Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
To the Dead Already - Part Two of the Revenge of Jimmy Mac - cover

To the Dead Already - Part Two of the Revenge of Jimmy Mac

Michael Millar

Publisher: Whitefox Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

‘I have one question for you, Mr Macfarlane, and please don’t take it the wrong way. Do you have any idea what you are doing? Any idea at all?’

James Macfarlane — whisky tycoon and dilettante freedom fighter — is beginning to suspect his antagonists have a good point. His plan to overthrow Caledon’s despotic leader, the Marischal, had been going swimmingly. That was before he was thrown in a dungeon, shot in the face, and damn near shipwrecked. 

But little does Mac know that things are about to get truly out of hand. Forces he can barely comprehend are eyeing him hungrily. Geopolitical intrigue runs in their veins and they think Mac’s jus the man for their most audacious and suicidal plot yet. Meanwhile, the diabolical ranks of the Caledon regime, enraged at Mac’s trail of destruction, are closing in on him and his ragtag group of co-conspirators. 

Rarely have the stakes been so high and the chances of success so low. 

A great read. Lose yourself as Michael takes you on a thrilling adventure.’ – Tim Lovejoy, TV presenter

‘A fascinating, dark and witty look at a world gone wrong. A glorious read.’ – Lou Sanders, comedian

‘Bloody (and) brilliant. Prepare to be pulled into a world where dark comedy and high tension collide, driven by characters alive with hope and desire, greed and violence.’ – Phil Davies, playwright and screenwriter

‘Taut writing and sharp-edged tension. Millar is like a darkly humorous Kafka.’ – Jack Hayes, author of When Eagles Burn

Other books that might interest you

  • Warned by a Ghost - cover

    Warned by a Ghost

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The lovely young orphan Sedela Craven is very excited to hear that the Marquis of Windlesham is returning home from active service in the Duke of Wellington’s Army in France at the end of the long war against Napoleon Bonaparte.
     
    He, however, lingers on in London with his beautiful lover Lady Esther Hasting, an exquisite yet unscrupulous woman who is unfaithful to him while striving to ensnare him into marriage for his riches and his celebrated title.
     
    Informed of this by her Nanny, Sedela dresses up as the Windles’s family ghost, Lady Constance, who appears as a warning whenever the family is in danger.
     
    Entering the Marquis’s bedroom at midnight through a secret passage she warns him that he is in grave peril from a woman who is unfaithful to him with a man he trusts as his friend.
     
    To his fury the Marquis soon discovers that the ‘ghost’ spoke the truth when he catches Esther in bed with his friend.
     
    It is only back at his estate preparing with Sedela for a lavish party for his family and friends that he begins to realise what his heart truly desires and it is Sedela.
     
    But it seems that it is too late, for she has been kidnapped and faces death at the forked tongue of a deadly cobra.
     
    The only hope is that the Marquis can rescue her in time to save her life and their love!
    Show book
  • The Black Dreams - Strange stories from Northern Ireland - cover

    The Black Dreams - Strange...

    Ian Sansom, Jo Baker, Moyra...

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    I don’t recall if I saw my first gunman in my childhood nightmares or on my childhood streets.
     
    There were plenty in both and they looked very much like each other.
     
    
     
     
    
     
    So begins Reggie Chamberlain-King’s introduction to The Black Dreams, a thrilling and compelling collection of specially commissioned stories that explore the emotional geography of growing up and living in Northern Ireland.
     
    
     
     
    The fourteen stories gathered here criss-cross coast, border and city as they map a ‘strange’ territory of in-between states and unstable realities in which understanding is unreliable. Obsessions, death and rebirth, violence, sexuality, retribution and apocalypse are all part of the rich fabric of The Black Dreams.
     
    
     
     
    Bringing together some of Northern Ireland’s finest writers, along with some of the best new talents, The Black Dreams celebrates and extends the rich tradition of the weird, surreal and dream-like in Northern Irish writing. It is also a powerful act of imagining and storytelling – a vibrant, vivid and exhilarating exploration of a world we cannot, or choose not, to see.
     
    
     
     
    Contributors: Jo Baker, Jan Carson, Reggie Chamberlain-King, Aislínn Clarke, Emma Devlin, Moyra Donaldson, Michelle Gallen, Carlo Gébler, John Patrick Higgins, Ian McDonald, Gerard McKeown, Bernie McGill, Ian Sansom, 
     
    Sam Thompson
    Show book
  • The Best American Short Stories 2011 - cover

    The Best American Short Stories...

    Heidi Pitlor, Geraldine Brooks

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Twenty of the best American short stories of 2011, chosen by the New York Times bestselling author of The Secret Chord. The twenty tightly crafted stories collected here by Pulitzer Prize–winning author Geraldine Brooks are full of deftly drawn characters, universal truths, and often surprising humor. Richard Powers’s “To the Measures Fall” is a comic meditation on the uses of literature in the course of a life. In the satirical “The Sleep,” Caitlin Horrocks puts her fictional prairie town to bed—the inhabitants hibernate through the long winter as a form of escape—while in Steve Millhauser’s imagined town, the citizens are visited by ghostlike apparitions in “Phantoms.” Allegra Goodman’s spare but beautiful “La Vita Nuova” finds a jilted fiancée letting her art class paint all over her wedding dress as a poignant act of release. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie wryly captures the social change in the air in Lagos, Nigeria, in “Ceiling,” her story of a wealthy young man who is not entirely at ease with what his life has become. As Brooks perused these richly imagined and varied landscapes, she found that it was like walking into the best kind of party, where you can hole up in a corner with old friends for a while, then launch out among interesting strangers.The Best American Short Stories 2011 also includes contributions from: Megan Mayhew Bergman · Tom Bissell • Jennifer Egan • Nathan Englander • Ehud Havazelet • Bret Anthony Johnston • Claire Keegan • Sam Lipsyte • Rebecca Makkai • Elizabeth McCracken • Ricardo Nuila • Joyce Carol Oates • Jess Row • George Saunders • Mark Slouka
    Show book
  • The Lioness and the Lily - cover

    The Lioness and the Lily

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Man about town and something of a ‘ladies’ man’ the new Earl of Rockbrook has given little thought to a liaison at Windsor Castle in which one of the Queen’s Ladies-in-Waiting, Lady Louise Welwyn, appears suddenly in his bedroom in the middle of the night. So he is appalled when he learns that Lady Louise’s formidable mother expects him to marry her. Her motivation is clear, although penniless at the time, he has since unexpectedly inherited the title of his family’s Earldom and the huge estate of Rock Castle after his uncle’s and cousin’s death in a train crash.He realises that he could never be happy with Lady Louise and so he flees her and London for the safety of the countryside where he breaks his collarbone in a riding accident and is knocked unconscious.When he awakens, he finds that he is being nursed by a lovely country girl called ‘Purilla’. She is beautiful, demure and intelligent – in fact everything he ever wanted in a wife, so he persuades her to save him by marrying him at once. Purilla has already fallen deeply in love with the handsome Earl – but how can she turn a marriage of his convenience into one of true love?
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book
  • Hounds Harvest and Homicide - A Pooch Party Cozy Mystery - cover

    Hounds Harvest and Homicide - A...

    Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    USA Today–Bestselling Author: A fundraiser turns fatal, and an animal-shelter volunteer has to sniff out a killer . . .   When Missy Kingston brought her pooch-party program to an annual gala fundraiser for the city’s women’s shelter, she didn’t expect a murder. But the most prominent financial contributor to the shelter has been found dead, bringing the big night to a halt.   The suspect list is long, but Missy knows one person who shouldn't be on it: her friend Max Hoover. Missy vows to prove his innocence, and that determination leads her down a path of power, politics, and money. And it’s a path the killer doesn't want her taking . . .
    Show book