As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
In Manchuria - A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China - cover

In Manchuria - A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China

Michael Meyer

Publisher: Bloomsbury Press

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

In the tradition of In Patagonia and Great Plains, Michael Meyer's In Manchuria is a scintillating combination of memoir, contemporary reporting, and historical research, presenting a unique profile of China's legendary northeast territory. For three years, Meyer rented a home in the rice-farming community of Wasteland, hometown to his wife's family. Their personal saga mirrors the tremendous change most of rural China is undergoing, in the form of a privately held rice company that has built new roads, introduced organic farming, and constructed high-rise apartments into which farmers can move in exchange for their land rights. Once a commune, Wasteland is now a company town, a phenomenon happening across China that Meyer documents for the first time; indeed, not since Pearl Buck wrote The Good Earth has anyone brought rural China to life as Meyer has here. 
    
  Amplifying the story of family and Wasteland, Meyer takes us on a journey across Manchuria's past, a history that explains much about contemporary China--from the fall of the last emperor to Japanese occupation and Communist victory. Through vivid local characters, Meyer illuminates the remnants of the imperial Willow Palisade, Russian and Japanese colonial cities and railways, and the POW camp into which a young American sergeant parachuted to free survivors of the Bataan Death March. In Manchuria is a rich and original chronicle of contemporary China and its people.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Blessed Girl - cover

    The Blessed Girl

    Angela Makholwa

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    'I really, really loved it' - Marian Keyes 
    'Absolute heaven - I am cackling out loud!' - Nina Stibbe 
    'The most exciting new heroine I've read in a very long time' - Katie Fforde 
     
    Shortlisted for the Comedy Women in Print Prize 
     
    Blessed adj. [pronounced bles-id]  
    The state of being blessed, often referring to a person, usually female, who lives a luxurious lifestyle funded by an older, often married partner, in return for sexual favours.  
     
     
    Young, beautiful and ambitious, Bontle Tau has Johannesburg wrapped around her finger. Her generous admirers are falling over themselves to pay for her Mercedes, her penthouse, and her Instagrammable holidays. It's a long way from the neighbourhood she started out in, and it's been far from easy.    
     
     
    Along with making sure she always looks fabulous - because people didn't sacrifice their lives in the freedom struggle for black women to wear the same cheap T-shirts they wore during apartheid - Bontle's also hustling to get her business off the ground. And if that wasn't enough, her ex is still refusing to sign their divorce papers. It's not that she stopped loving him, but he was just so stubborn about wasting his medical degree on treating the poor.  
     
     
    Yes, Bontle gets the blues from time to time, who doesn't, the shrink keeps wanting to talk about a past she's put firmly behind her. And what she doesn't think about can't hurt her, can it?
    Show book
  • Private Gardens of Santa Barbara - The Art of Outdoor Living - cover

    Private Gardens of Santa Barbara...

    Margie Grace

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Private Gardens of Santa Barbara is an invitation into eighteen distinctive private gardens in the American Riviera, from sublime and naturalistic to bold and urban. These gardens are water-smart, maintenance smart, and fire-smart, and they have adapted to the lifestyle, personality, and practical needs of the people who live there.
    Show book
  • Vintage Postcards from the African World - In the Dignity of Their Work and the Joy of Their Play - cover

    Vintage Postcards from the...

    Jessica B. Harris

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For over forty years, professor and culinary historian Jessica B. Harris has collected postcards depicting Africans and their descendants in the American diaspora. They are presented for the first time in this exquisite volume. Vintage Postcards from the African World: In the Dignity of Their Work and the Joy of Their Play brings together more than 150 images, providing a visual document of more than a century of work in agricultural and culinary pursuits and joy in entertainments, parades, and celebrations. Organized by geography—Africa, the Caribbean, and the United States—as well as by the types of scenes depicted—the farm, the garden, and the sea; the marketplace; the vendors and the cooks; leisure, entertainments, and festivities—the images capture the dignity of the labors of everyday life and the pride of festive occasions. Superb and rare images demonstrate everything from how Africans and their descendants dressed to what tools they used to how their entertainments provided relief from toil.  Three essays accompany the postcards, one of which details Harris’s collection and the collecting process. A second presents suggestions on how to interpret the cards. A final essay gives brief information on the history of postcards and postcard dating and its increasing use and value to scholars.
    Show book
  • Vagabonding on a Budget - The New Art of World Travel and True Freedom: Live on Your Own Terms Without Being Rich - cover

    Vagabonding on a Budget - The...

    Robert Vance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Want to travel the world for a while on a limited budget? Or just take an epic vacation? You don’t need to be rich, but you’ll need to get creative about saving money for travel.
     
    This short book will give you all the tools and travel tricks you need as well as a few short stories to help motivate you to live the life of a vagabond. ‘Robert Vance’ shares his innovative techniques that will allow you to: Find cheap flights & free accommodation, earn income, Planting Roots and much more - Without sacrificing luxury.
     
     
     
    In this book, you'll discover: 
     
    Travel cheap but smart, using travel hacking
     
    Create a Budget and Stick To It
     
    Working While on the Road
     
    Alternative Travel Tips: Buses, Trains, Etc.
     
    Tips: Should You or Shouldn't You
     
    And much more tips and suggestions
     
     
     
    With the help of this book, you’ll learn everything you need to know about Vagabonding. The information packed into this book covers everything you need to know that will allow you to get traveling now - Because life is too short to delay your dreams.
     
    Quickly and easily raise the startup cash you need to go traveling now following the tips and suggestions of this book. Scroll to the top of the page and click the "BUY NOW" button!
    Show book
  • Texas Hold 'Em - The Little Black Book of Poker - cover

    Texas Hold 'Em - The Little...

    Books Chronicle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Poker is 10% luck, 90% psychology. This illustrated guide to Texas Hold 'Em, the world's most popular poker game, gives players the strategy and skills they need to make some cold, hard cash. An essential companion for any poker night, online tournament, or casino trip, this quick-reference manual allows players to keep vital tips and tactics close at hand. Accessible to beginners and enlightening to poker devotees, Texas Hold 'Em belongs in the hands of anyone with a stack of cards and a competitive spirit.
    Show book
  • U is for Unicorn - The ABCs of Silicon Valley - cover

    U is for Unicorn - The ABCs of...

    Loren Girimonte, Jasmine Wibbens

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    U is for Unicorn: The ABCs of Silicon Valley is a game-changing alphabet book about the lingo of the tech industry. From Angel Investor to Napping Pod to Zero-Emissions Vehicle, this witty book explores the world of the San Francisco Bay Area one letter at a time. Featuring buzzwords like Cryptocurrency, Hoodies, Rest and Vest, Moonshots, and more, these are the ABCs and ideas that innovators—from infants to Xennials—need to onboard now.• Pairs funny, knowing illustration with rhyming verse for each crucial concept• Follows a team of five talented employees (and one scrappy and resourceful raccoon)• Explores Silicon Valley culture letter-by-letterDisruptors of all ages can Pivot to next-gen success as they scale their learning and crush it to become the thought leaders of tomorrow. U is for Unicorn proves that Silicon Valley is rooted not just in a place, but in a state of mind anywhere Java (code and coffee) is flowing.
    Show book