Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Walworth Beauty - cover

The Walworth Beauty

Michèle Roberts

Publisher: Bloomsbury UK

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 
 
2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.  
 
1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house. 
 
As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Darwath Series - The Time of the Dark The Walls of Air and The Armies of Daylight - cover

    The Darwath Series - The Time of...

    Barbara Hambly

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From a New York Times–bestselling author, three novels of a modern-day medievalist beset by murder and magic—“A fabulously talented writer” (Charlaine Harris). As a student of medieval history, Gil Patterson is a woman familiar with dark stories. She knows the Crusades, the Black Death, and the other horrors of the Middle Ages all too well, but it is another kind of atrocity that has begun to haunt her dreams. She sees forces of evil assaulting a beleaguered kingdom, whose kind people are on the brink of annihilation, and awakes each morning in a cold sweat. In The Time of the Dark, Gil dismisses the dreams until a wizard appears in her apartment. He has crossed into her dimension, passing through the fraying fabric of the universe, to ask her help. For mankind to survive he must protect an infant prince, whom he plans to hide in Gil's world. She is about to get much closer to evil than she ever imagined. In The Walls of Air and The Armies of Daylight, Gil and Rudy know the world is no longer safe and there is nowhere to hide from the Dark. Since the Dark Ones returned, the world has been laid to waste. The land’s wizards have been slaughtered, its cities destroyed, and its people scattered in terror. Few have witnessed more of the destruction than Gil and Rudy, and both of them will need all their strength to survive this final challenge. Ingold, the master wizard, has devised a spell to hide the user from the deathly stare of the Dark, and he intends to use it to strike at their very heart. Finally, Gil, Rudy, and the rest of mankind’s survivors will take the offensive, bringing an end to this terrible war, for better or for worse.
    Show book
  • The Emperor's Men 2: Betrayal - cover

    The Emperor's Men 2: Betrayal

    Dirk van den Boom

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Drunken from their triumph at Adrianople, the Goths set to the conquest of Eastern Rome and threaten the city of Thessaloniki. While the men of the German Cruiser Saarbrücken are still trying to prove their usefulness to the Roman Empire, the resistance against the time-travellers grows stronger. Mighty clergymen scheme against the growing influence of the Germans, and on the Saarbrücken itself the seeds of treason are planted ... and not only there.
    Show book
  • Without Mercy - Siobhan Dunmoore #5 - cover

    Without Mercy - Siobhan Dunmoore #5

    Eric Thomson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    What is the value of one life in an interstellar war that has already claimed millions?  And if that single life doesn't matter, are any others worth saving? 
    A distress signal draws Siobhan Dunmoore's Q-ship Iolanthe, a battlecruiser disguised as a bulk freighter, away from her devastatingly successful hunt through Shrehari occupied space and plunges Dunmoore into a dark, merciless universe of competing government organizations, undercover warfare, and organized crime on a galactic scale.  Along the way, she crosses paths with an old foe and an uncertain ally as she and her crew race against time and determined opposition to rescue innocent civilians condemned merely because they were in the wrong place at the wrong moment.  Powerful forces within the Commonwealth would call a handful of lives collateral damage in humanity's existential struggle against the Shrehari Empire.  But Dunmoore won't accept that they aren't worth saving even if it puts her at cross-purposes with her new commanding officer and the Commonwealth's fearsome security bureau.  After all, her oath to serve and defend has no limitations and no expiry date.
    Show book
  • Aurora Resonant: The Complete Collection - Aurora Resonant - cover

    Aurora Resonant: The Complete...

    G. S. Jennsen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Over 1,400 Pages of Sci-Fi Adventure 
    **3rd and final trilogy in the Aurora Rhapsody series: includes Relativity, Rubicon, Requiem + the Re/Genesis short & an exclusive excerpt from the upcoming novel, Exin Ex Machina** 
    Our universe is but a snowglobe--an experiment born of desperation and hope. The true universe is unfathomably vast, teeming with life and untold wonders. And it is enslaved. 
    Created by ancient aliens in a daring gambit to understand the nature of the enemy, humanity is now asked to be the savior of a universe not their own. If they are to succeed, they must rise above not only their fractious past but the sins of their genetic ancestors to boldly embrace a future they never dared imagine possible. 
    * 
    RELATIVITY 
    "I'd tell you to be careful, but we wouldn't be here if you'd ever taken that advice. No reason to start now, right?" 
    For millennia the Anadens have ruled the known universe. They believe they've crafted the perfect empire, ordered and impervious to challenge. They believe the fight has been crushed out of the species they subjugate. They are wrong. 
     
    It's a suicide mission, without a doubt. Alex Solovy and Caleb Marano must steal crucial intelligence from the Anadens' central military headquarters. To succeed, they'll need to navigate a strange universe ruled by a cabal of powerful immortals, populated by aliens they've never met and fueled by technology they've never seen. 
    * 
    RUBICON 
    "We are you--the you that you could have been." 
    The Anaden Directorate has ruled Amaranthe for millennia, subjugating species and galaxies in a neverending quest for control and order. For as many millennia, the anarchs have rebelled, defiantly claiming their own freedom yet without hope of winning it for everyone. Now, an alliance with humans offers a tantalizing chance to at last defeat their immortal masters. But can they trust an ally who looks suspiciously like the enemy? 
     
    Humans like to make their own destiny, and they have overcome great challenges to achieve unprecedented peace and prosperity. But have their trials prepared them for the enemy they now face? 
     
    "The battle for the heart and soul of Amaranthe will be joined, and we must be unafraid." 
    Amidst the chaos of an escalating war, Caleb's bond with the mysterious diati grows ever more powerful, even as Alex's forays into the hidden dimensions of the universe lead them to unfathomable places. But when the anarchs are pushed to the breaking point and the AEGIS fleet is dealt a devastating blow, Miriam Solovy must find a way to defeat a foe wielding superior technology, firepower and numbers, or else more than one civilization will be lost. 
    * 
    REQUIEM 
    The end of the world began with a library query...how will it conclude? 
    What began as a chance discovery of an anomalous signal is now a multiverse war between humanity and its genetic ancestors over who controls the levers of life and death. Over who decides what life is and whether it will be allowed to exist. For the ruling Anaden Directorate, victory means immortality. For humanity, defeat means extinction. 
     
    On the heels of a breakthrough in wormhole technology, AEGIS and the anarchs enjoy the upper hand in the war. But their escalation pushes the Directorate to the brink, and now it will stop at nothing to destroy its enemy. 
     
    In the thrilling finale of Aurora Rhapsody, events rush headlong toward an explosive conclusion that will decide the fate of civilizations, and only the victor is making it out the other side.
    Show book
  • Rika Redeemed - Rika's Marauders #2 - cover

    Rika Redeemed - Rika's Marauders #2

    M. D. Cooper

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Rika is a Marauder.  
    After years of drifting aimlessly after the war with the Nietzscheans, she has finally found a home with the Marauders—a mercenary outfit comprised of Genevian veterans. 
    Back in the war, Rika hated her government, but always fought for the woman next to her. Now she fights for her teammates in Basilisk, an elite spec-ops team that takes on the toughest missions. 
    When General Mill, CO of the Marauders comes to Rika with a top-secret solo operation, she wants to turn it down. But the mission comes with a chance to save Silva, her old team leader from the Nietzschean war.  
    Without team Basilisk, without the Marauders, Rika must stand on her own against all odds and save the woman who once saved her. 
    Show book
  • Daddy's Girl - cover

    Daddy's Girl

    Blaze Ward

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Mom's accidental death let Grandmother declare Angus an orphan, because Dad was an alien, an Aracheed. Worse, the crazy old bitch got custody, and plans to trap Angus on her estate, away from the alien half of the family until Angus reaches eighteen. 
    But other secrets lurk. Angus must learn about the dark mysteries buried in her own family's past. Things Mom never explained. 
    She must confront the old woman, and learn how to make her own way, in a world she never desired.
    Show book