"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
In Manchuria - A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China - cover

In Manchuria - A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China

Michael Meyer

Publisher: Bloomsbury Press

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

In the tradition of In Patagonia and Great Plains, Michael Meyer's In Manchuria is a scintillating combination of memoir, contemporary reporting, and historical research, presenting a unique profile of China's legendary northeast territory. For three years, Meyer rented a home in the rice-farming community of Wasteland, hometown to his wife's family. Their personal saga mirrors the tremendous change most of rural China is undergoing, in the form of a privately held rice company that has built new roads, introduced organic farming, and constructed high-rise apartments into which farmers can move in exchange for their land rights. Once a commune, Wasteland is now a company town, a phenomenon happening across China that Meyer documents for the first time; indeed, not since Pearl Buck wrote The Good Earth has anyone brought rural China to life as Meyer has here. 
    
  Amplifying the story of family and Wasteland, Meyer takes us on a journey across Manchuria's past, a history that explains much about contemporary China--from the fall of the last emperor to Japanese occupation and Communist victory. Through vivid local characters, Meyer illuminates the remnants of the imperial Willow Palisade, Russian and Japanese colonial cities and railways, and the POW camp into which a young American sergeant parachuted to free survivors of the Bataan Death March. In Manchuria is a rich and original chronicle of contemporary China and its people.

Other books that might interest you

  • Into the Carpathians: A Journey Through the Heart and History of Central and Eastern Europe (Part 1 - The Eastern Mountains) - cover

    Into the Carpathians: A Journey...

    Alan E. Sparks

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A compelling chronicle of a hiking and wildlife research expedition along the Carpathian and Sudeten Mountains, from Romania to Germany, some 800 miles as the crow flies. (This volume, Part 1, covers the first half of the journey, through Romania and Ukraine.) On the trail of wolves, we are led deep into the dark forests, misty hills, and intriguing history of this fabled landscape, where encounters with wolves, bears, and lynx; werewolves, vampires, and witches; lumberjacks, shepherds, and recluses; poets, tyrants, and saints; deities, demons, and sirens; and such imposing historical figures as Attila the Hun, Vlad the Impaler, and Volodymyr the Great provide broad insight into the natural, historical, and mythological forces that have shaped, and continue to shape, the cultures, nations, and psyches along the way. 63 beautiful color photographs also emblaze this memorable trek.
    Show book
  • Insight Guides Explore Naples and the Amalfi Coast (Travel Guide eBook) - cover

    Insight Guides Explore Naples...

    Insight Guides

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    A coastal paradise scattered with colourful sloping towns, cliffside lemon groves and of course, the historic city of Naples. Insight Guide Explore Naples and the Amalfi Coast is a full updated title, which is the ideal pocket companion for your trip: a full-colour guide containing the best routes around the area. Inside Explore Naples and the Amalfi Coast: 
    �       Discover the scenic Amalfi Coast, stroll through the history-steeped streets of Naples. 
    �       Experience the fantastic cultural and artistic heritage of Naples, along with its many great restaurants. 
    �       Insight's trademark cultural coverage sets the routes in context, with introductions to Italy's cuisine, entertainment options, wealth of activities on offer and key historical dates. 
    �       Our recommended places to eat and drink are highlighted in each route, with even more suggestions in the directory section, which also contains a wealth of useful practical information, including a range of carefully selected accommodation to suit all budgets. 
    �       Pull-out map with useful plotted routes.  
    �       Evocative photography captures the stunning scenery of the area. 
    About Insight Guides: Insight Guides has over 40 years' experience of publishing high-quality, visual travel guides. We produce around 400 full-colour print guidebooks and maps as well as picture-packed eBooks to meet different travellers' needs. Insight Guides' unique combination of beautiful travel photography and focus on history and culture together create a unique visual reference and planning tool to inspire your next adventure.
    Show book
  • Insight Guides: Myanmar (Burma) - cover

    Insight Guides: Myanmar (Burma)

    Insight Guides

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Inside Guides Myanmar: With its glittering pagodas, timeless countryside and gracious people, Myanmar (Burma) is an extraordinarily beautiful destination which has been isolated from the rest of the world for decades. Finally, things are changing and tourism is set to explode in the coming years. This new edition of the Insight Guide Myanmar has been comprehensively overhauled to help inspire and inform, and guide you to the best that this little-known country has to offer. Following on from the inspirational Best Of Myanmar section, the country's rich past and cultural heritage are described in a series of lively essays. Contemporary aspects of Burmese life - the changing political situation, the economy, food, architecture, wildlife - are also covered in depth. The Places chapters have been completely rewritten for this new edition, describing all the sights worth seeing - from the incomparable temples of Bagan, serene Inle Lake, the lost world of Mrauk U and the beaches along the Bay of Bengal to the fascinating cities of Yangon and Mandalay.      At the back of the book, the Travel Tips section contains all the practical information you'll need to make the most of your trip, including dozens of carefully selected hotels.
    Show book
  • Berlitz Pocket Guide Nice Cannes & Monte Carlo (Travel Guide eBook) - cover

    Berlitz Pocket Guide Nice Cannes...

    Insight Guides

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    With an iconic style and a bestselling brand, this is the quintessential pocket-sized travel guide to Nice, Cannes & Monte Carlo - now with a bilingual dictionaryPlan your trip, plan perfect days and discover how to get around - this pocket-sized guide is a convenient, quick-reference companion to discovering fun and interesting things to do and see in Nice, Cannes & Monte Carlo, from top tourist attractions like Vieux Nice, Musée des Beaux-Arts de Nice, Casino de Monte Carlo, La Croisette and the Vieux Port, to hidden gems, including Palais Lascaris, Marché Forville and Iles de Lérins. - What to see: comprehensive coverage of the cities' attractions, illustrated with striking photography- What to do: how to make the most of your leisure time, from local entertainment to the best activities and shopping- History and culture: giving you a deeper understanding of the cities' heritage, people and contemporary life- Practical tips: where to stay, dining out and how to get around: reliable recommendations and expert travel advice- Dictionary: quick-reference bilingual language guide to help you with vocabulary on the ground- Covers: Top 10 attractions, A perfect day/tour itinerary, A brief history, Where to go, What to do, Eating out, A-Z travel tips and Recommended hotelsAbout Berlitz: Berlitz draws on years of travel and language expertise to bring you a wide range of travel and language products, including travel guides, maps, phrase books, language-learning courses, dictionaries and kids' language products.
    Show book
  • The 50 Greatest Prehistoric Sites of the World - cover

    The 50 Greatest Prehistoric...

    Barry Stone

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Humanity’s written history stretches back only 5,000 years, a mere blip on the timeline of our existence. If you want to know what it really means to be fully human, to see the whole story, you need to go back. Way, way back. 
     
    Prehistoric humans couldn’t write, but they were adept at telling their own stories. On every continent and outpost where they gained a foothold, they left signs for modern man to decipher. 
    
    
    From the Middle Bronze Age settlement of Arkaim on the Kazakh Steppes to the temples of the Olmec in Mexico; from one of the first European proto-cities at Nebelivka in Ukraine to the neolithic henges of Avebury and Stonehenge; from the dolmens of Antequera in the heart of Andalucía to the megalithic culture that thrived in isolation on Indonesia’s tiny Nias Island.
    Show book
  • Walking the County High Points of England - cover

    Walking the County High Points...

    David Bathurst

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From Dark Peak on the Pennine Way in Derbyshire to the misty Malverns in Worcestershire and Milk Hill on the Mid-Wilts Way, walking the county high points provides the perfect opportunity for ramblers to experience the English countryside.
     
    An indefatigable walker, David Bathurst has unlaced his boots to produce this unique companion to the country’s most rewarding hilltop trails. His appreciation of the beauty and history of the British countryside and his light-hearted style will appeal to experienced and novice walkers alike.
    Show book