hate That Cat, Jack is only trying to save that fat black cat stuck in the tree by his bus stop—but the cat scratches him instead! At school Miss Stretchberry begins teaching new poems, everything from William Carlos Williams to Valerie Worth to T.S. Eliot. 
    As the year progresses, Jack gradually learns to love that cat and finds new ways to express himself.
    Show book
  • 10 Perfect Poems & Rhymes for 4-8 Year Olds (Perfect for Bedtime & Independent Reading) (Series: Read together for 10 minutes a day) (Storytime) - cover

    10 Perfect Poems & Rhymes for...

    Arcturus Publishing

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Storytime: A Brand New Series of Illustrated eBooks for Kids
     
    From Old Mother Hubbard to the House that Jack Built, this classic collection features some of the world's best-loved children's poems in an easy eBook format. Ready to read at the touch of a button and beautifully illustrated throughout, it's the perfect introduction to these timeless tales for boys and girls aged 4 and up.
     
    Help improve your child's reading in just 10 minutes a day with these short story collections from Storytime.
     
    10 minutes of reading a day can...
     
    Boost Vocabulary
     
    Reading for a short period every day exposes your child to almost 1 million words per year, which helps to foster communication and understanding.
     
    Encourage Learning
     
    Reading at home is linked to better performance in spelling, comprehension and general knowledge, helping to develop important learning skills.
     
    Promote Relaxation
     
    Reading a book gives your child the quiet time they need each day to relax, and is a great way for you to spend quality time together.
    Show book
  • The Elite - cover

    The Elite

    Kiera Cass

    • 10
    • 97
    • 0
    The second book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
    With even more glamour, intrigue, and swoon-worthy romance, this sparkling sequel to The Selection will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection, and to win Prince Maxon’s heart. Now six girls remain, and the competition is fiercer than ever—but America Singer is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it Prince Maxon—and life as the queen—that she wants? Or is it still Aspen, her first love? 
     
    Show book
  • A Seed Is Sleepy - cover

    A Seed Is Sleepy

    Dianna Hutts Aston

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Award-winning artist Sylvia Long and author Dianna Hutts Aston have teamed up again to create this gorgeous and informative introduction to seeds. Poetic in voice and elegant in design, the book introduces children to a fascinating array of seed and plant facts, making it a guide that is equally at home being read on a parent's lap as in a classroom reading circle.
    Show book