Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
All the Castles Burned - cover

All the Castles Burned

Michael Nye

Publisher: Turner

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

When Owen Webb, the son of working-class parents, receives a scholarship to the prestigious Rockcastle Preparatory Academy, the mysterious and enigmatic Carson Bly, an upperclassman from a wealthy and powerful family, befriends him. Their friendship, deepened through a love of basketball, becomes an obsession for Owen, who is desperate to avoid the growing trouble at home between his parents. When Owen's father is arrested for a shocking and unexpected crime, his family is torn apart, and Owen's anger and fear are carefully manipulated by Carson's mercurial and increasingly dangerous personality. Owen, who has fallen in love with Carson's beautiful but troubled sister, quickly finds himself caught up in a complex web of lies that threatens his once-promising future.

Other books that might interest you

  • To Prevent Chic Costumes - Magical Mayhem #2 - cover

    To Prevent Chic Costumes -...

    Emily Martha Sorensen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Chronos doesn't want to be a villain. 
    She also doesn't want a houseguest.  Unfortunately for her, Kendra is insisting on both, and the former magical girl will not listen to reason. 
    In desperation, Chronos goes to the one person she trusts least for help: 
    Her sister, Rhea. 
    Rhea, who is a fashion designer for villains.  Rhea, whose favorite hobby is corrupting magical girls.
    Show book
  • Isis Orb - cover

    Isis Orb

    Piers Anthony

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    A quest to fulfill a lifelong wish leads to magic, adventure—and puns—as the New York Times–bestselling author revisits the enchanted land of Xanth.  In Xanth, everyone has a talent. But that doesn’t mean everyone loves his talent, and no one understands that better than Hapless. Endowed with the ability to conjure any instrument he wants, Hapless could be an extraordinary musician if only he could play a tune that didn’t fall ear-piercingly flat. His one desire is to find an instrument he can play—and maybe a girlfriend or three. But like music, women have never been his forte.   When the Good Magician hears about Hapless’s desperate desire, he sends the young man on a quest to find the elusive Isis Orb, a magical talisman that could fulfill his wish. But the mysterious Egyptian goddess for whom the orb is named guards the enchanted object and won’t let anyone see it—let alone use it.   Setting out to achieve the impossible, Hapless meets an eclectic mix of creatures that join him on his journey. Like the musically challenged Hapless, they all have wishes they hope the Isis Orb will grant. But the only way they can control the orb is to capture the five totems from the regions of Xanth: Fire, Earth, Air, Water, and the Void. Together, this motley crew will heroically fight dragons, a six-headed griffin, and even a beautiful, seductive water gorgon who tries to rain on Hapless’s parade.   With its thrilling exploits and endless humor, the newest addition to Piers Anthony’s beloved Xanth series is sure to keep readers enthralled.  Isis Orb is the 40th book in the Xanth series, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • The Walworth Beauty - cover

    The Walworth Beauty

    Michèle Roberts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 
     
    2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.  
     
    1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house. 
     
    As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.
    Show book
  • High-Wired - cover

    High-Wired

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
     
    
     
    If you like Rachel Abbott, Mel Sherratt, and Val McDermid, you’ll be gripped by this exciting new crime novel by best-selling author Andrea Frazer. High-Wired is the first volume in The Fine Line series, which sees Frazer show off her dark side as she moves into the world of police procedurals.
    
     
     
     The novel introduces us to DI Olivia Hardy, a firm but fair cop, and her new partner, DS Lauren Groves. Their wildly different backgrounds and styles of policing cause problems at first, but the two women bond over a shared love of music, and over the pressures of juggling complicated family lives with the horrors of the job. Both women try to reconcile their problematic family lives – Olivia’s issues with her teenage children, Lauren’s collapsing marriage – with the demands of a job that requires heart and soul. Their beat is a decaying coastal town in the south of England – a shadow of its Victorian glory – and criminals are lurking even where you’d least expect them. As Olivia and Lauren investigate a harrowing murder, the events of the case spiral – and so do the issues in their personal lives …
    Show book
  • Crowned Heads - A Novel - cover

    Crowned Heads - A Novel

    Thomas Tryon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Though the greats of Hollywood may fade, their secrets live on foreverFedora is dead, and movies will never be the same. A star since the early days of Hollywood, she survived the business for an unprecedented four decades before retiring to Crete. As the years wore on and her costars turned wrinkled and worn, Fedora’s perfect features never faded. Now that she has finally passed, the secret to her longevity will be told—a shocking revelation that will raise her to the level of myth.These four novellas tell the story of Fedora and three of her costars in 1955’s infamous The Miracle of Santa Cristi. Alongside the ageless beauty are William Marsh, whose days as a leading man are numbered; Bobbitt, a former child star still trading on his boyish good looks; and Lorna, a dim bulb who’s too sexy for her own good. When the film was shot, they were headed in different directions, but all ended up in the same place: forgotten, loathed, and unlamented. 
    Show book
  • The Return - cover

    The Return

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A gripping, inventive thriller about justice and retribution set in Paris thirty years after World War II   Anna Martin is ready to put the past—and her unsuccessful marriage—behind her and start over with Nicholas Yurovsky. A titled aristocrat from a distinguished family that dates back to czarist Russia, Nicholas never talks about his past. Then Anna gets a call from her ex-husband.   Left-wing journalist Paul Martin warns Anna about a plot spearheaded by Nicholas to avenge the murder of his father. But Nicholas isn’t the only one with a score to settle. He and other members of “the Return” have been quietly gathering their forces, preparing to strike out against the man who condemned hundreds of thousands of Russians to life—and death—in labor camps.   An elite member of the Supreme Soviet who could be Russia’s next president, Grigor Malenkov buried his past along with countless victims. At the invitation of the French president, he is coming to Paris, where the children of the dead wait for justice that has been a long time coming—with one innocent woman in the crossfire.
    Show book