Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Walworth Beauty - cover

The Walworth Beauty

Michèle Roberts

Publisher: Bloomsbury UK

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 
 
2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.  
 
1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house. 
 
As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.

Other books that might interest you

  • Death Comes But Once - Decker's War #1 - cover

    Death Comes But Once - Decker's...

    Eric Thomson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Zack Decker wanted only one thing in life: to fight as a Marine Pathfinder. But his temper and his loathing for careerist officers cost him dearly. Forced into early retirement, with a wife who left him long ago, no job, no friends and no future, the former sergeant crawled into a bottle and stayed there, moving from planet to planet, looking for some reason to keep on living. Until, that is, he wandered into a bar owned by an old Marine buddy who offered to help. On the run after killing a corrupt cop, and nowhere to hide, he accepted. 
     
    Decker would have done better to head for the hills, or surrender to the militia, however old friends could be persuasive and he soon found himself signing on as security officer of a starship with dubious owners and a dubious crew, doing things for his new employer that tested the old saying 'Once a Marine, always a Marine.' Curiosity was Decker's other major failing and in short order he was on the run, hunted by a shadowy government organisation, and in possession of a secret that could destroy the Commonwealth. It was a secret to die for, and the people on his trail wanted to make sure he did. Along the way, they forgot that he could still fight like one of the Few...
    Show book
  • The Demons We See - The Dark Abyss of Our Sins #1 - cover

    The Demons We See - The Dark...

    Krista D. Ball

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Society was rocked when the Cathedral appointed Allegra, Contessa of Marsina, to negotiate the delicate peace talks between the rebelling mage slaves and the various states. Not only was she a highborn mage, she was a nonbeliever and a vocal objector against the supposed demonic origins of witchcraft. Demons weren’t real, she’d argued, and therefore the subjection of mages was unlawful. 
    That was all before the first assassination attempt. That was before Allegra heard the demonic shrieks. All before everything changed. Now Allegra and her personal guards race to stabilize the peace before the entire known world explodes into war with not just itself, but with the abyss from beyond. 
    So much for demons not being real.
    Show book
  • Darkbeam - Beam Series #2 - cover

    Darkbeam - Beam Series #2

    Adrienne Woods

    • 0
    • 12
    • 0
    Everyone in Paegeia knows that only one Rubicon dragon lives at a time. 
    If more than one, they will destroy Paegeia and eventually the rest of the world as they crave that constant power for dominance. 
    Blake Leaf is this era's Rubicon, and is destined for grate things if his darkness can be won. 
    Darkbeam Part 1 follows the story of the Rubicon and how he tries to keep his beast, the darkness, at bay. 
     
    Show book
  • Connor's Gambit - cover

    Connor's Gambit

    Z Gottlieb

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Brad Johnson a lone witness to a UFO sighting becomes an alien target leading him to an off world adventure in which he must rely upon his skills to survive an intergalactic war between two space faring groups of aliens. As Brad understands his place in the universe, he learns one group threatens Earth's security and the other wants something entirely different. All Brad wants is to return home.
    Show book
  • To Prevent Chic Costumes - Magical Mayhem #2 - cover

    To Prevent Chic Costumes -...

    Emily Martha Sorensen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Chronos doesn't want to be a villain. 
    She also doesn't want a houseguest.  Unfortunately for her, Kendra is insisting on both, and the former magical girl will not listen to reason. 
    In desperation, Chronos goes to the one person she trusts least for help: 
    Her sister, Rhea. 
    Rhea, who is a fashion designer for villains.  Rhea, whose favorite hobby is corrupting magical girls.
    Show book
  • Bite Me If You Can - cover

    Bite Me If You Can

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 13
    • 0
    Once Bitten . . . 
    One minute Leigh is walking home in the early hours of the morning, and the next a vampire is sinking his teeth into her neck. Turns out it was a rogue vampire marked for termination, but it does Leigh little good because the damage's already been done. She's become one of them. 
    Lucian Argeneau, hunter of rogue vampires, has been alive for over two thousand years, and there's very little to excite him anymore. Food has become tasteless, sex is ordinary. Then Leigh drops into his life. Suddenly he finds himself craving coffee . . . and imagining the sassy brunette atop the black satin sheets on his nice big bed. It's Lucian's job now to enlighten Leigh on the inner workings of being immortal . . . and tutoring her is igniting a fire in him that hasn't burned in centuries. 
    But until they stop a renegade bloodsucker from destroying the human race, passion will have to wait!
    Show book