Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
I Didn't Do It for You - cover

I Didn't Do It for You

Michela Wrong

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Scarred by decades of conflict and occupation, the craggy African nation of Eritrea has weathered the world's longest-running guerrilla war. The dogged determination that secured victory against Ethiopia, its giant neighbor, is woven into the national psyche, the product of cynical foreign interventions. Fascist Italy wanted Eritrea as the springboard for a new, racially pure Roman empire; Britain sold off its industry for scrap; the United States needed a base for its state-of-the-art spy station; and the Soviet Union used it as a pawn in a proxy war. 
In I Didn't Do It for You, Michela Wrong reveals the breathtaking abuses this tiny nation has suffered and, with a sharp eye for detail and a taste for the incongruous, tells the story of colonialism itself and how international power politics can play havoc with a country's destiny.

Who read this book also read:

  • Burqalicious: The Dubai Diaries - A True Story of Sun Sand Sex and Secrecy - cover

    Burqalicious: The Dubai Diaries...

    Becky Wicks

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    As a sassy young woman used to drinking, partying, blogging, and shopping her way through dreary London, the call of a glamorous, tax-free career in sunny Dubai just couldn’t go unanswered. Over the course of two years, an entire city funded by oil wealth rises from the dust around her as Becky rapidly scales the career ladder. She becomes a celebrity editor in a land where sex definitely does not sell and spends most nights in a five-star blur of champagne luxury. Dubai offers everything, but things soon get messy—not least because a wealthy Arab man makes her his mistress. Skinny-dipping, affairs, gay parties—Wicks soon discovers just how easy it is to break the law in Dubai! Wicks lifts the burqa from the razzledazzle and reveals some of the most scandalous goings-on in the world’s fastest up-and-coming city of gold.
    Show book
  • A Man's World - The Shocking Truths That Women Need to Know About the Male Code - cover

    A Man's World - The Shocking...

    Mark Million

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    There is a secret world in which every man inherently belongs. It’s an unseen world of persuasive male influence driven by greed, selfish desires, and dangerous dark motives fueled by incessant self-gratification. “No woman is ever to know.” These thoughts and feelings aren’t limited to your everyday man, but shared by the highly educated and powerful men of society as well. I witnessed this firsthand after having the opportunity to meet these high-powered men. From the biggest celebrities and sports stars to the wealthiest men on our planet, we all instinctively protect the male code because it gives us a supreme advantage over the women of our society. Most women think they know everything there is to know about the men in their lives. The truth is every man lives two lives. One is the deceptive illusion we are taught to present to society and the women in it. The second is the real man only seen by other men. We men discuss this subject openly in our social world, but never to reveal it to women because that would break the male code. It’s between men and men only…Until now.
    Show book
  • Marlborough: His Life and Times Volume I - cover

    Marlborough: His Life and Times...

    Winston S. Churchill

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    In the first volume of an ambitious and stunningly-written four-volume biography, Sir Winston Churchill discusses the early career and stratospheric rise to fortune of his illustrious ancestor. John Churchill, the Duke of Marlborough, may have been eclipsed in history by his more well-known descendant. But in his time, Marlborough was considered one of England’s foremost military leaders. 
    The first installment pays particular attention to personal details of Marlborough’s life, and the important role several women played in his success—including his sister, his wife, the Duchess of Cleveland, and Queen Anne herself. Sir Winston Churchill breathes life into these personal connections in an attempt to showcase Marlborough not only as a luminary figure in British history, but also to bring him to life once again in the mind of the reader.
    Show book
  • Cheaper by the Dozen - cover

    Cheaper by the Dozen

    Ernestine Gilbreth Carey, Frank...

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Adapted into two classic motion pictures, this bestselling memoir is the unforgettable story of two parents, twelve kids, and a world of laughter and love.   Translated into more than fifty languages, Cheaper by the Dozen is the unforgettable story of the Gilbreth clan as told by two of its members. In this endearing, amusing memoir, siblings Frank Jr. and Ernestine capture the hilarity and heart of growing up in an oversized family. Mother and Dad are world-renowned efficiency experts, helping factories fine-tune their assembly lines for maximum output at minimum cost. At home, the Gilbreths themselves have cranked out twelve kids, and Dad is out to prove that efficiency principles can apply to family as well as the workplace.   The heartwarming and comic stories of the jumbo-size Gilbreth clan have delighted generations of readers, and will keep you and yours laughing for years.   This ebook features an illustrated biography including rare photos from the authors’ estates.   
    Show book
  • The Good Nurse - A True Story of Medicine Madness and Murder - cover

    The Good Nurse - A True Story of...

    Charles Graeber

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    '...aside from the murders , Charles Cullen might have been a pretty good nurse...'The true story of the most prolific serial killer in US history, The Good Nurse is 'a stunning book... that should and does bring to mind In Cold Blood'  New York TimesAfter his December 2003 arrest, registered nurse Charlie Cullen was  quickly  dubbed 'The Angel of Death' by the media. But Cullen was no  mercy killer, nor  was he a simple monster. He was a favourite son,  husband, beloved father, best  friend, and celebrated caregiver.  Implicated in the deaths of as many as 300  patients, he was also  perhaps the most prolific serial killer in American  history.  Cullen's  murderous career in the world's most trusted profession spanned  sixteen  years and nine hospitals across New Jersey and Pennsylvania.  
      Investigative journalist Charles Graeber's portrait of Cullen depicts a  surprisingly intelligent and  complicated young man whose promising  career was overwhelmed by his compulsion  to kill, and whose shy  demeanor masked a twisted interior life hidden even to  his family and  friends. Were it not for the hardboiled, unrelenting work of two  former  Newark homicide detectives racing to put together the pieces of  Cullen's  professional past, and a fellow nurse willing to put  everything at risk,  including her job and the safety of her children,  there's no telling how many  more lives could have been lost. 
     In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Good Nurse  does more than  chronicle Cullen's deadly career and the breathless  efforts to stop him; it  paints an incredibly vivid portrait of madness  and offers an urgent, terrifying tale of murder, friendship and  betrayal.
    Show book
  • Uninvited - Living Loved When You Feel Less Than Left Out and Lonely - cover

    Uninvited - Living Loved When...

    Lysa TerKeurst

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    The enemy wants us to feel rejected . . . left out, lonely, and less than. When we allow him to speak lies through our rejection, he pickpockets our purpose. Cripples our courage. Dismantles our dreams. And blinds us to the beauty of Christ’s powerful love. 
    In Uninvited, Lysa shares her own deeply personal experiences with rejection—from the incredibly painful childhood abandonment by her father to the perceived judgment of the perfectly toned woman one elliptical over.  
    With biblical depth, gut-honest vulnerability, and refreshing wit, Lysa helps readers:Release the desire to fall apart or control the actions of others by embracing God-honoring ways to process their hurt.Know exactly what to pray for the next ten days to steady their soul and restore their confidence.Overcome the two core fears that feed our insecurities by understanding the secret of belonging.Stop feeling left out and start believing that "set apart" does not mean "set aside."End the cycle of perceived rejection by refusing to turn a small incident into a full blown issue.
    Show book