Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Introducing Wagner - A Graphic Guide - cover

Introducing Wagner - A Graphic Guide

Michael White, Kevin Scott

Publisher: Icon Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Wagner's operatic works rank with the supreme achievements of western culture. But acceptance of Wagner's musical genius is tempered by feelings of misgiving and many believe the composer's underlying ideas to be indefensible. A self-styled social revolutionary, Wagner thought the world could be redeemed through vegetarianism and Aryan philosophy.

Introducing Wagner: A Graphic Guide separates the composer's art from the ideas and the arrogant destructive personal behaviour of the man.

Other books that might interest you

  • Relationships According to Savage Chickens - cover

    Relationships According to...

    Doug Savage

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It goes without saying: love makes no sense. In fact, neither does flirting, dating, or breaking up. Anyone who says relationships are all cake, kisses, and cloud nine has yet to stumble into that vast and bewildering nebula called “romance.” Lucky for us, the Savage Chickens have blundered practically every sentimental moment in their adventures in courtship. Perhaps its time we learn—and laugh—at their hilarious mistakes before making our own. The Savage Chickens are joined by their robot Prod300, bawdy Timmy-Tofu, and colleague Worm, amongst other friends, as they navigate the realm of inappropriate pick-up lines, online dating profiles, excessively honest Valentine’s cards, and those scariest of words: “I love you.” Doug Savage doesn’t claim to be a relationship expert, but he does have a knack for poking fun at dating and the inevitable mishaps along the way. He began uploading sticky notes illustrated with his Savage Chicken doodles in 2005, and over 1800 yellow sticky notes and eight years later, Mr. Savage can call himself a successful cartoonist. At times absurd, sometimes wry, even occasionally insightful, but always clever and comical, this e-book original collection of his cartoons will woo anyone with amusement, even those still shuddering from their own cringe-worthy dating memories. 
    Show book
  • The Aggretsuko Guide to Office Life - cover

    The Aggretsuko Guide to Office Life

    Sanrio

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Aggretsuko is all the RAGE. A 25-year-old red panda who's Sanrio's newest character and has her own Netflix show, Aggretsuko lives a stressful work life that's all too relatable. In this helpful handbook, Aggretsuko offers tips on how to deal with annual holiday parties, avoid colleagues after hours, circumvent oversharing coworkers, and most importantly—how to RAGE (preferably in heavy-metal karaoke sessions). A must-have for anyone who needs help staying sane from 9 to 5.
    Show book
  • Herding Cats - A Sarah's Scribbles Collection - cover

    Herding Cats - A Sarah's...

    Sarah Andersen

    • 3
    • 19
    • 0
    ". . . author Sarah Andersen uses hilarious (and adorable) comics to illustrate the very specific growing pains that occur on your way to becoming a mature, put-together grownup. Andersen’s spot-on illustrations also show how to navigate this newfound adulthood once you arrive, since maturity is equally as hard to maintain as it is to find … "--The Huffington PostSarah valiantly struggles with waking up in the morning, being productive, and dealing with social situations. Sarah's Scribbles is the comic strip that follows her life, finding humor in living as an adulting introvert that is at times weird, awkward, and embarrassing. 
    Show book
  • Stick Dog Chases a Pizza - cover

    Stick Dog Chases a Pizza

    Tom Watson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Is it a flying saucer?Is it a Frisbee?Or is it the best thing they've ever tasted?Stick Dog and his crazy canine crew have discovered a newfangled flavor — and it's even more delicious than hamburgers and hot dogs. It's pizza! And they won't be satisfied until they get some slices of their own. But it won't be easy. There's a kitten to rescue, a plan to make, and the messiest — and most dangerous — game of catch they've ever played.Pizza is on the menu, but only if their mission succeeds.A HarperAudio production.
    Show book
  • Future Ratboy and the Attack of the Killer Robot Grannies - cover

    Future Ratboy and the Attack of...

    Jim Smith

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning author of Barry Loser comes a hilarious new series, perfect for fans of Dennis the Menace, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Tom Gates, and Mr Gum. 
    Move over Spidey, get back in your cave Batman, and keep your glasses on Clark Kent, there's a new superhero in town. FUTURE RATBOY. 
    When a bolt of lightning hits Colin Lampost (and his toy bird, Bird), he is zapped millions of years into the future! Life will never be the same again. Bird has been brought to life as Not Bird and Colin's DNA is fused with a rat giving him superkeel powers. Future Ratboy is born! 
    But the future is not a safe place to be and there are killer robot grannies on the rampage! Will the dynamic duo survive the attack and save the world? 
    Join Future Ratboy and Not Bird on their first adventure to find out! A hilarious read for kids aged 7+. 
    Jim Smith is the keelest kids’ book author in the whole wide world amen. He graduated from art school with first class honours (the best you can get) and is the author of the award-winning and bestselling BARRY LOSER series: I am not a Loser, I am still not a Loser, I am sort of a Loser, I am so over being a Loser, Barry Loser and the Holiday of Doom and Barry Loser and the Case of the Crumpled Carton. He lives in London. He also designs cards and gifts under the name Waldo Pancake. 
    Praise for the BARRY LOSER books: 
    'Will make you laugh out loud, cringe and snigger, all at the same time' - LoveReading4Kids 
    'Very funny and cheeky' - Booktictac, Guardian Online Review 
    'Hugely enjoyable, surreal chaos' - Guardian 
    'The review of the eight year old boy in our house ... "Can I keep it to give to a friend?" Best recommendation you can get' - Observer 
    'I laughed so much, I thought that I was going to burst!' - Finbar, aged 9
    Show book
  • Thunder Rolling Down the Mountain - The Story of Chief Joseph and the Nez Perce - cover

    Thunder Rolling Down the...

    Agnieszka Biskup

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Chief Joseph wanted peace for his people. But the U.S. Army had different ideas. As the headman and spokesperson for the Nez Perce, Chief Joseph tried to do what was best for his people. Join him as he leads his people over vast plains and rugged mountains on the run from the U.S. army.
    Show book