Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
The Walworth Beauty - cover

The Walworth Beauty

Michèle Roberts

Publisher: Bloomsbury UK

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 
 
2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.  
 
1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house. 
 
As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.

Other books that might interest you

  • Tarnished Beginnings - Soul Dance #1 - cover

    Tarnished Beginnings - Soul...

    Ann Gimpel

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    1700s Egypt is a melding pot for magic-wielders of all kinds. Vampires hold court, staying one step ahead of the priests and priestesses who want them dead. Shifters keep to themselves while gypsy caravans roam the Nile from north to south and back again telling fortunes, casting Tarot cards, and stealing from the gadjos. 
    Tairin Jabari was born in a caravan and has always believed she's Romani. Why wouldn't she? Her mother and father never suggested otherwise. The Rom have harsh rules. When Tairin's first shift catches her unaware at thirteen, her father disappears, and the elders move with deadly speed to punish her mother for mating outside the blood. 
    Hurt, lost, confused, and fearing for her life, Tairin runs away, leaving her mother's smoking funeral pyre behind.  Desperately unprepared for life outside her protected caravan, she and her wolf face hard choices.
    Show book
  • Son of a Witch - Volume Two in The Wicked Years - cover

    Son of a Witch - Volume Two in...

    Gregory Maguire

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In this captivating New York Times bestseller, beloved author Gregory Maguire returns to the land of Oz and introduces us to Liir, an adolescent boy last seen hiding in the shadows of the castle after Dorothy did in the Witch. Is he really Elphaba's son? He has her broom and her cape—but what of her powers? In an Oz that, since the Wizard's departure, is under new and dangerous management, can Liir keep his head down long enough to grow up?
    Show book
  • City in the Sky - cover

    City in the Sky

    Glynn Stewart

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Trapped between two peoples 
     
    Erik Tarverro is a half-breed raised as a smith in the human city of Vidran. Hounded for his mixed blood and denied mastery in his craft, he leaps at the chance to join his father's people in the Sky City of Newport. 
     
    There, he learns he is the only heir of an ancient and noble line. His father's name opens doors and gathers allies, but Erik must still struggle to understand both this strange new culture and his place within it. 
     
    Fate will deny him a peaceful understanding, though, as the clouds of war gather – and his father's enemies have laid their eyes upon his City in the Sky.
    Show book
  • Oracle of Nightmares - Paranormal Huntress Series #5 - cover

    Oracle of Nightmares -...

    W.J. May

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    USA Today Bestselling author, W.J. May, brings you to a new level of fantasy. Fans of Underworld and paranormal worlds will love this story! 
    "The wise learn many things from their enemies."     
    The visions are becoming worse. Stronger. The world is about to change. And there's nothing I can do. 
    My name is Atlanta Skolar, and my journey began a year ago. I lost everything protecting my home from an evil that I did not understand, and even though we survived I have more questions than answers. 
    Answers I hope to find across the ocean, in a land where the old ways still rule, and the Druids reign supreme. My only family is my brother, and he's missing, racing across Europe, hiding. All I have is a message from a vision. 
    Find him, before it's too late. 
    But I'm scared of what I might find. Because even though the Old World is gone, the evil that had once consumed it still lives. The Darkness. The end of all. Trapped behind a veil. 
    And someone—or something—is trying to set it free. 
    SERIES: 
    Never Look Back 
    Coven Master 
    Alpha's Permission 
    Blood Bonding 
    Oracle of Nightmares 
    Shadows in the Night
    Show book
  • Love in the Ruins - The Adventures of a Bad Catholic at a Time Near the End of the World - cover

    Love in the Ruins - The...

    Walker Percy

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “A great adventure . . . So outrageous and so real, one is left speechless.” —Chicago Sun TimesIn Walker Percy’s future America, the country is on the brink of disaster. With citizens violently polarized along racial, political, and social lines, and a fifteen-year war still raging abroad, America is crumbling quickly into ruin. The country’s one remaining hope is Dr. Thomas More, whose “lapsometer” is capable of diagnosing the spiritual afflictions—anxiety, depression, alienation—driving everyone’s destructive and disastrous behavior. But such a potent machine has its pitfalls. As Dr. More soon learns, in the wrong hands, the powerful lapsometer could lead to open warfare, pushing America into anarchy at full-speed.
    Show book
  • The Legacy of Hades - cover

    The Legacy of Hades

    Rhonda Grant Boles

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For her one hundredth birthday, Makaria the daughter of Hades, also known as the Goddess of Blessed Death, expresses a desire to leave her home in the Underworld in an effort to research mortal life on the surface. Upon enrolling at the prestigious Princeton University, she befriends the grandson to the Duke of Wellington, Alexander Beckham III and his cousin Nicolette, her college roommate.
    Alex has an instant attraction to Makaria, but she has her eyes set on a bad boy rocker named Mike. Through a series of unfortunate events, Alex, Nicolette and Makaria find it nearly impossible to maintain their family secrets. What will Makarias parents think of her new found mortal love? What will happen when Alex, Nicolette, Makaria and Mike learn the truth of each others LEGACY?
    Show book